Customer Reviews for

Stealing Shadows (Bishop/Special Crimes Unit Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    Kay Hooper is amazing

    I started with the 12th book in this series, not realizing it was a series, then had to start from the beginning (and ended up reading book 12 again). The books are amazing. She really explains the psychic abilities of each character in a way that is easy to understand and each novel left me wanting more. I can't wait for book 13 to come out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    must read the entire series

    my sister started me readinh kay hoopers books now I am hooked on the series with bishop . I hope kay continues to write more , its hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Good read

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Great read!

    Kay Hooper can build a character in two sentences! I love the Bishop and Haven series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Enjoyed it.

    I read this book five years or so ago and loved it and the whole series. Since then I have been a constant reader mainly of fantasy. Rereading this makes me realize that it is slightly simplistic but in a good uncomplicated way. Nice easy edge of your seat thriller. Try it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Strange, spooky!

    Just the thought of what the characters are going through will keep me awake at night! The scariest monsters out there are psycho humans, and this book gets into the emotions of all the characters. I would not recommend this to immature or impressionable readers, especially such as children or young adults. But for all murder mystery readers, this will grab your interest. I look forward to more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Excellent read

    Great start for reading Kay Hooper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    .....

    Suspenseful and interesting storyline. Liked meeting these characters and ambinterested in reading more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    love this series

    Great characters, great stories. cant put the books down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Loving this series

    Never read this author before but decided to take a chance, and I have yet to be disappointed. Just purchased book 7 and still cant wait to find out how more of the characters lives will unfold. I think each books gets better and draws you in even more! A good series so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Amazing series

    I love mystery books, and was a little skeptical about reading this series. I plunged in anyway, and WOW! I couldn't stop reading. I am now on book number eight in the series, and am looking forward to getting to all the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Sunspot

    Sunspot~ who is Bloom?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Shadow

    The kit I adopted on the day I was kicked out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Entertaining Read

    This was an entertaining read. Interesting story. Enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Fabulus!!!!!!!!!

    This is one of my favorte authors she is amazing in the Bishop special crime stories. I have them all in hardcover but lovr them so much and read them over and over again i am getting them for my nook. Love the writing Kay keep it up xoxoxo love love love them. Can,t wait till the new one comes out, thank u so much for your stories i love all 12 OF THEM!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    A gfreat A good book

    Frist of many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great book

    <3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Enjoyed

    I really enjoyed this book it started out a little slow but ended up being worth while. I was a bit confused about it being a Bishop series because he wasnt introduced until half way to three quarters the way through the book so i am not sure where it is going with him but i will read the second and find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What a Steal!

    Cassie Neal thought she had finally found peace when she left Los Angeles and settled in Ryan's Bluff, North Carolina. A psychic who had worked with detectives to locate serial killers and that ilk, she was looking to put her gifts to rest and live out her life in solitude. Unfortunately, even small towns can have bear the same sins as the big city when women are turning up murdered in Cassie's new home. She reaches out to the skeptical Sheriff to offer her help and then seeks the help of the town's prosecutor, Ben Ryan, when she's rejected. Cassie and Ben have an immediate connection but she is reluctant to follow through on it, feeling she's destined for tragedy. This is a chilling story as you anticipate not only who the killer is but who will be the next victim. Hooper does an admirable job of drawing you into minor characters and having you invest in their outcome. I found myself dreading who the next victim might be as I was unwilling to give up on any of those I'd come to know in the story. The plot was complex while seemingly simple. There were enough clues for me to have a shot at solving the mystery and I came pretty close. The end of the story had an extremely interesting twist that could have been deduced. In the end, Cassie's paranormal abilities are at the heart of this story and her skills are made believable by the author. My only criticism is that the romance meter was a little low but adequate. Ben was very attractive with the requisite amount of flaws and Cassie, of course, was appealing in a poignant way. But, it was difficult to make the emotional connection because it was written pretty dispassionately. This is well written and an excellent start to a promising series, which I plan to continue. It was high on mystery and suspense, keeping my pulse rate elevated through much of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    great

    a must read. kept me guesing all the way through. mostly i read detective stories wich this s but has the twist of the syshic verycool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9