BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Steinbrenner: The Last Lion of Baseball

Average Rating 3.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    A Mets fans take

    Mr. Steinbrenner should be looking down and thanking Stick Micheal for creating the illusion that made George agreat owner. Yes he always spent money, however most times it was impulsive, excessive and not well thought out. Steinbrenners second suspension from the game, which was lauded by the majority of Yankees fans, gave Stick the opportunity and patience to develop young players, something George never had the stomach for. This allowed the team to groom young talents like Jeter, Rivera, Bernie Williams, Posada and Pettite. Without the suspension the Boss may have sent Jeter and Rivera to another club for a fading, former star. We will never know. But we do know George is viewed more saint than sinner by his clubs fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best on the Boss

    Bill Madden's biography of Steinbrenner is a thorough, impartial, hard-fact, well-researched book that gives great insight into the magical, confusing mind of George Steinbrenner. Not only does Madden paint a painstaking portrait of Steinbrenner, he frames his research with in-depth observations from the people who surrounded Steinbrenner. It's interesting to read this and then, before or after, read the Torre book, to get two different perspectives on what happened between Steinbrenner and Torre during those years. Madden does a good job of explaining much of Steinbrenner's psyche by delving into his early boyhood and his difficult relationship with his father. A great, easy, interesting book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Great look into a wild history!

    Having grown up towards the end of George's era this book gave me great insight into the team i greatly love. Definitely explains the foundation of the yankees organization we see today. Overall great read. I reccomend it to every yankee fan out there who wants to truly understand yankees history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Disappointment!

    Very disappointed this book had to end, the best sports book i ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Last Lion or Last Lunatic?

    The sub-title The Last Lion of Baseball is a bit misleading. This is not a laudatory biography of Steinbrenner. The book is an expanded, updated version of Dammed Yankees, a book Madden co-authored with Moss Klein (and by the way, a hilarious account of the first George era). Although the book is never less than interesting, I finished it wishing Madden had mixed more analysis with his anecdotes. Was Steinbrenner good or bad for baseball? Did he fatally alter the competitive balance of the game? Would the Yankees have been more or less successful without his meddling? Hopefully someone will write a biography putting him in the context of modern sports. Steinbrenner The Last Lion will be valuable source material for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of the Greatest Bi-Polar Personalities in History!

    Having been a Yankee fan going back to the CBS days, this book was definately a trip down memory lane. Maddon was lucky to get copies of Gabe Paul's taped memoirs post-mortem to document a lot of the back scenes details of Steinbrenner's years from trying to purchase the Indians through the turbulant 70's as Yankee owner. Maddon, only started covering the Yankees himself during the late 70's. As a Yankee fan it is great to have been insulated from the man who treated all his employees like doormats and then would act like nothing had happened. He would go on tirades and see how he was perceived by the press and if something came out bad he would make one of his staff take the blame. Steinbrenner could have been the best thing that every happened to selling more Tylonal and Rolaids as most of his employees were taking them regularly and many developed stomach and nerve issues. Through it all, the Yankees were successful when Steinbrenner was "hand-off." His two year suspension during the early 90's was what helped the Yankees start to build the dynasty that ruled later that decade. Surely had he not, Jeter, Williams, Pettitte and Rivera would have been trade bait for another over the hill veteren player. Steinbrenner seemed to have an affinity for those who had fallen to drugs and alcohol (Art Howe, Billy Martin, Doc Gooden, Darryl Strawberry). He would fire people than feel bad and call them up and try to unfire them. He did many underhanded and under the table types of deals, possibly bribing politician and feeding them undisclosed contributions to obtain favors for his shipbuilding company and some of his Yankee deals. With the MSG TV deal and later the launching of the YES Network, Steinbrenner helped make the Yankees the first Billion dollar baseball team. He is one of the few owners who didn't mind sharing revenue with other teams as long as he could help his own team get something favorable. After reading this book, I have my doubts as to whether he should be in the Hall of Fame but he is too unique and influential to not be remembered as possibly the most well-known sports owner in history. This book was difficult to put down and some of the things that are described may make your head spin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    This book gives you moment to moment views of the most complex man ever in sports. Bill Madden allows the reader to be "a fly on the wall" in many conversations you cannot or will not believe in is book.
    I suggest this book anyone who loves the Yankees or sports in general, you will not be disappointed one bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    No Surprises Here. Hilarious. Great read.

    I loved this book at a time where practically nothing holds my attention. This story substantiates every last suspicion about George. His behavior was so outrageous that it defies imagination. One could not act so ridiculously if every last ounce of effort was put into it. One might conclude that there was a clever method to his madness. I don't think so. I think it was just George being George.

    Best example when Yank Prez Rosen called "heads" and lost the coin flip to decide where the 78 playoff with Boston would be held. Steinbrenner, upon hearing, scream, "You called what? Heads? You f'in imbecile. How in the hell could you call heads, when any dummy knows tails comes up 70% of the time".

    Quintessential George. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding

    My years as a Yankee fan have coincided almost directly with the number of years they've been owned by Steinbrenner - so nothing here was groundbreaking news for me. Nevertheless, Madden simply did a great job of giving readers an inside look of the man - the good, the bad and the ugly. Great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6