BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Steam & Sorcery

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A fun steampunk/paranormal romance

This book was a huge amount of fun. I love steampunk and paranormal and this book blends them perfectly. With clockwork dogs and undead creatures roaming the streets of London, an interesting new world is created.

Caroline is a lovely lady who has had a very difficul...
This book was a huge amount of fun. I love steampunk and paranormal and this book blends them perfectly. With clockwork dogs and undead creatures roaming the streets of London, an interesting new world is created.

Caroline is a lovely lady who has had a very difficult time of it. Raised in a wealthy household (though she refuses to tell whose) and then working as a governess (sometimes to not very nice people) as well as her own sense of determination serve her very well in Merrick's adventurous home and make her a fun character to read. Mysterious, brave and good with children is a lovely combination in a heroine.

I love Merrick. First, he is a fierce sword-wielding monster slayer. Second, he loves his five adopted children dearly, even though he doesn't admit it for a while. Third, he is absolutely hopeless when it comes to stopping Caroline from doing what she wants, no matter how dangerous, and he is always ready to defend her honour. He is very much so a knight in shining armor.

The kids are great. Used to living on the streets and fighting for themselves, they have many unusual skills and hate being left behind. Each of them has different and fun personalities and abilities. I love how excited they are to have a weapon in hand.

The plot was well-paced; not too fast, not too slow and with plenty of action. The romance was for the most part lovely but I disliked that they did not wait for marriage. In that time period, Caroline could have been ruined and I am not altogether happy that Merrick risked it. However, for the most part it moved along nicely from the streets to upscale mansions and crowded dance floors. Sigh, I love stories set in London. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves romance, steampunk and paranormal. It is not one to be missed.

posted by LiederMadchen on June 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A fun little read

Steam & Sorcery had the potential of being a really great novel; there is a capable, smart and handsome hero, a headstrong heroine that can take care of herself, five orphaned children with supernatural abilities, vampires, werewolves and interesting gadgets one of the ...
Steam & Sorcery had the potential of being a really great novel; there is a capable, smart and handsome hero, a headstrong heroine that can take care of herself, five orphaned children with supernatural abilities, vampires, werewolves and interesting gadgets one of the children creates. But when it came to the actual plot, it fell a bit flat.

The story starts out at a good pace with action right off the bat; Sir Merrick is a Knight in a secret order that protects the rest of the world against the monsters. He is investigating the disappearance of several women when vampires ambush him and help comes in the package of five young waifs. When he discovers that one boy is a potential knight and the others have special abilities of his own he brings them into his home as his wards. However, he soon realizes he needs help and with the suggestion of his aunt hires Caroline as a governess. There is an instant sizzle between them, each character is interesting, but after the initial character introductions the story plods along slowly with the action dwindling. The romance between the two main characters is hot but predictable, they fight their attraction for each other and try to keep a professional distance but give in eventually. The mystery of the missing women and the congregation of vampires is weaved into the romance but the slow-going romance is the center of the plot. Merrick's Aunt added fun feminist humor, the paranormal side was intriguing but never fully developed, the steam punk aspects were in large part children's toys and the ending felt rushed. Overall though, it was still a fun little read.

posted by RBtWBC on April 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fun steampunk/paranormal romance

    This book was a huge amount of fun. I love steampunk and paranormal and this book blends them perfectly. With clockwork dogs and undead creatures roaming the streets of London, an interesting new world is created.

    Caroline is a lovely lady who has had a very difficult time of it. Raised in a wealthy household (though she refuses to tell whose) and then working as a governess (sometimes to not very nice people) as well as her own sense of determination serve her very well in Merrick's adventurous home and make her a fun character to read. Mysterious, brave and good with children is a lovely combination in a heroine.

    I love Merrick. First, he is a fierce sword-wielding monster slayer. Second, he loves his five adopted children dearly, even though he doesn't admit it for a while. Third, he is absolutely hopeless when it comes to stopping Caroline from doing what she wants, no matter how dangerous, and he is always ready to defend her honour. He is very much so a knight in shining armor.

    The kids are great. Used to living on the streets and fighting for themselves, they have many unusual skills and hate being left behind. Each of them has different and fun personalities and abilities. I love how excited they are to have a weapon in hand.

    The plot was well-paced; not too fast, not too slow and with plenty of action. The romance was for the most part lovely but I disliked that they did not wait for marriage. In that time period, Caroline could have been ruined and I am not altogether happy that Merrick risked it. However, for the most part it moved along nicely from the streets to upscale mansions and crowded dance floors. Sigh, I love stories set in London. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves romance, steampunk and paranormal. It is not one to be missed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Set in London in 1851, in the era of steam and mechanization, Lo

    Set in London in 1851, in the era of steam and mechanization, Lord Merrick Hadrian finds himself in a predicament. A Knight of the Order of the Round Table, a direct descendant of King Arthur's Knights of the Round Table, Sir Merrick has been tasked with a great problem. He can seek help from none of his brethren. Along the way, he receives assistance from a rag-tag group of five gifted children, and one Miss Caroline Bristol. The way in which the events unfold is truly enjoyable, and keeps the reader enthralled.

    For lovers of paranormal, romance, steam punk, or erotica, all will find something to love in this book. The attention to detailnis amazing! A fabulous read!

    **** four out of five stars... I look forward to more of this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Enjoyable read....

    I was introduced to the writing style of Cindy Spencer Pape through her short story Photographs and Phantoms, which takes place AFTER the setting of this novel. I was excited to read this story based on my liking for the short story. This novel did not disappoint. I was quickly wrapped up in the story line and its characters. I look forward to seeing what else this author has in story for her readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book!

    The characters seemed so real that I miss them. I especially adored the children but, I am a sucker for any character that loves and accepts orphans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fun little read

    Steam & Sorcery had the potential of being a really great novel; there is a capable, smart and handsome hero, a headstrong heroine that can take care of herself, five orphaned children with supernatural abilities, vampires, werewolves and interesting gadgets one of the children creates. But when it came to the actual plot, it fell a bit flat.

    The story starts out at a good pace with action right off the bat; Sir Merrick is a Knight in a secret order that protects the rest of the world against the monsters. He is investigating the disappearance of several women when vampires ambush him and help comes in the package of five young waifs. When he discovers that one boy is a potential knight and the others have special abilities of his own he brings them into his home as his wards. However, he soon realizes he needs help and with the suggestion of his aunt hires Caroline as a governess. There is an instant sizzle between them, each character is interesting, but after the initial character introductions the story plods along slowly with the action dwindling. The romance between the two main characters is hot but predictable, they fight their attraction for each other and try to keep a professional distance but give in eventually. The mystery of the missing women and the congregation of vampires is weaved into the romance but the slow-going romance is the center of the plot. Merrick's Aunt added fun feminist humor, the paranormal side was intriguing but never fully developed, the steam punk aspects were in large part children's toys and the ending felt rushed. Overall though, it was still a fun little read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    i couldn't put it down

    it was like having all my favorite books crammed into one story. it was great! the characters are unforgettable, the story line imaginative and i really can't wait for the next book. i'm actually hoping that the author makes the series about the two main characters, caroline and merrick, rather than create new stories stemming from other side characters. i guess we'll have to wait and see.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Love It!

    I've never read steampunk before, but I thought paranormal steampunk would be kind of interesting and I was right. I hated to see the book end. The characters are interesting and you really end up caring what happens to them. Which is why I hope at least some of the future books will include them. I can't wait for the series to continue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Alissiin

    Hey i want to get down tall girl red hair emerald eye and big its. Wilk do anyine but you need to b skilled. Reply here if interested

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Callie

    Chase i am so sorry! I was grounded and couldnt go on my nook

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Chase

    Its ok. He smiled.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Great blending of steampunk and magic.

    Good use of humor. Good characters and dialogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Perfect

    As the norm, I do not care for romance. This is because most romance stories follow the same pattern--they meet, are terribly attracted, have too many obstacles to over come ie: not good enough, not pretty enough, not smart enough, not in the same social class, feel they have to hide their true feelings, ad nauseum. While this tale did have a romance, it was presented wonderfully and with a refreshing absence of the usual vapid angst that plague most "romances". This was a damn good story with a little romance on the side with most of the text being spent on the action, mystery, and suspense of the tale instead of spending so much wasted time on the "agonies" of a relationship that you already know how it will end. Thanks for a great time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Good steampunk romance

    Honorable hero, self-directed heroine, five supernaturally gifted children and a supporting cast of interesting characters, all blended in a steampunk romance with vampires, ghosts and werewolves oh, my! Pape has a deft way of makingthe sometimes outlandish world of steampunk understandable and real, and her characters are so endearing that I'm committed to the series and hope it lasts long enough for the children to grow up and achieve their own potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Another great one by Cindy Spencer Pape

    My thoughts:
    I enjoyed this story very much. I have come to love steampunk and this is a fabulous example of genre. The characters are delightful! Well developed, interesting, and lovable. The author has done a fantastic job of disarming the reader and depositing the children directly in your heart. Sir Merrick is a treat and Miss Caroline Bristol is wonderful. The unexpected romance is an added bonus. Social class be damned!
    The story flows smoothly and is filled with gripping intrigue, unusual adventures, and monsters. It is clever, creative, and well written. Well worth a read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Recommended Read

    If Steam and Sorcery is an example of Steampunk Romance I'm going to put this genre on my favorites list.

    The time is 1851. Queen Victoria is on the throne of England. On the surface the era appears unchanged from the one we know from history. All is not as it seems.

    Sir Merrick Hadrian is a Knight of the Round Table. He is descended from Arthur's original knights - who were were completely different from the knights portrayed in legend. Merrick is gifted with magic. His secret duties include disposing of vampires, rogue werewolfs and other supernatural beings who endanger the mechanical Victorian England.

    Life becomes extremely complicated when five gifted children help him defeat several vampires. He suspects one of them is descended from a Knight. He takes all five children into his home to protect them from the revenge of the vampires. Chaos erupts in his orderly household so he hires a governess and then promptly falls in love with her.

    Caroline Bristol is not the frumpy governess she tries to appear. An instant rapport grows between her and the children, but she also has a hidden talent - or fault as she thinks of it. Her other problem is the instant attraction she develops for her employer.

    The two adults and five children must solve the riddle of the vampires. Merrick and Caroline also have the difficulty of fighting their growing desire for each other.

    I thought Steampunk Romance differed from ordinary romances by having machines appearing in unlikely times of history, particularly Victorian times. Ms. Spencer Pape has certainly placed her story in the correct era. The wonderful machines in her book also make it steampunk. George the mechanical dog is a particular favorite of mine. Her inclusion of the paranormal and magic is so natural it gives the story a well deserved richness in tone. Humor lightens the world of the paranormal which can often be dark and scary.

    The characters are people you could imagine in your everyday life. Caroline is a feisty young lady who refuses to allow any male employer to take advantage. Merrick is determined not to marry. What wife would allow him to chase vampires and werewolves? Five children ranging in age from nine to sixteen add a contrast between being funny, and at times distressing.

    Definitely a book I would recommend. Truth be told, I couldn't put this one down.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great set up for a nice read

    The elements of Cindy Spencer Pape's Steam & Sorcery have the potential for a wonderful book. Light steampunk is smoothly incorporated into the intriguing themes of descendants of the knights of the Round Table and superntural creatures and abilities. Well developed characters draw easily into the story. Add in a charming, handsome, and compassionate hero and a strong female lead, and the potential rises. A feminist aunt and a well stated call for human rights and against age discrimination appeals to the very heart of me. With that set up, the book didn't deliver what it could have. Focus on the romance detracted from further story development. Instead of becoming a fast hit, I rank it as an easy going read which is nice rather than fantastic.

    Disclaimer: A copy of the book was provided by the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Really liked it

    Probably one of my favorite books I have downloaded. It had a good mix of gothic/supernatural and steampunk. One of my favorite books i have gotten for the nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    wicked

    i canny wait for more, please say there will be

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4