Customer Reviews for

The Steel Wave: A Novel of World War II

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    A superb history lesson and a great read to boot!

    I thrive on historical novels and Jeff Shaara is my favorite author in this respect. I was fascinated with The Rising Tide (the first in this trilogy) and thought it was the best historical novel I'd ever read. Rising Tide has been supplanted by Steel Wave. I found myself 'googling' time and again the real characters in this novel (Eisenhaer, Patton, Rommel, Montgomery, Bradley) to further expand my knowlege of what REALLY happened at Omaha Beach and Normandy. Can't wait for the last in this series. Then I hope Shaara takes on WW II in the Pacific Theater!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    It was like he was there!

    This book is a must read for all combat veterans. Jeff Shaara writes so close to reality it is as if this book is nonfiction! I have fought in two wars 'Korea and Vietnam' and felt goosebumps come as he entered the very soul of combat with his heart wrenching and sometimes heartwarming narrative that indeed tells it just like Master Sergeant Jack Vinson related WWII and his jump into St Mere E'Glise with General Ridgeway's troops. It was the motivation behind my asking MSG Vinson to be John Wayne's personal technical advisor during the filming of 'The Longest Day' during the early 60s in France.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good for those looking for a good read regarding the D-Day invasion

    I really like how Mr. Shaara focuses on a few characters involved in the D-Day invasion. This is from the infantrymen to the Commanding General. All had their problems and found unique ways to solve them. It was interesting to see the view from Eisenhower's desk and his thoughts about the people he had to deal with every day (Churchhill, Patton, Bradly, Montgomery, etc.).

    I am looking forward to the final chapter of the European part of this war and was delighted to see that he will be writing about the war in the Pacific also. No history of WWII would be complete without it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    Great Read

    I have read most of this author's books. Gods and Generals was excellant. This book and the second of the series, Steel Wave are excellant reads. I corresponded with the author and he said that the 3d of the series will be out in probably late summer of 2009 he hopes. Research on going and other works on going at this moment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    Historically accurate. Mesmerizing!

    Gift for husband. He was immersed in the book at once. Loved all the accurate history of WWII. Jeff Sharra can't be beat when it comes to wartime historical novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    If you like the rest of his books you will not be able to put this down. As always he gives a great point of view from both sides of the line. You can feel the emotion's of each charicter as if they were your own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Very good work on Normandy invasion

    I have to admit I'm a Shaara fan. This work was right up there with his other historical novels. I enjoy the way he brings the historical events to the reader through the eyes of those who were there. This one puts us in the middle of the Normandy invasion with insight into both sides of the battles.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    QUESTION HERE MUST KNOW ANSWER

    Is thus a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    As always Mr. Shaara takes us to the battlefield and beyond. His

    As always Mr. Shaara takes us to the battlefield and beyond. His uncanny knack of telling the history and blending in the lives of his
    subjects makes this book very hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Great read

    The personal stories make the war come to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    A great way to engage with the men who fought the War

    The book gives the reader a true since of men from both sides of WWII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Loved it

    I have read all his WWll books except The Final Storm and I am reading that now. Loved it. Would highly recommend all his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Good series

    Enjoying this series quite a bit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    "Gripping"

    This book was an unstoppable read from cover to cover. I am no history buff but could not put this book down. Shaara's vivid portrayal of the men, the battles and the Normandy Invasion give an experience to the reader of an historical event they could not have unless they had been there. A masterful achievement! I am ordering the other WWII books now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    A great read)!

    Although I have read a number of books on this aspect of WWII, I enjoyed this book the most. The detail ... the soliders... the pain... the victory...this is one of the great books about written about D-Day. I really felt like I was there - couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Shaara makes history come alive

    His treatment of history through the eyes of individuals who were involved in the events makes the story much more meaningful. You can almost feel that you are a part of the event.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great historical fiction

    Shaara artfully blends "story" and "history". His novels about the Second World War brought that conflict to life as few books of fiction have. He now applies the same eye for character and detail to the period leading up to the Normandy Invasion. If you want a very readable refresher on that event, here's your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Epic

    This book is great. I read the first one not knowing anything about the author and was thrilled. I have read many good WWII books but none compare to this. The historical fiction content, although controversial is very accurate. I enjoyed every second of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    History with a twist

    In This secound book of three about World War II, Jeff Shaara takes the reader through the period leading up to D-Day throuth the breakout from the Normandy beaches. His novel uses actual historic facts, but as seen and experienced throth the eyes of fictional slodiers. This makes for a very readable book, but retains all the facts surrounding this time in history. For any World War II buff "The Steel Wave is a must.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    good

    A very thrilling edge of the seat book with twists and turns on every turn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4