Customer Reviews for

Steampunk Name Generator

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Does what it says

I have attempted to sit down and write some historical fantasy, steapunk-esque short stories, but naming characters is always the hardest part. This generates random male, female, and unisex naes with each button push, and the best part is they are all good, real names ...
I have attempted to sit down and write some historical fantasy, steapunk-esque short stories, but naming characters is always the hardest part. This generates random male, female, and unisex naes with each button push, and the best part is they are all good, real names which fit various genres. No random jumbles of syllables like many of the fantasy and sci-fi generators I have tried. Excellent app.

posted by qubit on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Yopeepsya

It is useless and boring but it's free. I don't know why I bought it or what use it provides but I didn't spend any money so I'm fine with it. I guess if you are interested with things like this then you would find a use but it is not for me.

posted by 11506158 on September 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Does what it says

    I have attempted to sit down and write some historical fantasy, steapunk-esque short stories, but naming characters is always the hardest part. This generates random male, female, and unisex naes with each button push, and the best part is they are all good, real names which fit various genres. No random jumbles of syllables like many of the fantasy and sci-fi generators I have tried. Excellent app.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    recommend

    Have you ever been stumped for a web site password? Use this app and you don't suffer password block.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Not bad

    It can be fun to play with and to give fun nicknames to you friends

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Love It!!!

    I adore steampunk, and this app is perfect! Me and my friend played with it during a long car ride. Some of the names are funny (Flim Flam Devitt), some of the names are really cool (Callum Mast). I highly recommend it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Simple

    This is all in the name: all it does is generate a name, but it gets it done and does it well. Good for writing if you need a quick name.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Yopeepsya

    It is useless and boring but it's free. I don't know why I bought it or what use it provides but I didn't spend any money so I'm fine with it. I guess if you are interested with things like this then you would find a use but it is not for me.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Steampunk fans...you NEED to try this app!!

    After being introduced to the Steampunk genre by my brother, I immediately became a fan. It is really cool how ordinary things are turned into something extrordinary by designing it with steam power. Let's not forget the Steampunk version of superheroes! (If you haven't already, you need to Bing "Steampunk Batman" or whatever your favorite superhero is.) With this app, you click a button and random Steampunk-inspired names are presented. What's not to love? :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Interesting

    The Steampunk Name Generator shows a male, female and unisex Steampunk name and that's it. A good tool if you are trying to name something in Steampunk fashion, however, that's all it does.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It does what it says

    Anything special beyond generating a batch of names you can use in stories or role-playing games (RPGs)? No, but it gets the job done there.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Why doesn't this work on Nook Simple Touch? It's just a Name Ge

    Why doesn't this work on Nook Simple Touch? It's just a Name Generator! It doesn't generate 3D color graphics, it just spits out a name! Apps don't get any simpler than that. Give me a version of this that I can run on my Simple Touch, and I'll be impressed. Otherwise, I was quite disappointed to find out AFTER I got this, that it wouldn't run on the Nook I own. The sales blurb could have been more clear about that.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    WTF ARE HEADLINES FOR?!

    Honestly, it doesn't really 'generate' anything. You push a button and at the bottom it has a female, male, and a unisex name that came from the 17nth century. It's pretty boring.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Great

    This app is great and I think it should be used by more authors

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Yo

    I think getting this app is a waste no good names

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Review

    I love it! I'm making a webcomic called Power Up and the characters in said comic uses some of these names ^_^ Most of these reviews suck big toes 'cause it's a free app that generates superhero names! What did they expect; it to predict the future? Yeesh, picky people these days.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Ok i guess

    Its ok i guess

    1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Z

    Did I miss the point? This seems to be a list of names, perhaps lengthy and scrambled, but the ' player' doesn' t have any input. Perhaps good for those who can' t create names for themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Not impressed

    Perhaps younger children or Steampunk fans will enjoy this app.
    Rate this as average

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Lots of fun!

    I have had a great time with this simple name generator. WAAAY more than 99 cents worth! 4 out of 5 stars just because it IS so very simple. A lot for the money, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Cool

    It provides names just like it sais it would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Anonymous

    This app SUCKS it wont eveninstall on my nook color i HATE this app >:(

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2