BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(133)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

suspenseful, touching drama

Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wo...
Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wondering if there is any limit to the evil of the criminals.

Interwoven in the fabric of the crime drama is the human story of the lead detective. Patterson causes the reader to feel the pains of the family crisis which the detective must endure while negotiating with the crimimals. The story is so touching it brings the reader to tears. I found the love expressed between the detective and his wife a true romance, though not the kind of sizzling, hot descriptions of sex one finds in so many novels today, but the tender love between two persons married for years and bound by memories and children.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes crime drama, and of course to anyone who likes Patterson. I read a lot of crime drama and mystery, and I found it the kind of book the reader doesn't want to put it down, or in the case of the audio book, doesn't want to turn it off.

posted by akflygal on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Bland hero + bad resolution = bad book!

As I started to write this I was planning on giving it three stars and as I read through all the things that I didn't like about the novel I realized that three were too many stars. Patterson has often thrilled me with both the Alex Cross and Women's Murder Club series...
As I started to write this I was planning on giving it three stars and as I read through all the things that I didn't like about the novel I realized that three were too many stars. Patterson has often thrilled me with both the Alex Cross and Women's Murder Club series but this introduction to ridiculously bland Michael Bennett is too boring to care about. Where Alex Cross is interesting, Bennett's situation, not personality is interesting. The detective's abilities a crime solving are suspect sense this was solved by nothing more than a ludicrous whim and conjecture from an almost non-existent character. The there is the twist connection to the case which had little to no impact. Bennett's family, which should be ample ground for drama is anything but. Also, the inclusion of fictional celebrities that clearly have real world counterparts are on the nose where you can't help but think of them. Its lazy writing. Overall, there might be a good heist/caper story here but readers might've been better of seeing the story take place through the bad guys' eyes. I might read the next in the series because of Patterson's past reputation and it'll be such a quick read but this is not a good book.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on July 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Forgettable

    It took me a while to get through this book. I found the whole family scenes quite boring; I don't pick up suspense-thrillers to read about somebody's warm and fuzzy family. The plot would have delivered had the climax not fell so flat. Anybody could have thought of that ending. This was my first JP book, now I'm nervous about spending money for the rest...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Disappointing Read

    Of the several books I've read by Patterson, this is the only one I chose not to finish. I thought the writing - especially the dialogue - was amateurish and cliche laden and the characters were caricatures. It doesn't measure up to other works I've read by Patterson and really falls short when compared to better mystery writers such as Paretsky and Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    don't understand his popularity

    First off, holding hostages in st patricks cathedral was done about 30 years ago by nelson demille. the line "smell you later" is lifted from the simpsons. one character was a former u.s. army soldier held captive in the hanoi hilton by the north vietnamese in 1969. problem is, the communists didn't exchange american pows till the paris peace accords in 73. and virtually all the prisoners were pilots, either navy or usaf. patterson turns books out one after another, and it shows in the lack of quality. don't know how he sells so many books, but i'm sure he's wealthy for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    Step On A Crack

    Step On A Crack by James Patterson is a story about Detective Michael Bennet, the father of 10 adopted children and the husband of wife named Maev who is sick. One day, he gets a call from his boss saying that hijackers have been taking down the first lady¿s funeral, which takes a place in the Cathedral church in New York. Hijackers have 34 hostages and do not mind to kill them to get what they want to get. Michael starts to negotiate with hijackers to save hostages. This book has 2 different stories: dealing with hijackers and his family situation. This book connects these 2 separate stories smoothly. This book is a warm, heart full and intense at the same time. Maev has a cancer and she loves her children. Children think that she will be okay and come back to them. Even when she dies to a cancer, they do not want to believe it. I liked this book but I questioned myself how they could pull this off. Because it is the first lady¿s funeral, there should be a lot of guards. Besides that it was terrific.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    Junk

    Nothing but junk writing. A waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    I've had enough of Patterson....

    How disappointing! I read through half the book in two hours, and decided to give up on it, and, for the first time in my life, stopped reading a book without finishing it. I think my days of reading Patterson are over, for the last few books I have read were weak and boring, very boring! His new books have lost all their excitement and reading appeal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    Worse Than Disappointing

    Boring, boring, boring! Don't waste your money. If James Patterson gets back to writing (alone!) more Cross novels I'll buy them, until then I'm through. Worst book I've picked up in a long time. No character development and no believability. Like I said-BORING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2007

    Leave it alone.

    There are millions of novels worth reading, classics and contemporary alike. Patterson wrote entertaining beach reads ten years ago, and I'll be the first to admit that Alex Cross dominated my reading list for a little while. But James Patterson's name is what sells his books now. All he has to do is put it in big bold letters and wait for a country waiting to escape to buy it. There are beautiful and daring and dark and grasping novels that are sitting on the shelves of book stores worldwide, but many will neglect them. I don't have to read this to know that James Patterson had little to do with the story. His books have grossed more than 1 billion dollars worldwide so that when you get home from work you have something to take your mind off of your boss, or the guy that expects you to laugh at the racist jokes he tells in the elevator, or a spouse that isn't the same. You have precious few hours of free time in your life. Don't let James Patterson's 'dopey thrillers', thrillers he no longer writes, take up any of it. Go to the book store and look for Charles Bukowski, for Douglas Coupland, for Matthew Stokoe. Look for Oscar Wilde, for Tom Robbins, and for Saul Bellow. There are works worth reading. But this, this just puts money in the pocket of a man who could buy a small country, but worse, hired others to write for him because he would rather be rich than heard.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2007

    Who's holding the pen?

    The early Patterson books were worth reading - now they don't even hold my attention. His touch is sadly missing in the latest Alex Cross, and in this stand alone novel. Me thinks money has become the driving force behind the writing, not the production of a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2