Customer Reviews for

Steamed: A Steampunk Romance

Average Rating 3.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Steamed is an entertaining wacky steampunk romantic fantasy

Computer research technician Jack Fletcher is experimenting with a nanoelectromechanical system in his lab. His sister Hallie, who sold him at a charity auction, accidentally moves the switches while spilling liquid helium on the connections, causing an explosion that ...
Computer research technician Jack Fletcher is experimenting with a nanoelectromechanical system in his lab. His sister Hallie, who sold him at a charity auction, accidentally moves the switches while spilling liquid helium on the connections, causing an explosion that burns the circuits and more. The boom also sends the siblings to another world; that of his favorite story Airship Pirates; a Victorian realm using steam power as the primary source of energy. .

Aerocorps Captain Octavia Pye is on her maiden voyage on HIMA (His Imperial Majesty's Airship) Tesla. However, she is shock to find two stowaways on her ship. Jack and Hallie tell her their story, but she thinks they are either insane or spies for the Black Hand Rebels or one of the European enemies as the Empire is on the brink of revolt. She also thinks the hunk is cute while he knows she is the woman he always wanted.

Steamed is an entertaining wacky steampunk romantic fantasy filled with humor as the computer guru with fantasies of being Indiana Jones lands in the adventure of a lifetime with the woman of his dreams. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Hallie sends them into this other realm and never slows down as Jack thrives to become a one-eyed patched first mate to the captain who has a few secrets of her own.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as her other books.

Katie MacAlister is one of my favorites. I have read and loved most of her books but I have to say I liked this one the least. Premise is good, got to love some steampunk. She does a wonderful job creating the world and the writing is well done. But I have to say I ki...
Katie MacAlister is one of my favorites. I have read and loved most of her books but I have to say I liked this one the least. Premise is good, got to love some steampunk. She does a wonderful job creating the world and the writing is well done. But I have to say I kind of thought the hero was an ass. The heroine was better, but I still couldn't seem to care. The side characters were pretty amusing, loved them though. A decent read to pass the time, but I would recommend her Dragon or Dark One series over this one by far.

posted by 1491037 on February 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Steamed is an entertaining wacky steampunk romantic fantasy

    Computer research technician Jack Fletcher is experimenting with a nanoelectromechanical system in his lab. His sister Hallie, who sold him at a charity auction, accidentally moves the switches while spilling liquid helium on the connections, causing an explosion that burns the circuits and more. The boom also sends the siblings to another world; that of his favorite story Airship Pirates; a Victorian realm using steam power as the primary source of energy. .

    Aerocorps Captain Octavia Pye is on her maiden voyage on HIMA (His Imperial Majesty's Airship) Tesla. However, she is shock to find two stowaways on her ship. Jack and Hallie tell her their story, but she thinks they are either insane or spies for the Black Hand Rebels or one of the European enemies as the Empire is on the brink of revolt. She also thinks the hunk is cute while he knows she is the woman he always wanted.

    Steamed is an entertaining wacky steampunk romantic fantasy filled with humor as the computer guru with fantasies of being Indiana Jones lands in the adventure of a lifetime with the woman of his dreams. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Hallie sends them into this other realm and never slows down as Jack thrives to become a one-eyed patched first mate to the captain who has a few secrets of her own.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    Not as good as her other books.

    Katie MacAlister is one of my favorites. I have read and loved most of her books but I have to say I liked this one the least. Premise is good, got to love some steampunk. She does a wonderful job creating the world and the writing is well done. But I have to say I kind of thought the hero was an ass. The heroine was better, but I still couldn't seem to care. The side characters were pretty amusing, loved them though. A decent read to pass the time, but I would recommend her Dragon or Dark One series over this one by far.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    Not her usual style

    I was disappointed with this book. I almost felt as if someone other that Katie MacAlister was writing it. Sorry, but I don't really recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    BORING

    I love Katie MacAlister but this book completely misses the mark. Or maybe her editors let her down. The ideas were good but the hero guy character was COMPLETELY unbelievable. I think Katie tried to be too many voices in this book and none of them were fully fleshed out or made sense. I like the idea of a Steampunk romance but this so was not it. Save your money and get it at the library if you must read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    Not a fan of steampunk

    Steampunk is just not my genre and as a result, it's definitely not my favorite Katie MacAlister book--I found it odd and rather disjointed. I am a huge fan of her vampire and dragon novels, but I slogged through this volume with little to look forward to except being done with the book. Believe it or not, I almost didn't finish it. I didn't like the characters, the setting, or the plot.

    If you are a fan of Katie MacAlister and steampunk, you'll probably enjoy the book. I thought my enjoyment of her writing would transcend my dislike of the genre, but I was wrong.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Like katie m, & s-punk but not this

    I sincerely hope Ms. Macalister never ventures into Steampunk again! I was all set for, at worst, a fun frolic through goggles & corsets. These characters don't work. They are interesting neither together nor separately & I didn't care what happened to them. This will be the first Katie M. book that I will not be keeping for my collection. All other books she's written are better. (For better Steampunk, try Gail Carriger. Imo, naturally.) If this is the first work of hers thhat you've read, please do try somethhing else if you were disappointed. They are all better than this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    What an Escape

    The modern time meets the victorian in this fun loving romantic novel. Action and romance as well as great funny moments make this book for a must read. It is truly unique and I read the book in only a weekend - yes, it is that good. I would suggest that you log off, get in your car and drive to your nearest B&N and get this book (or order it here).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good ideas but they never reach full potential

    As an avid reader of Katie Macalister's other books I was excited to see her add a new genre to her repetoire. However, that excitement was short lived as once I began reading the new steampunk romance I found myself wondering "where is she going with this plot?" There were tons of great ideas, characters and interesting locations but they never come together to make a compelling story. There could have been so much more development of the characters and their motives. It was as though they wanted to throw a bunch of interesting things into the mix but then leaves the reader wondering "why? and where is this all going?" because all of the interesting ideas and backstories that are hinted at as being so vital to the main plot are never revealed or explained. I finished this book feeling disappointed, especially so because I adore this author's other books and know what a great writer she can be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Hi

    Let me join solarclan please!!!!! My name is Rainsplash and i am a black shecat with gray stripes and amber eyes! I will be eternally grateful if u let me join solarclan!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    To blazestar

    Lillyhollow is back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Millenniumclan

    I win- Deathflame

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Ha my name is blacktail im willing to fight if u change it to

    Warriors result three buti havea clan andim co leader id likemy clan to fight an protect bloodstar blacktail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Can i join?

    Solarpanel
    A dark golden she cat queen with green eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Blackmoon

    Rests on the tree branch ~Blackmoon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Firegazer to coldkit and blackstar only

    Blackstar:can i rejoin and be deputy again. Coldkit:if i get back in i will be your mom. I promise i will not lie ever again. Blackstar:if i get back in i will band my clan forever and advertise frostclan. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Lilaa

    .............i am 15..........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    A good introduction to Steampunk

    There are passages laced throughout the book which explain what Steampunk is. There is a lot of explicit language throughout the book. There is a lot of adventure too. To me this book is better classified as a science-fiction, adventure, erotic literature rather than a romance. There is quite a bit of humor as well.

    I did enjoy reading the book and I would recommend it to those readers that are interested in Steampunk and eroticism. The novel is essentially one long adventure along the lines of an Indiana Jones, The Gray Mouser, or Myth Inc.

    I would like to see more stories developed in this same genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Snowfur to darkshade.

    Im here now. Where are you?~ Snowfur

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    A delightfully fun romp through a world of steam-powered airships, corsets and goggles.

    Jack Fletcher is a quantum-electrical engineer with a habit of getting caught up in unlikely adventures. Octavia Pye is the Captian of HIMA Tesla, a steam-powered airship in the Southampton Aerocorps with rather colorful history of her own. Naturally, these two just have to get together.

    A freak lab experiment blows up in Jack's face he and his sister are blasted into the alternate world of airships, corsets, aether guns and goggles, right into the hold of Captain Pye's ship.

    From there things get really interesting, with assassination plots against the Emperor by leaders of the rebellious Black Hand, attacks by Moghul warlords, daring rescues and of course, a burgeoning romance between Jack and Octavia.

    Ms. Macalister has woven a delightful, fun romp with colorful characters and her tounge firmly in her cheek. Even the intimate scenes between Jack and Olivia are done with as much humor as sexy detail.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys either steampunk or romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5