Customer Reviews for

Steelheart (Reckoners Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Sanderson delivers as always!

Literary genius Brandon Sanderson is easily the best author of his time, comparable only to Patrick Rothfuss and a few other select modern writers. Steelheart, like all his books; is original, intelligent, and perfectly written. Sanderson doesn't jusy copy Tolkien or s...
Literary genius Brandon Sanderson is easily the best author of his time, comparable only to Patrick Rothfuss and a few other select modern writers. Steelheart, like all his books; is original, intelligent, and perfectly written. Sanderson doesn't jusy copy Tolkien or stick to the same recipe as other writers are content to do. Some may complain about the size of his novels but he has shown he can produce excellent work regardless of the number of pages in the book. Steelheart was an excellent read and i'd recommend it and all of Sanderson's works to anyone that can read. My only complaint is having to wait for book 2 of The Stormlight Archive series. Keep up the excellent work Brandon!

posted by 6223862 on September 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Green Embers' Recommended

I really enjoyed my time with this book. I wouldn’t say it is Brandon Sanderson’s greatest book but it was a fun ride. The main character has this quirky sense of humor and is really bad at metaphors (really bad). Brandon Sanderson has a million projects he is working o...
I really enjoyed my time with this book. I wouldn’t say it is Brandon Sanderson’s greatest book but it was a fun ride. The main character has this quirky sense of humor and is really bad at metaphors (really bad). Brandon Sanderson has a million projects he is working on and somehow managed to convince everyone to let him work on this. Listening to him talk about previous projects, he likes to take breaks and work on something different than he normally does. I would imagine it helps keep him grounded and this book has his familiar touch but is very different from his normal fantasy works. What if people in our world started developing super powers like from comics? How would that impact the world?

It is a theme I absolutely loved and the variation on the super power world. Epics totally turn the world upside down and tear everything apart. Does absolute power corrupt absolutely? I think there are some elements that really speak the truth, if normal people started getting powers could they overcome the temptation to abuse it? Brandon Sanderson always comes up with unique twists with the powers in his books and this one is no different. He manages to weave a fun tale and describes the unique twists in a natural way without overloading with info dumps.

While this is a very fun book and kept me up into the night reading there were a few things that annoyed me. The main character is supposed to be eighteen but he struck me as someone a bit younger, like 15 or 16. I think it was the more juvenile tone of this book, it just felt a little off. Actually that was the only thing that really annoyed me. One of my favorite characters is the Southern gentlemen who thinks he is a Scotsman. He was always going on about the wee demons powering technology but with a southern drawl.

In the end the book comes to a satisfying conclusion with the potential for more (which I already saw an advert for the second book coming out next year…). If you are looking for a fun read, with a good comic book feel to it then you will enjoy this book!

This book is on the Green Embers’ Recommended List!

posted by Green_Embers on October 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Sanderson delivers as always!

    Literary genius Brandon Sanderson is easily the best author of his time, comparable only to Patrick Rothfuss and a few other select modern writers. Steelheart, like all his books; is original, intelligent, and perfectly written. Sanderson doesn't jusy copy Tolkien or stick to the same recipe as other writers are content to do. Some may complain about the size of his novels but he has shown he can produce excellent work regardless of the number of pages in the book. Steelheart was an excellent read and i'd recommend it and all of Sanderson's works to anyone that can read. My only complaint is having to wait for book 2 of The Stormlight Archive series. Keep up the excellent work Brandon!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Amazing

    For a "young adult" novel this book never felt like one. No punches were pulled and no character felt safe at any point. The prologue set the theme and the rest just followed expertly.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    I couldn't put this down. I could not put this down.

    I finished this in 15 hours and need more of it to read. What a grear idea turned to a great read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Sanderson is a great storyteller. I was sucked into the plot, an

    Sanderson is a great storyteller. I was sucked into the plot, and the suspense was so intense! Great action, a dash of romance, and an interesting twist on superheroes. Loved every page of it! :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Awsome Start

    I've never been disappointed by any of Brandon Sanderson's books and SteelHeart is no exception. The story is awesome and kept me guessing till the very end. If you've read any of Sanderson's books before you don't want to miss this one, and if your new to his stories go ahead and start here you won't be disappointed.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    SOOOOOO GOOD

    I can't even describe how I feel about this book! All I can is that it was fantastic and you should read it. Like now.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Awsome!

    JdgdvdhebdydvdyshdvdhxgsuskxjzkajnshdhdhssnjsbdhdjwJdbdjsjdh-no idea how to express how good this book is!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (Evil Laughter)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Great read

    Once I realized this was out I picked it up. Five hours later I put it down. I couldn't stop before the end. Now I have to wait I ntil the sequel comes out. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Author Brandon Sanderson creates an awe inspiring journey in Ste

    Author Brandon Sanderson creates an awe inspiring journey in Steelheart. He has left me hanging on the edge of my seat waiting for the next book. Brandon Sanderson is an amazing writer who leaves many speechless.




    The Prologue is very powerful, with David’s childhood coming into the story early. The Reckoners taking down fortuity was very impressive. I believe that how they killed the illusionist trying to get back David’s notes on Epics was very important to the story. David figuring out Nightweilders weakness and using his ability to improvise was amazing.  The way they figure out how to take down Steelheart and going in blindly takes guts.




    My favorite parts were the Prologue and the fight between the Reckoners and Steelheart. The Prologue led David to spend his whole life planning to kill Steelheart. The fight between the Reckoners and Steelheart was full of action and surprise. I do not think there was one part of the book I did not enjoy to the fullest.




    Pure action and adventure are four words to describe Steelheart. Brandon Sanderson yet again impresses me with his work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Storytelling at its best!

    Calamity - what happens to society when those suddenly endowed with superhero powers begin to use those powers to destroy governments, kill innocents, and set themselves up as lords and rulers of their own new kingdoms? From the gripping prologue with its bankrobbery gone bad, as viewed from the eyes of the eight year old witness, the story shifts to a decade later, showcasing the few resistance fighters, known as Reckoners, who dare to kill Epics, and packs its pages with action that takes twists and turnes while building to the final confrontation. There is a gritty reality to Newcago. We're immersed in its alternative world, and bound to its characters. There's wry humor in the bad metaphors espoused by David, but also in how each Reckoner character struggles to adjust in a changed world, amidst the stress of guerrila warfare. Amidst this young adult sci fi adventure there are multitudes of hidden gems for thought-provoking conversations. What's right and wrong? When does the result justify the means? When is it better to walk away from a fight? What are the consequences of each choice made? What does it take to really cause a change in society? Do religion or philosophical beliefs help? Ultimately, what is love and who are the real heros? These are complex characters, and good storytelling at its best. This one earns five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    I loved this book! Brandon Sanderson has been one of my favorite

    I loved this book! Brandon Sanderson has been one of my favorite authors for a while now, and I feel that Steelheart is one of his best! The plot of this story is an original, the superheroes are all bad! I feel that this show a good example of how power corrupts, and what happens when someone feels that they are "above" the law. In the book, there is only one group of people still fighting against the Epics, and that is the Reckoners. This is the group that David will stop at nothing to join, in order for him to find revenge against an Epic named Steelheart, who killed his father 10 years ago. This story is told masterfully, with a lot of action, and some incredible details. I couldn't stop reading this book until I had finished it, and I have since read it again! For anyone who is looking for an exciting read, then this is the book for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    So good, and so interesting!

    I read this after another favorite author of mine (Patrick Rothfuss) reviewed it on his blog, and I was not at all disappointed. It was such an interesting and captivating world to dive in to. I'm not a huge fan of comics or superhero stories, but this book kind of turns that idea around and normal people are given super powers. Sanderson's writing style is unique. His detail and first person narrative makes it an easy and compelling read. I'll definitely be reading the rest of this series. I plan on reading more of his work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    I couldnt put it down

    Awesome. A gripping twist on a popular theme, Steelheart is a masterwork tapestry of colorful characters, really evil villans and not one single damsel in distress. An unpredictible plot ices this amazing novel and the excellent writing makes it all the more compelling. A book everyone should read and anyone who has ever dreamed of being an action hero can relate to. I can not wait for the movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Movie

    Steelheart is in talks for being adapted into a film.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Great read

    Sanderson tells a story with characters that draw you in with them. He does it right. This is a story that I will keep on hand for another day to reread. Yes, now that I read it, I know how it ends, the twists and turns of the plot, but I know I will enjoy it again a few years down the road when I want to refresh my memory. I can't say that of many of the books I have read lately, which will either go into my archives or in the trash. This one stays in my library. Thank you Brandon Sanderson!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Great

    It's a fun ride. Cool premise. Good mix of charaters. My only complaint is that I wish it was just a bit longer.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    I want more. GIVE ME MORE!

    This is only the second book of this author that I have read, but Steelheart will not be the last. I loved the human characters in this book as well as the plot twists introduced in the story. I want to read more of Sanderson's work now, I just wish I didn't have to wait until fall 2014 for the sequel to this book. Until then, I'll have to catch up on his other works.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    Great story by Brandon Sanderson! Definitely cannot wait for the

    Great story by Brandon Sanderson! Definitely cannot wait for the next one to come out. Keep up the good work!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2015

    Great start to the series

    I have now read all the books in this series and I can personally say I enjoyed every second of it. It is an easy book to get into and will keep you reading till the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2015

    Awesome

    This book exceeded my expectations by a colossal amount. The action was intense and the resolution is one that I will never forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7