Customer Reviews for

The Steel Wave: A Novel of World War II

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    A superb history lesson and a great read to boot!

    I thrive on historical novels and Jeff Shaara is my favorite author in this respect. I was fascinated with The Rising Tide (the first in this trilogy) and thought it was the best historical novel I'd ever read. Rising Tide has been supplanted by Steel Wave. I found myself 'googling' time and again the real characters in this novel (Eisenhaer, Patton, Rommel, Montgomery, Bradley) to further expand my knowlege of what REALLY happened at Omaha Beach and Normandy. Can't wait for the last in this series. Then I hope Shaara takes on WW II in the Pacific Theater!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    It was like he was there!

    This book is a must read for all combat veterans. Jeff Shaara writes so close to reality it is as if this book is nonfiction! I have fought in two wars 'Korea and Vietnam' and felt goosebumps come as he entered the very soul of combat with his heart wrenching and sometimes heartwarming narrative that indeed tells it just like Master Sergeant Jack Vinson related WWII and his jump into St Mere E'Glise with General Ridgeway's troops. It was the motivation behind my asking MSG Vinson to be John Wayne's personal technical advisor during the filming of 'The Longest Day' during the early 60s in France.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good for those looking for a good read regarding the D-Day invasion

    I really like how Mr. Shaara focuses on a few characters involved in the D-Day invasion. This is from the infantrymen to the Commanding General. All had their problems and found unique ways to solve them. It was interesting to see the view from Eisenhower's desk and his thoughts about the people he had to deal with every day (Churchhill, Patton, Bradly, Montgomery, etc.).

    I am looking forward to the final chapter of the European part of this war and was delighted to see that he will be writing about the war in the Pacific also. No history of WWII would be complete without it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    Great Read

    I have read most of this author's books. Gods and Generals was excellant. This book and the second of the series, Steel Wave are excellant reads. I corresponded with the author and he said that the 3d of the series will be out in probably late summer of 2009 he hopes. Research on going and other works on going at this moment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    Historically accurate. Mesmerizing!

    Gift for husband. He was immersed in the book at once. Loved all the accurate history of WWII. Jeff Sharra can't be beat when it comes to wartime historical novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    If you like the rest of his books you will not be able to put this down. As always he gives a great point of view from both sides of the line. You can feel the emotion's of each charicter as if they were your own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Very good work on Normandy invasion

    I have to admit I'm a Shaara fan. This work was right up there with his other historical novels. I enjoy the way he brings the historical events to the reader through the eyes of those who were there. This one puts us in the middle of the Normandy invasion with insight into both sides of the battles.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    QUESTION HERE MUST KNOW ANSWER

    Is thus a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Author Jeff Shaara incorporates two real-life quotes in the earl

    Author Jeff Shaara incorporates two real-life quotes in the early pages of his World War II novel, "The Steel Wave", that help set the tone for their respective country's approach, aims and well-known results:




    "In war, there is no prize for runner-up." 
    U.S. General Omar Bradley




    "We Germans have far greater and more urgent duty towards civilization to perform...WE, like the Japanese, can only fulfill it by the sword. War is a biological necessity."
    Friedrich Von Bernhardi








    "Steel Wave" is the second in Shaara's World War II trilogy and it excites me on two levels. The first is that it's simply good story-telling. The plots move steadily and the battle 'ambience' is three-dimensional. The second is that Shaara's successfully managed to blend narrative and real-world history. I feel more knowledge about the time period, and my horizons are broadened, without feeling the damning weight of a very dense period in time.




    Shaara does a capable job of describing the vibes and aura of war and how it encapsulates an individual: the smells, the sites, the emotions. The fictional Jesse Adams, a paratrooper who's dropped behind the German lines on D-Day, and who made his first wartime jump in Shaara's 'The Rising Tide', is about to step into the airplane that will introduce he and his unit to this phase of World War II: "Across the field, the engines began to fire, a growing roar, and he put a hand out against the cold metal of the plane, and put his foot on the bottom step of the ladder. The engines had filled every space in his brain, no room for voices, for music or fears. He looked up, high overhead, and realized the sky had filled with stars. He stared for a brief moment -- cold perfection, vast emptiness -- then took another breath, touched the Thompson (machine gun) again, and pressed one hand against the reserve chute on his chest, and climbed up into the plane."




    D-Day is the center-point of the plot that provides focus for "The Steel Wave". The invasion at Omaha beach is told through the eyes of grunts on the ground (on both sides of the lines). The staccato narrative builds an undeniable tension, and evokes what can only be imagined for those of us who've never experienced something like it.




    Shaara has an eye for the resource management conflicts that must face any scaled wartime effort, and the personalities and relationships that often drive decision making. World War II had a full slate of big personalities, ranging from the overstated arrogance of Britain's General Montgomery to the brashly outspoken U.S. General Patton. Many of these personality 'difficulties' drive smaller elements of the stories' plot, but Shaara certainly conveys that unique individuals and their respective relationships gave General Eisenhower more than a few tightropes to walk.




    Through the stress and very real life-threatening fear that pervades the wartime experience, Shaara expresses how many soldiers could simply 'let go' even when given the chance. In an exchange with one of his men while recuperating in England, following 30 straight days in the field starting on D-Day, Adams discusses what's next:
    Unger nodded again. "Awful darned quiet in that barracks." He paused. "You think they''ll send us to France again? I really wanna go back, Sarge. I think I miss it." 
    Adams absorbed the words, saw the dark in Unger's eyes. 'That's it, kid. You miss it. So do I."




    Shaara's characterizations are not the strength of the book, but the plot and the seamlessly interwoven history and story-telling is was makes "Steel Wave" a terrific and edifying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    As always Mr. Shaara takes us to the battlefield and beyond. His

    As always Mr. Shaara takes us to the battlefield and beyond. His uncanny knack of telling the history and blending in the lives of his
    subjects makes this book very hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Great read

    The personal stories make the war come to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Great book for WWII buffs

    Enjoyed the read, the way the story was told. I've read 3 of 4 in the series in chronological order (by accident) and I have really enjoyed all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Enjoyable reading, Recommend for history buffs.

    Good reading, Trilogy takes you through World War II with a point of view from the generals, the enemy and the foot soilder. Great interesting reading and a new appreciation of what really happened. I feel I finally understand the horrible war it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    A great way to engage with the men who fought the War

    The book gives the reader a true since of men from both sides of WWII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    These are nice easy reads that I have enjoyed. Jeff has taken a very well known event and given you a sense of being there during the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Loved it

    I have read all his WWll books except The Final Storm and I am reading that now. Loved it. Would highly recommend all his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Good series

    Enjoying this series quite a bit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    "Gripping"

    This book was an unstoppable read from cover to cover. I am no history buff but could not put this book down. Shaara's vivid portrayal of the men, the battles and the Normandy Invasion give an experience to the reader of an historical event they could not have unless they had been there. A masterful achievement! I am ordering the other WWII books now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    A great read)!

    Although I have read a number of books on this aspect of WWII, I enjoyed this book the most. The detail ... the soliders... the pain... the victory...this is one of the great books about written about D-Day. I really felt like I was there - couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    The Steel Wave

    This book had a little more action than the first in the series. Again, too much general politics and strategy discussion and not enough action to my liking. I also thought there should have been a little more equal time in the action sections to get both German and Allied character views. Still a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5