Customer Reviews for

Staying at Daisy's

Average Rating 4
( 241 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A Book Of Wit And Charm

Daisy, after a failed marriage, finds herself back at home. Home, in this case, is her father's hotel, and Daisy is managing it. Managing a hotel is easy; managing relationships are not. She thought her marriage to Steven was a dream come true, but his infidelity put...
Daisy, after a failed marriage, finds herself back at home. Home, in this case, is her father's hotel, and Daisy is managing it. Managing a hotel is easy; managing relationships are not. She thought her marriage to Steven was a dream come true, but his infidelity put an end to their love. Before they divorced, Steven was killed in a car accident. Now Daisy isn't sure she can trust any man, although there are several around. Dev is a famous national sports star, and he seems interested, or is he? Josh is a former boyfriend who has popped back up and into her life.

As tough as love is for Daisy, she is not alone. There is Barney, who comes to the hotel to thank Daisy for donating her husband's kidney to him and finds exactly what he has been looking for his whole life. The problem is that what he has found is the woman who was involved with Steven. Then there is Tara, Daisy's best friend, who can't seem to catch a break with men, and always gets taken for granted. Even Daisy's father has a mystery love affair that may or may not work out.

Reading a Jill Mansell book is like settling on the back porch with a glass of ice tea, while the flowers bloom and the wind whispers. Her characters are recognizable, and written with charm and wit. Humor and a refusal to let life defeat them is a mainstay, and this is a wonderful change from the tragic books that abound in the marketplace. Readers will laugh out loud, and cheer for the characters who manage to resolve their life issues. This book is recommended for readers ready for a light-hearted book that carries a powerful message.

posted by sandiek on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I've read better Jill Mansell books!!!

The book was okay. It dragged alot....or maybe I was ready for it to be over. It was a cute read though.

posted by Kimmie_H on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Book Of Wit And Charm

    Daisy, after a failed marriage, finds herself back at home. Home, in this case, is her father's hotel, and Daisy is managing it. Managing a hotel is easy; managing relationships are not. She thought her marriage to Steven was a dream come true, but his infidelity put an end to their love. Before they divorced, Steven was killed in a car accident. Now Daisy isn't sure she can trust any man, although there are several around. Dev is a famous national sports star, and he seems interested, or is he? Josh is a former boyfriend who has popped back up and into her life.

    As tough as love is for Daisy, she is not alone. There is Barney, who comes to the hotel to thank Daisy for donating her husband's kidney to him and finds exactly what he has been looking for his whole life. The problem is that what he has found is the woman who was involved with Steven. Then there is Tara, Daisy's best friend, who can't seem to catch a break with men, and always gets taken for granted. Even Daisy's father has a mystery love affair that may or may not work out.

    Reading a Jill Mansell book is like settling on the back porch with a glass of ice tea, while the flowers bloom and the wind whispers. Her characters are recognizable, and written with charm and wit. Humor and a refusal to let life defeat them is a mainstay, and this is a wonderful change from the tragic books that abound in the marketplace. Readers will laugh out loud, and cheer for the characters who manage to resolve their life issues. This book is recommended for readers ready for a light-hearted book that carries a powerful message.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    A Joy to read

    This book was a joy. I love Ms Mansell's work anyway. The stories are always so loving and joyous. This one was especially fun to read. The supporting characters were a scream. Watching Daisy's father was a scream. Daisy is a strong woman who didn't have much faith in men and love, she rose above it and watching her character develop was fun. Great book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Loved!!!

    Great quirky love story with lots of laughs. Great fun read. Looking forward to reading other books by her!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Classic Jill!

    Another great book from Ms. Mansell. My only complaint is that it was over too soon!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    I've read better Jill Mansell books!!!

    The book was okay. It dragged alot....or maybe I was ready for it to be over. It was a cute read though.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Quirky and fun!

    This is my first book by Jill Mansell, and I have to say that her cast of fun and quirky characters remind me a lot of my favorite books by Maeve Binchy and Marian Keyes, and not just because they're all from the same side of the Atlantic. Daisy and Dev, Tara and Josh, Hector and Maggie, and Barney and Mel all felt like close and personal friends by the time I finished this novel. Their ups and downs had me completely enthralled. As they did embarrassing things, I cringed. (And then I usually laughed-loudly, to be honest. It's always funnier when it's not happening to you, of course.) I groaned in frustration at Daisy's complete and utter delusion.and my hands were itching to shake her by the shoulders the whole time. I will definitely be looking forward to reading more by this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    A GOOD ROMANTIC COMEDY/CHICKLIT STORY! STAYING AT DAISY'S BY JILL MANSELL!!!

    STAYING AT DAISY'S by Jill Mansell is an interesting chicklit/contemporary romance set in present day.This is an reprint from 2002. This is a sweet romantic comedy which has hilarious characters and is fast paced.Although,some parts are a little slow.The charactrs are charming, interesting and will easily capture your heart. This story has several characters staying at a hotel.The story is written from each character's perspective.While the story has a lot going on,it also has a heartwarming plot,wonderful characters and witty banter.A great read for all chit lit readers,romantic comedy readers and cotemporary romance readers.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Sourcebooks Landmark,an imprint of Sourcebooks and My Book Addiction and More

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jill Mansell is such a treat!

    In her latest novel, Staying at Daisy's, Jill Mansell delivers another hilarious and fast-paced romantic comedy. Her combination of endearing and sympathetic lead characters placed in humorous situations wins out again.
    This time round, Mansell takes on marital infidelity from the point of view of Daisy MacLean, an unsuspecting wife who invariably receives an unwelcome shock. And from the point of view of Tara who is faced with an ex-boyfriend who professes undying love hours before his wedding. Mansell throws into the mix an old boyfriend from university, a gorgeous sports hero, a popular children's author, and other fun and memorable characters.
    Fans of British chicklit are sure to find Staying at Daisy's a delightful and engrossing read!

    ISBN-10: 1402243847 - Paperback
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark; Reprint edition (March 1, 2011), 512 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Easy breezy.

    Cute and light. I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Hohum

    Not mt fav
    Did enjoy the British slang

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    All Jill Mansell books are wonderful.

    British, funny, great characters, well written..... you will enjoy every Jill Mansell book. Along the lines of Janet Evanovich but more subtle. Great characters, charming story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Kate

    Hi maysn ur review touched me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    Great read!

    This was the first time I read this author and loved this book, could not put it down. Writing was very refreshing and fun. I have already purchased another one of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Love this author!

    Fun and charming voice, quirky characters. I would have liked more interaction between Daisy and the hero. Especially after their inauspicious meeting, I'm not sure how the attraction developed from there, but it's a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    i enjoyed all the characters, and cheered along with them as the

    i enjoyed all the characters, and cheered along with them as they traveled on their individual journeys. i loved mansell's voice and her undeniable humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Good

    First book read by this author, I found it slow at the start, but gradually got better as it went along. It was a bit hard to adjust to the British terms/ slang. The book IS set in Great Britian. I found myself laughing and cringing all in the same chapters. The characters seem genuine and realistic. I was really curious to see how she would wind this story line all up into a tidy ending....the entire second half of the book I had a hard time putting it down! Over all, very enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    I gave this book 4 stars because overall I did like it. In the b

    I gave this book 4 stars because overall I did like it. In the beginning, I had a hard time remember which character was who and I didn't like how it went back and forth and would then bring in other characters. I was a little disappointed because I was hoping for more from Dev and Daisy. I loved the connection between Daisy, Barney, and Mel. I liked Tara and I'm thrilled with the way the book ended in her love life. I enjoyed Maggie and Hector's relationship, but again I wish there would have been more with them and less of Paula. . I enjoyed reading what each character was thinking. It was a charming book with lots of funny parts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Cute story.

    Not as good as other Jill Mansell books, but still worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    So-so

    It was ok but not my favorite of Jill Mansell's books. I loved the others that I read but this storyline was not as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love this Author!!!

    Another GREAT read - Jill Mansell never disappoints me. I have enjoyed every single book of hers. Each evening I look forward to curling up on the couch with her books - they are so tough to put down! What a great way to escape at the end of a day.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13