Customer Reviews for

Steel

Average Rating 3.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

review taken from One Book At A Time

The idea behind this one was a new one to me, and I admit it intrigued me greatly. I think with the latest Pirates of the Caribbean coming out in 2011, HarperTeen probably has a hit on their hands.
I thought Jill was a great character from the opening pages. She's de...
The idea behind this one was a new one to me, and I admit it intrigued me greatly. I think with the latest Pirates of the Caribbean coming out in 2011, HarperTeen probably has a hit on their hands.
I thought Jill was a great character from the opening pages. She's dedicated to her sport and shows real discipline in it. I liked the fact that it was fencing because it was so appropriate to what happens to her. I enjoyed her character even more when she's transported back to the 18th century. She keeps her head on her shoulders, becomes part of the crew, and helps them overcome their own problems. When she's transported back to her own time, she takes the lessons she has learned with her.

I also the pirate story. A female pirate captain with a heart was a great thought. But, the story has enough of an edge that you know this pirate ship is anything but typical. I liked how Jill was able to learn about the bad along with the good. Plus, it was great that the author included real pirates such as Blackbeard.

The story seemed short, but well-rounded. It had the feel of a dream were the character wakes up at just the right moment. It was a fast read and I enjoyed it down to the last page!

posted by pagese on January 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Unmemorable/Predictable Read

(Contains some spoilers) Sixteen year old Jill thought that losing a fencing boute was the worst thing that could happen. She was mistaken. When Jill discovers a tip of a ancient rapier at the beach, it transports her back to the 1800s on a pirate ship led by a fierce p...
(Contains some spoilers) Sixteen year old Jill thought that losing a fencing boute was the worst thing that could happen. She was mistaken. When Jill discovers a tip of a ancient rapier at the beach, it transports her back to the 1800s on a pirate ship led by a fierce pirate queen. Unwillingly, she finds herself in the middle of an adventure.

I was excited to find out that a YA author wrote a pirate book. I thought that Vaughn's descriptions were vivid, especially during the battle scenes and when the ship was out at sea. I read the book in a day, excited to figure out how it was going to end, hoping for a twist. Problem is...nothing happened. In my opinion, none of the characters developed to the point that made me love them. I admire Jill's bravery, but her actions/ the plot of the story were also very predictable. I was also looking forward to the romance in this book, but there is barely any. The romance was an afterthought, something that seemed like it was just thrown in there. Lastly, the ending was VERY predictable and annoying in a way. It was as if the author just wanted to be done with the whole story.

The pirate history was interesting indeed, but I felt that the book could have been longer and executed much better. Look at it this way...in a year, I won't even remember what this book was about.

posted by Miss_Reckless on March 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Unmemorable/Predictable Read

    (Contains some spoilers) Sixteen year old Jill thought that losing a fencing boute was the worst thing that could happen. She was mistaken. When Jill discovers a tip of a ancient rapier at the beach, it transports her back to the 1800s on a pirate ship led by a fierce pirate queen. Unwillingly, she finds herself in the middle of an adventure.

    I was excited to find out that a YA author wrote a pirate book. I thought that Vaughn's descriptions were vivid, especially during the battle scenes and when the ship was out at sea. I read the book in a day, excited to figure out how it was going to end, hoping for a twist. Problem is...nothing happened. In my opinion, none of the characters developed to the point that made me love them. I admire Jill's bravery, but her actions/ the plot of the story were also very predictable. I was also looking forward to the romance in this book, but there is barely any. The romance was an afterthought, something that seemed like it was just thrown in there. Lastly, the ending was VERY predictable and annoying in a way. It was as if the author just wanted to be done with the whole story.

    The pirate history was interesting indeed, but I felt that the book could have been longer and executed much better. Look at it this way...in a year, I won't even remember what this book was about.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    The idea behind this one was a new one to me, and I admit it intrigued me greatly. I think with the latest Pirates of the Caribbean coming out in 2011, HarperTeen probably has a hit on their hands.
    I thought Jill was a great character from the opening pages. She's dedicated to her sport and shows real discipline in it. I liked the fact that it was fencing because it was so appropriate to what happens to her. I enjoyed her character even more when she's transported back to the 18th century. She keeps her head on her shoulders, becomes part of the crew, and helps them overcome their own problems. When she's transported back to her own time, she takes the lessons she has learned with her.

    I also the pirate story. A female pirate captain with a heart was a great thought. But, the story has enough of an edge that you know this pirate ship is anything but typical. I liked how Jill was able to learn about the bad along with the good. Plus, it was great that the author included real pirates such as Blackbeard.

    The story seemed short, but well-rounded. It had the feel of a dream were the character wakes up at just the right moment. It was a fast read and I enjoyed it down to the last page!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Female Pirate Adventure!

    While other high school girls are cheerleaders or play volleyball, Jill Archer is sword fighting. Or fencing as it's called, and she's quite good at it. At least she thinks she is. Then Jill finds an old, rusty piece of sword sticking out of the sand during a family vacation and suddenly she is transported to a real life pirate ship! With no time to dwell on where she is and who these strangers are, Jill quickly adapts to life on the high-seas. But when a vindictive pirate begins to seek revenge on the crew she's with, will Jill finally get a chance to prove herself once and for all?

    This is my first Carrie Vaughn reading experience, and I was so pleased that I moved Voices of Dragons up the TBR pile, and put the forthcoming After the Golden Age on my purchase list! Steel was fun and kept me on the edge of my seat with adventure. At first I thought Jill was entirely too quick to accept her fate aboard the ship, but she was still a uniquely strong female character. She never complained about having to work as hard as the others or whined about not having her modern day comforts with her. I liked Captain Cooper too, as far as nurturing-type female pirates go. The battle scenes were vivid and not over-done. Carrie Vaughn was not afraid to get bloody, but kept it to a realistic amount, which I also appreciated. She manages to choose just the right amount of words for her descriptions, providing exactly what I want to read and not over doing it. Girls will love this book because of Jill's heroics. Guys will love this book for the awesome bilge-rat pirate action. I highly recommend you give it a try!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    A decent read, not well written.

    I bought this book for the pirates and the romance, and while i was more or less satisfied with the swashbuckling high seas adventure aspect, the romance was disapointing. There was no build up of emotions, just friends with benefits sort of. If ur a romantic, pass this one by. Also, alot of the characters actions were confusing because there was little to no reasoning for them. So..... ehhhh. It was okay

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was really entertaining with a fun plot & engaging

    This book was really entertaining with a fun plot & engaging characters that pull you into the story & make it hard to put the book down. I plan on reading more by this author, especially if she writes another book involving pirates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Metalclaw

    Stalks into the warriors den and lays down , thinking about his old life as a kittypet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I finally managed to read books from my own pile! And this read

    I finally managed to read books from my own pile! And this read was quick yet very exciting.
    1. Pirates. Yup, you heard right. Imagine Pirates of the Caribbean but with teens. Freaking awesome!
    2. Fighting. Lots of good fighting scenes that make your heart race. I simply adored every moment of the sword, the art of breathing in and out, taking note of every move that you make. Simply amazing.
    3. Crush. There really wasn’t a significant love interest but there was a crush that made the book much more adorable. I could tell just by their grins that being on the boat with them was going to be fun. Nothing  is ever boring.
    4. Pirate Talk. Let me tell you that talking like a pirate is harder than what I though. I tired talking like one for a while and instead found myself frustrated. The pirate talk is cool and it definitely inspire me to try something new for a while.
    5. Short. My only gripe is that the book is short. I long to go on another pirate adventure.  I want to be on the boat. See the waves crush against the ship. Scrub the deck.  I want to search for pirate booty and claim land!
    Steel is an awesome read! Fierce and action-packed, Steel takes the reader on pirate adventure you’d never forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    To Metalclaw

    Werent u just a kit?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Excuse me?

    The sample is 7 freaking pages long. My friend was reading this so I decided to too. Sample=ehma-no. The book seems dry from what I have heard. I hope it is good, it will cost me 6 bucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Anonymous

    I read this story in one day, and enjoyed the action of it. However, the 'romance' just isn't there. *SPOILER!* Basically, she kisses her shipmate Henry once and decides that she loves him or something. After their kiss, there was no development to the 'romance'. There was also no real climax to the story and when I finished the book, I felt kind of disippointed with the ending. Overall, it was an okay book but I will not remember this book and I would not read it again.aa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Not the caliber of her work for adults

    Interesting premise, the time slip of a young fencer into a pirate past. A little reminiscent of the Karate Kid (scrub that deck, you'll learn something) but its rather slow and short. The cover is great, the story simplistic. The technical details of life at sea and barnacle scraping appeared well researched but the thing reads like a textbook rather than an adventure. The short direct sentences and fragments that give the Kitty series its stream-of-consciousness immediacy do not work as well here and are a bit jarring and choppy, perhaps partly due to the lack of First Person perspective that makes it flow in Kitty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Great book

    I couldn't put this book down for a second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Great for fencers of all weapons!!!!

    As a competative sabre fencer myself, I absolutly loved this book! The decription of the feeling and presure of fencing was quite acurate, and the adventure was fast-pased and exiting! I wish that there were more books like this, staring fencers and our noble sport!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Not much of a sample..

    N..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Love it!

    Great book about how jill finds a six inch tip of an old sword thats magical and sends her back in time of the pirates... she falls in love with a pirate too... sge has a long well written adventure that makes you want to keep reading!get this book you wont regret it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Not a great read

    I felt it was way too rushed. A lot more storyline could have been added to make it better. It started off pretty good but definetly by the middle, it starts to lack. At the end youre just left unimpressed and wonder why you read it in the first place. I definetly became more intrigued by the cover. Its really the only good part of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Good read

    This is a fast-paced read. The heroine is very well developed, likable, and believable. As the main character is a fencer, the book uses many fencing terms that may be a little confusing, but there is a glossary of some of the terms in the back. I highly enjoyed this book and would strongly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    I liked the pirate adventue disappointed in the romance.

    This was a good book about pirates and dark magic fueled revenge but on the front it said there was romance in it. I was dissapointed thinking there would be a build up of a relationship between the two teens but the book doesn't do that so you are surprised when the end draws near.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Worth reading

    My second book by this author it was thrillimg and charming with action and plenty of good fights. The highly predictable ending does mothing to take away from the books appeal. The story line was a goodd one and full of interesting things aling the way. I felt that the book was a little short though and was hoping for a bit mire detail. It is a very fast paced story and although very descriptive three days pass by all on one page. Its just the stle. I enjoyed reading it butni pated $16 for the book edition so my advice isnget it in the nook it is cheaper. Other than that, beautiful cover art, beautiful story, worth your time for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Entertaining but predictable

    . The ending was predictable from about the 3rd chapter. It was good enough to keep me reading but lacking enough to make me feel cheated by the end. Not up to "Kitty's" standard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4