Customer Reviews for

Step on a Crack

Average Rating 4
( 415 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

suspenseful, touching drama

Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wo...
Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wondering if there is any limit to the evil of the criminals.

Interwoven in the fabric of the crime drama is the human story of the lead detective. Patterson causes the reader to feel the pains of the family crisis which the detective must endure while negotiating with the crimimals. The story is so touching it brings the reader to tears. I found the love expressed between the detective and his wife a true romance, though not the kind of sizzling, hot descriptions of sex one finds in so many novels today, but the tender love between two persons married for years and bound by memories and children.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes crime drama, and of course to anyone who likes Patterson. I read a lot of crime drama and mystery, and I found it the kind of book the reader doesn't want to put it down, or in the case of the audio book, doesn't want to turn it off.

posted by akflygal on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Patterson is not at his Best!

In general the story starts off with the death of Caroline Hopkins, a former First Lady and her funeral is attended by the cream of the crust, consisting of the most influential and wealthiest individuals at the Saint Patrick's Cathedral. Unfortunately, a group of men t...
In general the story starts off with the death of Caroline Hopkins, a former First Lady and her funeral is attended by the cream of the crust, consisting of the most influential and wealthiest individuals at the Saint Patrick's Cathedral. Unfortunately, a group of men take them hostage and will do anything to meet their private objectives. I thought Mr. Patterson developed the hostage characters very well. He had a knack for dropping little traits about these characters until after awhile I found myself really caring about what will happen to these people.

Enter Michael Bennett, a detective for NY Police Department, and he is forced into the role of negotiator. Meanwhile, his personal life is in turmoil. His beloved wife is terminally ill with cancer and he is left caring for their ten children. Ten Children? Yes that's correct 10 children! At this point I thought Patterson was strettttching the Brady Bunch a bit too much to enhance the devotion of this character, but I read on. As I read on I found that Patterson was able to weave Michael's love for his wife, Maeve, and their children into many sensitive, believable scenes. There was Michael dealing with the chaos at home, while at the same time dealing with the hostage situation. Still I couldn't connect to this super father and hero.

STEP ON A CRACK by James Patterson is good read, but not a super read. The characters a little exciting but I had wished that there was a good dose of some thriller scenes. If you want an easy read then I recommend this book.

posted by kcarter25 on December 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 418 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    suspenseful, touching drama

    Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wondering if there is any limit to the evil of the criminals.

    Interwoven in the fabric of the crime drama is the human story of the lead detective. Patterson causes the reader to feel the pains of the family crisis which the detective must endure while negotiating with the crimimals. The story is so touching it brings the reader to tears. I found the love expressed between the detective and his wife a true romance, though not the kind of sizzling, hot descriptions of sex one finds in so many novels today, but the tender love between two persons married for years and bound by memories and children.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes crime drama, and of course to anyone who likes Patterson. I read a lot of crime drama and mystery, and I found it the kind of book the reader doesn't want to put it down, or in the case of the audio book, doesn't want to turn it off.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Series

    I just finished this and it was a great read. There was a compelling mix of family and crime drama. From the warm, quirky, large family of Mike; to the sadistic, chilling calculation of the villains of the story. Lots of twists that kept me glued. The ending was both satisfying and sad. It leaves me looking forward to reading the next book and seeing what happens with the family, and of course, Mike's next big case.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Touching and Thrilling

    James Patterson does an excellent job of gripping the reader and keeping you turning the pages. But the characters and plot can be so heartwarming at times.... it's ingenious for Patterson to entwine a plot so warm with a murder mystery. Kept me turning the pages.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Patterson's Step on a Crack Will Blow You Away

    This book launches a new detective character from Patterson. Detective Michael Bennett starts off his tale receiving a phone call to go negotiate a hostage crisis. Bennett is the father of 10 adopted children. Bennett's wife falls victim to cancer leaving him to raise a multicultural family and somehow keep New York's criminal base at bay. <BR/>I'd highly recommend this book as it is quick paced, well written, packed with adventure, and full of the James Patterson goodness you can expect.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    Step On A Crack Review

    Step On A Crack by James Patterson is an amazing, action-packed book. This book will keep readers busy for hours. This book is about Detective Michael Bennett, a father of ten adopted children, who has to save thirty-four billionaire, politician, and superstar hostages held by a mastermind hijacker. During troubled times, Detective Michael Bennett has to care for his sick wife, who has been fighting a terrible disease for many years, care for his ten heartbroken children, and try to peacefully negotiate with the mastermind hijacker.<BR/> The setting takes place in modern day New York City, one of the busiest cities in America. Detective Michael Bennett, who serves in the New York Police Department, is having a regular day until a phone call. He soon finds out that thirty-four people have been taken hostage during the First Lady¿s funeral. Now he has to negotiate with the mastermind hijacker and do this responsibly to not get anyone killed, especially the hostages.<BR/> The novel starts off when the First Lady is killed while having a celebratory dinner with her husband. During the funeral, many famous people attend the gloomy funeral. While the funeral is progressing, hijackers dressed as monks arrive with weapons and hijack the cathedral along with thirty-four superstars. As the situation becomes more uncontrollable the NYPD calls the top-notch detective Michael Bennett for help. As the story continues both the hostage situation and Michael Bennett¿s life unfolds.<BR/> Step On A Crack is by far one of the best books I have ever read. Since I¿m not much of a book person, books are not so interesting to me. This book in particular caught my attention and I read all of it. If I liked this book, I¿m sure other readers will like it too. The character in the books are awesome, the plot is super cool, and the action is like from a movie. For anyone like me, read this book because it is worth reading.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!

    I own the book and I read it in two weeks, it would of been much sooner but needed to attend my kids and sleep. When I read the book every chapter was so vivid in my mind I was actually visualizing what I read. Couldn't put it down can't wait to read the next two books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Highly Recommended

    An excellent, captivating, page-turner of a story recommended for anyone who loves thrillers - especially that take place in NYC. Looking forward to the rest of the Michael Bennett series by James Patterson. You gotta love Bennett!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bland hero + bad resolution = bad book!

    As I started to write this I was planning on giving it three stars and as I read through all the things that I didn't like about the novel I realized that three were too many stars. Patterson has often thrilled me with both the Alex Cross and Women's Murder Club series but this introduction to ridiculously bland Michael Bennett is too boring to care about. Where Alex Cross is interesting, Bennett's situation, not personality is interesting. The detective's abilities a crime solving are suspect sense this was solved by nothing more than a ludicrous whim and conjecture from an almost non-existent character. The there is the twist connection to the case which had little to no impact. Bennett's family, which should be ample ground for drama is anything but. Also, the inclusion of fictional celebrities that clearly have real world counterparts are on the nose where you can't help but think of them. Its lazy writing. Overall, there might be a good heist/caper story here but readers might've been better of seeing the story take place through the bad guys' eyes. I might read the next in the series because of Patterson's past reputation and it'll be such a quick read but this is not a good book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It was okay...

    This book was okay. I got it as an audiobook and it was my first audiobook. I just didn't like the story line. The death of his wife was truly sad and your heart just went out to him. I am glad I read the second book and recently the third because I would have missed out on some great books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Exciting, but not Patterson's best!

    I enjoyed this book, but it seemed to drag on and on. I am a Patterson fan and love his Alex Cross series. Looking forward to reading Tic Toc...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Patterson is not at his Best!

    In general the story starts off with the death of Caroline Hopkins, a former First Lady and her funeral is attended by the cream of the crust, consisting of the most influential and wealthiest individuals at the Saint Patrick's Cathedral. Unfortunately, a group of men take them hostage and will do anything to meet their private objectives. I thought Mr. Patterson developed the hostage characters very well. He had a knack for dropping little traits about these characters until after awhile I found myself really caring about what will happen to these people.

    Enter Michael Bennett, a detective for NY Police Department, and he is forced into the role of negotiator. Meanwhile, his personal life is in turmoil. His beloved wife is terminally ill with cancer and he is left caring for their ten children. Ten Children? Yes that's correct 10 children! At this point I thought Patterson was strettttching the Brady Bunch a bit too much to enhance the devotion of this character, but I read on. As I read on I found that Patterson was able to weave Michael's love for his wife, Maeve, and their children into many sensitive, believable scenes. There was Michael dealing with the chaos at home, while at the same time dealing with the hostage situation. Still I couldn't connect to this super father and hero.

    STEP ON A CRACK by James Patterson is good read, but not a super read. The characters a little exciting but I had wished that there was a good dose of some thriller scenes. If you want an easy read then I recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    James Patterson's books....

    This was an interesting book. It held my interest and I read through it rather quickly. I have enjoyed reading several of his books and would recommend them to anyone.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Very suspenseful

    Like all of James Patterson's series, I find this just as entertaining as the others. With all those kids, there's got to be a little humor and definitely a lot of drama. Michael Bennett series keep me wanting more....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    Highly recomment

    All Patterson books are fast, excellent reads. I especially like Michael Bennett. Need more of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    Rosie

    The Michael Bennett series are some of the best books I have read. You must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Chace

    *Follows.*(ok)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Jacen

    Bbl

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Raith

    *jumps from roof to roof*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    recommend

    Again Patterson is such a strong writer, so get the feelings of the characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Suki

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 418 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21