Customer Reviews for

Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 419 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(133)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

suspenseful, touching drama

Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wo...
Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wondering if there is any limit to the evil of the criminals.

Interwoven in the fabric of the crime drama is the human story of the lead detective. Patterson causes the reader to feel the pains of the family crisis which the detective must endure while negotiating with the crimimals. The story is so touching it brings the reader to tears. I found the love expressed between the detective and his wife a true romance, though not the kind of sizzling, hot descriptions of sex one finds in so many novels today, but the tender love between two persons married for years and bound by memories and children.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes crime drama, and of course to anyone who likes Patterson. I read a lot of crime drama and mystery, and I found it the kind of book the reader doesn't want to put it down, or in the case of the audio book, doesn't want to turn it off.

posted by akflygal on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Bland hero + bad resolution = bad book!

As I started to write this I was planning on giving it three stars and as I read through all the things that I didn't like about the novel I realized that three were too many stars. Patterson has often thrilled me with both the Alex Cross and Women's Murder Club series...
As I started to write this I was planning on giving it three stars and as I read through all the things that I didn't like about the novel I realized that three were too many stars. Patterson has often thrilled me with both the Alex Cross and Women's Murder Club series but this introduction to ridiculously bland Michael Bennett is too boring to care about. Where Alex Cross is interesting, Bennett's situation, not personality is interesting. The detective's abilities a crime solving are suspect sense this was solved by nothing more than a ludicrous whim and conjecture from an almost non-existent character. The there is the twist connection to the case which had little to no impact. Bennett's family, which should be ample ground for drama is anything but. Also, the inclusion of fictional celebrities that clearly have real world counterparts are on the nose where you can't help but think of them. Its lazy writing. Overall, there might be a good heist/caper story here but readers might've been better of seeing the story take place through the bad guys' eyes. I might read the next in the series because of Patterson's past reputation and it'll be such a quick read but this is not a good book.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on July 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 422 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Suki

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Wow

    Iove the book and love michael bennett

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    good book liked it

    i like the author but like some of his other nook books a lot of mixed up pages very frustrating!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Loved it

    I only wish they would do more with the michael bennet stories! I think they are all very thrilling and exciting. I also loved quickie, on the run and worse case

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Great Read

    If you enjoy a good detective novel Michael Bennett is your guy. After reading this novel you can't find a more warm and exciting character. I read this book last and am still a die hard fan, and an even bigger James Patterson fan. This story gets u from the beginning. Although a little emotional you can't help but root for detective Michael Bennett.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Another good read

    This is another great addition to a really good series! I am hooked. Don't pick it up because it's addictive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    One of the best

    Fast reading! Keeps you interested till the last page. I like that you never know the killer till the end. patter son's writing style is one that makes you want to read more. After reading this book I ordered the remainder of the books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Great read

    Read it in one day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    had to get entire series

    WOW love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Great Book

    This was a great book. This is a great start to another James Patterson series. Your heart goes out to Micheal Bennett and his family. James Patterson does a great job, using New York City as the backdrop of this book. This book is a great easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A NON-STOPPER FOR ME

    i COULDN'T BELIEVE THIS ONE. I PICKED IT UP (OK, UPLOADED IT INTO MY NOOK, IT EVEN ENCOURAGED ME TO BUY A CLIP ON LIGHT SO I COULD KEEP READING THIS ONE INTO THE NIGHT, LOL) AND ALL OF A SUDDEN IF I DIDN'T START TEARING UP BECAUSE OF "LITTLE PEEP", I WAS AMPED UP WITH THE RUSH OF WHAT ONE 24 HOUR DAY WAS FOR BENNETT. AND ON TOP OF ALL THAT, AT CHRISTMAS TIME TOO. I WAS ALREADY IN THE MIDDLE OF (WHICH I STARTED BEFORE "STEP ON A CRACK") 2 OTHER NOVELS, ONE BY LEE CHILD IN THE JACK REACHER SERIES AND A ROBERT CRAIS NOVEL CALLED THE WATCHMAN, THE FIRST IN THAT SERIES. I JUST WANT TO GIVE PROPS WHERE THEY ARE DO. MY DEAR MAN MR. PATTERSON, STEP ON A CRACK WAS WONDERFULLY WRITTEN, THANK YOU FOR THE ENTERTAINMENT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    Highly recommended.

    Keeps your attention. Hard to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    I love michael bennett

    Michael Bennett is themain character in this series I love this character. i love this series. very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    From the moment I read this book, it was very hard to put down. I captivated me instantly. At every page, you didn't know what was going to happen. I enjoy a book that I cannot predict. It was a thriller coupled with Det. Michael Bennett's family life which was an inspiration to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    love it!

    suspensful, romantic, thrilling. i read this book a couple times a year

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    How do you kidnap 30 plus people surounded by NYPD?

    Find out how it's done in Jams Patterson's Step on A Crack. The first book in the Mike Bennett series. Mike is a NYPD detective with ten kids and a sick wife. He has a very demanding job and has to balance coping with the criminals and raising a large family. His Irish preist of an uncle Seamus is around to bust his chops and help out when needed.
    This was a good quick read. I finished it in about a day. This is only one of four James Patterson books I have read. This is one of the two I can say I liked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great New Series!

    A very great challenge indeed! Hijackers have thirty some odd of the city's rich and famous held hostage in the seeminly impenetrable fortress of St. Patrick's Cathedral in New York City following a state funeral of the former first lady. Enter Mike Bennet, NYPD homicide detective and hostage negotiator. Read as he feverishly works to save the hostages, while at the same time, his cancerous wife is slowly slipping from his grips. The story will both keep you in suspense and tug at your heart strings. Thoroughly enjoyed. But, what else would you expect from James Patterson. Looking forward to more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    He got me again!!

    Okay, first he hooked me with his "Hide and Seek", and I had to read everything he had out at that time. Next it was the Alex Cross series. Then the Maximum series. Now, he'd done it again! THIS IS AN EXCELLENT READ!!! It combines all the very best of Patterson - multiple layered plot, lots of action, heroic but human main character, and wonderfully developed supporting characters. Engrossing, entertaining, and once again Excellent!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 422 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22