Customer Reviews for

Stella Bain

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

An interesting look at memory loss. I received a free copy of t

An interesting look at memory loss.

I received a free copy of this book from a Goodreads, First Reads giveaway in exchange for my honest opinion.

Stella Bain is an American woman who is found wandering in an exclusive garden in London in 1916. She only has memories go...
An interesting look at memory loss.

I received a free copy of this book from a Goodreads, First Reads giveaway in exchange for my honest opinion.

Stella Bain is an American woman who is found wandering in an exclusive garden in London in 1916. She only has memories going back a few months. Surgeon August Bridge and his wife Lily selflessly take her into their home and try to help her regain her memory.

The premise of this story is very good. The slow development of the main character as well as the revelations of her past intrigued me.

The problem that I did struggle with was it was written in the third person. Yet whenever it went into a long period of dialogue it seemed odd to me, like it had an uneven flow to it. I’m not sure if it switched from the third person or not. It just felt awkward.

I do recommend this book based on the quality of the storyline. The distraction from the third person presentation/dialogue issue is the reason that I only give it 4 stars.

posted by Bookworm_Debbie on November 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I always look forward to Anita Shreve's new book and usually rea

I always look forward to Anita Shreve's new book and usually read it in a day, as I did this one. It grabbed me from the beginning
- a good story of a lost woman and how she comes around to finding out who she is. I did not like the last part of the book .
I feel like ...
I always look forward to Anita Shreve's new book and usually read it in a day, as I did this one. It grabbed me from the beginning
- a good story of a lost woman and how she comes around to finding out who she is. I did not like the last part of the book .
I feel like the last part was just a series of long sentences used to tie it all together and let you know what happens to the
characters. I liked the story line, loved Stella Bain but was disappointed in how it came together in the end. 
I will still look forward to the nest book but this one will not be my favorite.

posted by 5148398 on November 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    An interesting look at memory loss. I received a free copy of t

    An interesting look at memory loss.

    I received a free copy of this book from a Goodreads, First Reads giveaway in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Stella Bain is an American woman who is found wandering in an exclusive garden in London in 1916. She only has memories going back a few months. Surgeon August Bridge and his wife Lily selflessly take her into their home and try to help her regain her memory.

    The premise of this story is very good. The slow development of the main character as well as the revelations of her past intrigued me.

    The problem that I did struggle with was it was written in the third person. Yet whenever it went into a long period of dialogue it seemed odd to me, like it had an uneven flow to it. I’m not sure if it switched from the third person or not. It just felt awkward.

    I do recommend this book based on the quality of the storyline. The distraction from the third person presentation/dialogue issue is the reason that I only give it 4 stars.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In the novel, Stella Bain, author Anita Shreve takes us back int

    In the novel, Stella Bain, author Anita Shreve takes us back into the turbulence of World War I, the declining Edwardian era, and the gender restrictions imposed on women. This absorbing story is about a young woman who worked as an ambulance driver in France. She is discovered shell-shocked and suffering from amnesia; all she can tell anyone is that her name is Stella Bain. But is it? Day by day, as Stella begins to heal, tiny recollections of memories, of locations, of names, flash into her mind. Determined to answer the questions of her past, she is compelled to unravel the secrets of her past, who she really is, and where she came from. What follows is a compelling, engrossing mystery.




    The novel embraces strong topics such as post-traumatic stress syndrome, especially as it affected women at the time, the rights of women and societal expectations and norms, while delivering a poignant love story of pain and loss and healing.  




    Anita Shreve excels at drilling down deep into the human spirit, of unleashing great emotion, and all while telling a riveting story. This is very much a character driven novel, but it also has a touching mystery at its roots that definitely keeps the reader turning the pages. I highly recommend this novel for anyone wishing to cozy up to a deep, insightful story of ultimate triumph. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    I always look forward to Anita Shreve's new book and usually rea

    I always look forward to Anita Shreve's new book and usually read it in a day, as I did this one. It grabbed me from the beginning
    - a good story of a lost woman and how she comes around to finding out who she is. I did not like the last part of the book .
    I feel like the last part was just a series of long sentences used to tie it all together and let you know what happens to the
    characters. I liked the story line, loved Stella Bain but was disappointed in how it came together in the end. 
    I will still look forward to the nest book but this one will not be my favorite.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Slow reading

    Bought this book because of the author. Very slow moving. Story about a woman who loses her memory during her time as a nurse in ww I. The charactets were not well developed. Lots of loose ends. Disappointing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    A disappointing book

    I have loved all of Anita Shreve's books, but Stella Bain was disappointing. It ended very abruptly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Not Shreve's best

    I felt that this was a premise that Shreve did not have the commitment to develop. The ending was weak.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    I listened to this book as I was driving on vacation. The book's

    I listened to this book as I was driving on vacation. The book's story captured me right away. I will recommend the book to my book club for next year.

    As others have said, the ending came with some surprise on my part. I was anxious to find out, but then disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Not impressed. This is the first book I've read by Anita Shreve

    Not impressed.

    This is the first book I've read by Anita Shreve and it will probably be the last. I didn't care for her style of writing. It was stiff and at times seemed more like an outline rather than a story. There were also a number of places where the story would jump from one topic to another without any clue as to the transition or rationale. The story concept was good, but just didn't arrive in my view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    So disappointed

    Stilted and boring. What a disappointment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Only 200 pages, yet cost $11.99

    Really enjoyed reading this book. Written quite well. I was disappointed that the book was only 200 pages, yet cost $11.99. I wasn't aware of this at the time of purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Very thought provoking

    Shreves work is always compelling and a poetic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    interesting book overall

    Stella Bain by Anita Shreve is an interesting book that holds your attention. In it the author tells the story of a woman who loses and regains everything life holds precious to her. However, it is almost too difficult to believe the situations the woman finds herself in given the period in history the book supposedly takes place. For this reason, I gave the book 4 instead of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    To author and all

    Lov it a bit short but awesome! Read my fanfic at 'mark' result one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Silverwish's Secret Prologue

    A kit stumbles around in the forest blind. Her eyes are not yet open. Something hits her and she is knocked out. She wakes up in a den, but this was no ordinary den. It was a fox den she knew that smell very well her mother had taught her. A fox looks at the kit "You are awake" she barks softly. The kit looks at the fox in horror. "It is okay little one" the fox murmers. " My name is Spark". The kit relaxes. "Do you have a name?" Spark asks. The kit shakes her head. "Well then you need one." "What about Silverkit for your silver colored pelt?" The kit nods "I like it" she mews.---------- Please comment

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    Interesting read

    I always read Anita Shreve's new books. "Stella Bain" is very good, but not in the great category, of which I know Shreve is capable of. You definitely want to keep reading once you start, but it's not totally riveting. I like the historical info about WWI, much of which I didn't know too much about. The characters are likable but don't get into your heart and soul the way Shreve has done with characters in other books she has written. Please write more, Anita!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    recommended

    This was an easy, quick book to read. It was interesting that women suffered shell shock from WW1 just like the men did. It was interesting the way they treated her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Very Good

    Not Anita best book, but worth reading because of the time period it is written about. I have read many of her books and have loved all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Interesting

    Though not a page turner, this story kept my interest. Anita Shreve is a fairly consistant author who always delivers an interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    A good read

    Stella is a good read but not "stellar" like some novels by Shreve. It's good for people who like history, especially history of WWI, and for those who enjoy a psychological plot. And, yes, there is the customary "twist" at the end. But for me, there are a few too many "coincidences" or too facile changes in characters. I somewhat doubt the ending of the story, too, based on knowledge of mores in the 20's. Can't say more as I don't want to give anything away. For me, it was an easy read and so relaxing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended as it deals with PTSD in a differnet way than we would imagine.

    Shreve does it again by holding the interest of the reader in you must come back for more...I need to know what happens next. Then she tells you what happened 2 years ago and comes back to what happens next. The ending is surprising but then in reflection totally understandable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2