Customer Reviews for

Stealing Parker

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Please

Please make anither book about jordan, i want to see what happens with her and henry in collage

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Not what I thought it would be

I was seriously dissapointed when I read Stealing Parker. I loved Catching Jordan it is one of my favorite books and this book just didnt meet my expectations.

posted by 3939378 on December 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Please

    Please make anither book about jordan, i want to see what happens with her and henry in collage

    28 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Parker Shelton is 18 years old and in her senior year at high sc

    Parker Shelton is 18 years old and in her senior year at high school. Everything in her life has fallen apart ever since her parents divorce and scandal surrounding it. Instead of feeling accepted and supported by her Church, she feels condemned. Although she is one of the best players on the softball team, she quits after her best friends turn their back on her, calling her "Butch," saying she is like her mom, when she's not. In an effort to prove them wrong, Parker drops a lot of weight and starts making out with guys, not just one, but quite a few, in an attempt to show people that she is straight. Unfortunately, even though she is only kissing them, she has earned herself somewhat of a reputation. Her Dad wants to just pray about things, her brother has resorted to drinking and drugs, and she blames everything that is happening to her on her mom. Her best friend Drew, is the only one who has stuck by her through it all. In fact, Drew convinces her to take the position of manager for the baseball team. The guys give her a hard time, but they all like her and are protective of her. Parker finds herself really attracted to the new Assistant Coach, Brian, and Brian is attracted to Parker also. Brian isn't that much older than her, but he is a member of the faculty, so that makes their relationship taboo. Parker soon begins to question Brian's real intentions. At the same time, Parker finds herself spending a lot of time with Will/Corndog, and she finds herself caring for him, a lot. Everything comes to a head when Will asks her out, Drew reveals a secret about himself and who he really likes, and her relationship with Brian is exposed. Parker has to take a long hard look at her life, her relationship with her mom, her relationship with her friends, her future, and she must decide how to deal with the mess than has become her life, especially the guy she finds she really loves.

    Stealing Parker was a really good book. I loved Parker's strong character. She's not perfect, but she also realizes that. Even though she ends up in some bad situations, she realizes that she was a willing party in much of what happened and accepts that fact. She is extremely loyal to her friends and doesn't want to see them hurt, even to the point of denying herself what she desires in order to spare their feelings, which sometimes backfires on her. I liked Drew's character and enjoyed the friendship he and Parker shared. I especially loved Will. He is an all around great guy, who is hot to boot. When everything falls apart, Parker has to try to work things out with her mom, the one person who has always had her back through thick and thin. Stealing Parker deals with a wide array of issues that teens face today, addressing them all in a realistic and insightful way, which is believable. I loved the plot in this coming of age story, which not only emphasized the teenage social issues, but all focused on the roll that love, acceptance, honesty, and forgiveness plays in the life of not only the characters in this book, but also for everyone who reads it. This is a great YA contemporary romance and I would definitely recommend it.

    25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Not what I thought it would be

    I was seriously dissapointed when I read Stealing Parker. I loved Catching Jordan it is one of my favorite books and this book just didnt meet my expectations.

    24 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Great easy read

    I read this book in less than 3 hours. It was really good and an easy read. It is cute and romantic and i really liked it. I would say it is suitable for ages 13+

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    READ IT!!!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!! Miranda Kenneally has officially made onto my favorite authors list along with Meg Cabot, Simone Elkeles, Sarah Dessen, and Kody Keplinger! Her books just allow me to remember even further why I love reading so much! I love these cute, contemporaries, that have such a realistic story behind them, that have me page turning and page turning, and just not wanting the book to end!

    I absolutely 100% recommend this book to anyone!! Okay, so realistically, not everyone loves teen romances, so I guess I definitely recommend it to high school girls going through a tough time in school! I also recommend it to YA lovers! And Contemporary lovers! PICK THIS BOOK UP when you get a chance!!! :)

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This author is on my must read list. Any book that comes out bu

    This author is on my must read list. Any book that comes out bu this author I must read. And this book not only shocked me, but I really loved it.




    So the reason this book shocked is cause this book goes so close to the line of right and wrong. The reader meets Parker, a girl who has a rough past years catching the eye of the an older male. Preferably  the teacher. Yeah.....that's all I'm going to say about that. I do however, like that Parker is able to see how deep things had gotten. She took people's trust and use it against them.




    While I liked the main character Parker, I really liked how she well she grew and learned. She is able to to find a friend where she least expect it. Even after everything that she went through, she is able to find forgiveness and move on to what she is really looking for the whole time.




    Because this book is borderline shocking, I suggest the ages of 18+ to read the book. If you are mature enough it read it, then go ahead. 




    Stealing Parker is an out of the box story that collides with all things imaginable. It's certainly takes  everything that I have read to a new level. Stealing Parker has great emotional depths enhanced with amazing characters and story line. Stealing Parker is awesome!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    THIS WAS NO CATCHING JORDAN

    Let me tell you, i was a absolutly huge fan of Catching Jordan. I read it 4 times cause i loved Jordan and Henry and JJ and EVERYONE so when i saw this i was so excited because it was the same author. but this book was honestly not very good. I pre ordered it two months in advanced hoping it will be as amazing as a book as Catching Jordan but it wasnt. AT ALL. This book had barely any real baseball playing in it, it was very sexually descriptive, and it was not good in general. At some points oft the story it was kind of interesting. I can tell the author had good ideas for the book but was struggling with writing the story line. I was very dissapointed with this book due to the fact that Catching Jordan was honestly the most amazing book I ever read. I just didnt like this book at all and was very suprised about how bad the story line was compared to her other books.such as Catching Jordan.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Great read

    i enjoyed Jordon better... but loved the teens in this story.. and baseball.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Astonishing

    Hiiiii

    4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    3.5 Stars

    I think if there was less talk about God and being a good Christian I would have liked this book better. Her church sounded more like a cult to me and I couldn't understand why they would continue to go there considering how they were treated. All the scenes at church just frustrated me to no end. I just wish Parker had stuck up for herself more. Just because she's kissed a lot of boys, doesn't make her a bad girl. I really didn't care for Brian. I did in the beginning but once I realized how old he was, I thought he was kind of gross. I loved Corn Fritter though!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Stealing Parker is filled with kicks, giggles, and the bitterswe

    Stealing Parker is filled with kicks, giggles, and the bittersweet angst that comes with the teen years when we make those stupid mistakes that seem so right at the time but become so wrong when we really think about it. Parker is a good girl. She was in the running for valeditorian (and made it), had a talent for softball, and had a life. When her mom comes out as a lesbian and leaves her family, Parker's life comes crumbling down and she makes drastic changes in her life. Her decisions aren't all the right ones, but she rationalizes them so well in her mind. If it weren't were certain strings of events, she could have made it though high school without the slutty reputation and dirty rumors. Parker is a very real and down-to-earth character. Underneath her pretty exterior, there's a fiery spirit sheltering a vulnerable interior, one that questions everything that's happened to her.

    I've heard about the hot, to-die-for realistic guys of Miranda's, and I'm not disappointed. Will is one of the sweetest guys you'll ever meet. He's hot, and he knows it, but it's not overstated. After the initial introduction, I had to remind myself that girls would kill to hook up with him because he's so down-to-earth like Parker. He's a smartypants (losing the number one spot in school by a narrow margin), he has the wittiest exchanges with Parker ever, and he's into chick flicks. How cool is that? After meeting him, you can't not want a Will of your own! I also love Drew. He's a good friend to Parker and sticks with her through the worst of it. There was just this one thing he does towards the end (and which Will also does) that I felt was a bad move as a friend, though I can see where he's coming from.

    That sums up the main characters. The others weren't as well developed; mostly, it didn't really matter for the plot, and oftentimes conflicts remain unresolved, especially with people who aren't worth the time that it takes to resolve things with them. Oftentimes, these people are jealous, petty, and uninterested in coming to an resolution of sorts. Then there are people like Brian who are indecisive and, in wanting what they can't have, do whatever they want and then give up without seeing things through. He's a jerk and worse.

    While romance is at the heart of this story, religion also plays a role in this book. After being betrayed by her church and others that she trusted, Parker loses faith in God. She still writes to him, but she's struggling to find him, to find faith in herself. Losing her mother and so many other important things to her shakes Parker's faith in God and in people in general. Her struggles are something that I feel are relatable to many of us who struggled with faith while attending a religious institution. Even if you aren't religious or of the same religion as Parker, however, this book is one that you can enjoy. This isn't a religious story at its core, though Parker's letters to God play a role in shaping her background and showing us her internal conflicts without bogging down the story.

    Humor, rocking dialogue, and memorable characters. This book has it all! I haven't read Catching Jordan, but I seriously have to get on it now because I just loved the scenes where Sam and Jordan appeared. A guy who puts on sparkles to prom and a girl who can put up with him? I have a feeling that I'm going to love them even more after reading their story than I already do now. Hundred Oaks is an amazing place. May I please move there? Absolutely can't wait to read the next book in this series!

    Mature content warning: There are some sexual scenes and substance abuse.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Surprised...

    Good book, was surprised how much I liked it but I am beginning to be a YA fan (but very selective). Left a good message of how to be happy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Tiff

    I liked catching jordan a lot better. But this book was still good. Wish there was a little better ending

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was so ecstatic when I finally got my hands on Stealing Parker

    I was so ecstatic when I finally got my hands on Stealing Parker, the companion novel to Catching Jordan which I adored! While Stealing Parker was great, especially its ending, it was no Catching Jordan. In stealing Parker, we've got Parker, a girl that is out to prove to the world, or at least her christian community, that she is not like her mother; she likes guys. However once she notices the new assistant baseball coach, he is all she thinks about. I initially liked their relationship, I thought it would be another "Slammed by Colleen Hoover" situation and I was shipping them so hard. However once Corndog, A.K.A Will, A.K.A her archnemisis who lost the valedictorian to Parker showed up, I started second guessing my decision on who to ship.
    Miranda Kenneally has written another brilliant sports related young adult novel. Trust me, the YA genre is missing this. However in Stealing Parker, Miranda heavily includes faith and what it means to be a christian. Parker has lost faith in god after her mom left and the people of her church turned on her family. I know this doesn't portray how all christians are, but man the people Parker lived around were so judgmental, hypocritical, and harsh. It is very hard to love your religion when you see the people representing it ostracize you and treat you like dirt. I felt for Parker, especially her older brother. I think Miranda portrayed their broken and fractured family really well. Yes, not all families are this messed up, but again, not all families are perfect. Some readers might say this is unrealistic, but these things do happen.
    I felt this book was more about faith and believing in yourself and god as well as learning to accept people the way they are, whether you agree with their beliefs or not. Parker annoyed me at the beginning, I must admit that. However over time and after spending time with Corndog, she started to re-direct her anger and focus on what she already has. Miranda hooked me from the first page and created such realistic 17 year olds that remind you of how immature and cringe inducing we got when we were their age! It was a fun novel that also delivered some deep and meaningful messages to all the readers. I would recommend it to YA contemporary fans that want a meaningful contemporary.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Stealing parker

    It was a good book get it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Good book

    I did like this book and LOVED the ending but... i loved catching jordan SOOOOOOOO much it was hard to get my mind off of tht. But it is still a really good book!
    -teamSamHenry

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Love it

    I love this book so much!!!! Wish there was another book like this and Catching Jordan (also a must read) i would be the first to buy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    H

    I like catching jordan better.. theres to many preppiesh girl books out there and they kinda made this character seem like a slut in a way. I didnt connect with her at all..and they said Ty Green was in there even though in the last book "Catching Jordan " he was a senior moving into college.. wish u would have done a little better or not made another one at all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Great

    A must read lol

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was a cute romantic story a little predictable but sti

    This book was a cute romantic story a little predictable but still fun. There is some mature content so I'd recommend it for older teens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5