Customer Reviews for

Stealing Jake

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    A book that will steal your heart.

    This book has it all. Romance, danger, action, humor, heart. All wrapped up in a historical romance set in with such an interesting backdrop. Sweat shops, coal mines, orphans and gunfights. Such a fast read, there was so much going on that you'd have though the main characters wouldn't have time to fall in love. Ah but they did. I'm smiling as I type because I loved it and love thinking about sweet, vulnerable, valient Livy and heroic, protective Jake. Pam Hillman has written a gem of a book with Stealing Jake.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    My Review of Stealing Jake

    Livy O'Brien used to be known as LightFingered Livy, but that was back in the days when pickpocketing was a way of life for her-a survival mechanism. Now she is a Christian and living in a small, but burgeoning town outside of Chicago. She lives with Mrs. Brooks at the local orphanage. Her experiences from the harsh childhood of living on the streets and stealing to survive have become a catalyst to her heart for saving children stuck in similar circumstances. All she wants to do is save the children and show them God's love. Livy is not looking for love or marriage. Although, life has a way of sneaking up on us and she finds that out first hand. She never expected she'd literally run into the man of her dreams. Jake Russell is the Sheriff's Deputy and he has his own problems to deal with-an outstanding loan on his family's farm, investigating the culprits behind a surge of robberies in town and dealing with grief over the loss of close family and friends, in a mining accident. He wasn't looking for love either. God has different plans for their lives and He shows up in the little town of Chestnut, Illinois.in a big way. I'm more of a contemporary romance kind of girl, so when I agreed to review this book, I wasn't sure how I would like it. Stealing Jake stole my own reader's heart from the get-go. Ms. Hillman's writing style easily swept me into the story and I wanted to devour each chapter and actually went to bed late several nights all because I wanted to read just one more chapter. One of the most appealing factors was the character development. I really got to know Livy and Jake and all of the other fascinating people of Chestnut. Ms. Hillman's attention to detail was just the right amount to give me enough information about the historical setting and to see the scene without boring me to tears with endless, useless minutiae. After I finished reading Stealing Jake and I visited Ms. Hillman's website, I was surprised to learn that this was her debut novel. It read nothing like a debut. I thought I was reading the work of a seasoned multi-published author. I will definitely be keeping an eye out for more of Ms. Hillman's future novels. Stealing Jake is one book that I highly recommend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a must read!

    Stealing Jake by Pam Hillman

    I received Stealing Jake by Pam Hillman from Vicky Lynch at Tyndale publishing in exchange for a book review. I thoroughly enjoyed this book! The characters are very believable and the situations they encounter make for an enjoyable and interesting story. There are many different plot lines running throughout the book. Livy used to be on the streets, until she learned to trust Mrs. Brooks. Jake is the deputy; he feels everything has to be in order before he can love and live his own life. Mrs. Brooks runs the orphanage. There are also kids being kidnapped and kids loose on the streets.

    Livy catches two kids stealing a watch from the deputy. She recognizes what they are doing because that is what she used to do as well. Her heart goes out to them and she tries her best to help them. Then, she runs into Jake Russell-literally. She can't trust him and runs from the law and love. Livy has to learn to accept her salvation and increase her faith in what God has done and will do for her. Jake has to learn to love, but then he has to convince Livy to trust him-even though he is the law. If you are looking for a great romance, a good mystery, and following Livy and Jake's walk in faith, this book is for you! You will be hooked from page one, and won't want to put the book down. Pam Hillman has a knack for telling an awesome story. She will draw you in, and won't let you go until it's all wrapped up!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent story!

    An incredible read!This book has so much within it. Excitement, love, redemption, trust, suspense for starters. Jake Russell is working as a deputy in the town of Chestnut, Illinois. His father and 28 others were killed in a mine explosion some years earlier and he was trapped in the mine. He was not about to go back. Livy O'Brien grew up on the streets of Chicago, literally. She only had her sister Katie but she died. When the town of Chestnut started having robberies they were blaming street kids. Livy knew they would not draw attention to themselves and tried to convince Jake of it. It is heart wrenching to think of kids being on the streets and having to survive. This was fiction but that is a also a fact. This book definitely pulls on the heart strings. They were taking these street kids from Chicago to work in a factory in Chestnut. You see some of the kids being separated from their siblings. A side story is Luke who was able to escape but he is still searching for his brother Mark. There are many unique characters as well. Gus and his donkey Little bit, Emma who owns a cafe, Mary and Gracie. This is just an excellent story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Could not put it down

    Loved the characters in this story and the faith they had in their higher power,looking forward for more awesome stories to come!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book

    What a great story. I'll be looking forward to more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Wonderful story of love, grace, forgiveness

    Stealing Jake by Pam Hillman is a wonderful historical fiction novel that shows the forgiving love and amazing grace our our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.


    "When Livy O'Brien spies a young boy jostling a man walking along the boardwalk, she recognizes the act for what it is. After all, she used to be known as Light-fingered Livy. But that was before she put her past behind her and moved to the growing town of Chestnut, Illinois, where she's helping to run an orphanage. Now she'll do almost anything to protect the street kids like herself.

    Sheriff's deputy Jake Russell had no idea what he was in for when he ran into Livy-literally-while chasing down a pickpocket. With a rash of robberies and a growing number of street kids in town-as well as a loan on the family farm that needs to be paid off-Jake doesn't have time to pursue a girl. Still, he can't seem to get Livy out of his mind. He wants to get to know her better . . . but Livy isn't willing to trust any man, especially not a lawman."


    This story has it all... romance, suspense, danger, humor, and more! The characters are well-developed and have you cheering them on! I especially enjoyed Gus, a quiet man who helped out his neighbors in the dark of night, not wishing to be known for his acts of kindness. Throughout the story, God's grace and mercy and forgiveness shine through. How many of us can say we have never sinned or have nothing hiding in our past that we don't wish people to know? Yet, Livy, who lived on the streets of Chicago as a child, comes forward to share her past to help the street children of Chestnut. Her desire to help others trumped her need to keep her past in the past. How many of us would put our lives "out there" to help others?


    My rating: 5 stars


    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers for my review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Beautiful. Heartwarming. Soul-stirring. I could go on, but wh

    Beautiful. Heartwarming. Soul-stirring.



    I could go on, but why? STEALING JAKE is wonderful. I laughed. I cried. I squirmed with conviction for not doing enough for others, not caring enough about the less fortunate. I ached with sorrow for little ones without a place to lay their heads. If touching the reader’s emotions is what makes a book memorable, then STEALING JAKE is destined to be absolutely unforgettable.

    I won’t rehash the plotline—the back cover text does that quite well. But I will say that this storyline includes a little bit of everything, from down home, Old West derring-do to streetwise city kids. From orphans who capture the heart without half trying to rebellious teens who don’t appreciate the comfort of a loving home. Suspense. Humor. Romance. All there. All perfectly delivered.

    A debut novel this good is bound to present the author a challenge. Can she do it again? I think so. STEALING JAKE is a showcase of solid writing skills, vivid imagination, and excellent plotting devices. Pam Hillman will have no problem creating another stellar tale…and this reader will definitely be in line to see what it’s about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Sports Arena

    -Jake

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Good read.

    Very good and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    A must read

    !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Child Labor, Sweat Shops, Romance, Danger, Double Duty

    Stealing Jake by Pam Hillman, copyright 2011, published by Tyndale is twenty-nine chapters of light, sweet romance between Livy Lightfingers and Jake Russell. Livy pickpocketed to survive on the Chicago streets, so she knows all about child labor and sweatshops, the theme of this novel. It makes a great beach or weekend read because it's fast paced, quick and easy to read, and I enjoyed it. Livy moves to Chestnut and becomes a Christian under the influence of Mrs. Brooks, but she feels even though God has forgiven her and given her a clean slate with her former sins washed in the blood of the lamb, she'll never be able to live a normal life and be free of her past. She doesn't count on falling in love, marriage, or children, but Deputy Jake Russell makes her think again. This historical romance would make an excellent novel for school use if the curriculum involves child labor laws. I highly recommend it. Homeschool moms should check it out as a novel that can help maintain reading skills as well as teach a part of history. Ladies, if you love sweet romance, the romance that sparks between Livy and the handsome deputy will make your read. Livy has a rival in a schoolteacher who has her hat set for Jake, but he's interested in Livy. Will he change his mind when he discovers her past? She not only picked pockets, but was also a master at locks. Don't miss this little gem. This is a novel that can serve double duty for mom as well as young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    A wonderful debut novel

    This was an excellent read! I have spent years working with street kids on the dirt alleys of developing world nations, some scrabbling for survival on their own since age two. The author of Stealing Jake captures so clearly the world they know of desperation, hunger, struggle for survive, the abuse they take from the adult world that should be there to protect them, the exploitation. This story is a reminder that the world in which hundreds of millions of children worldwide live today was commonplace not so long ago in our own nation. Stealing Jake could have been depressing, focusing on the undeniably injustices and tragedy. Instead it was exciting, moving, with enough elements of suspense and romance to satisfy the most particular reader and a message of both divine and human love that will always be victorious over cruelty, greed, and hate. A wonderful debut for a talented new author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    A GREAT EASY READ

    I am not one who picks up a book to read for fun. I decided to try this book because it was a free download for the nook. Boy am I not disappointed at all. For someone who rarely reads, I finished this book in less than 2 days, and I can't wait for this author to write more stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2