Customer Reviews for

Step on a Crack

Average Rating 4
( 414 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

suspenseful, touching drama

Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wo...
Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wondering if there is any limit to the evil of the criminals.

Interwoven in the fabric of the crime drama is the human story of the lead detective. Patterson causes the reader to feel the pains of the family crisis which the detective must endure while negotiating with the crimimals. The story is so touching it brings the reader to tears. I found the love expressed between the detective and his wife a true romance, though not the kind of sizzling, hot descriptions of sex one finds in so many novels today, but the tender love between two persons married for years and bound by memories and children.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes crime drama, and of course to anyone who likes Patterson. I read a lot of crime drama and mystery, and I found it the kind of book the reader doesn't want to put it down, or in the case of the audio book, doesn't want to turn it off.

posted by akflygal on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It was okay...

This book was okay. I got it as an audiobook and it was my first audiobook. I just didn't like the story line. The death of his wife was truly sad and your heart just went out to him. I am glad I read the second book and recently the third because I would have missed ou...
This book was okay. I got it as an audiobook and it was my first audiobook. I just didn't like the story line. The death of his wife was truly sad and your heart just went out to him. I am glad I read the second book and recently the third because I would have missed out on some great books.

posted by stunning on June 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bland hero + bad resolution = bad book!

    As I started to write this I was planning on giving it three stars and as I read through all the things that I didn't like about the novel I realized that three were too many stars. Patterson has often thrilled me with both the Alex Cross and Women's Murder Club series but this introduction to ridiculously bland Michael Bennett is too boring to care about. Where Alex Cross is interesting, Bennett's situation, not personality is interesting. The detective's abilities a crime solving are suspect sense this was solved by nothing more than a ludicrous whim and conjecture from an almost non-existent character. The there is the twist connection to the case which had little to no impact. Bennett's family, which should be ample ground for drama is anything but. Also, the inclusion of fictional celebrities that clearly have real world counterparts are on the nose where you can't help but think of them. Its lazy writing. Overall, there might be a good heist/caper story here but readers might've been better of seeing the story take place through the bad guys' eyes. I might read the next in the series because of Patterson's past reputation and it'll be such a quick read but this is not a good book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Couldn't Even Finish It

    I've read most of the Alex Cross Series by James Patterson. Jack and Jill was my favorite. I've also read most of the Woman's Murder Club Series. 1st To Die was my favorite in that series. I've also read Swimsuit and The Quickie, as a "stand alone" and both were excellent novels.
    Step On A Crack was NOT usual Patterson writing. Depth of character was lacking (Michael, his wife). The characters were very uninteresting. The plot was neither fast, original, off beat, thrilling or carefully thought out with the usual twists and turns. I couldn't even finish the book, it was just too boring and slow. I made myself get half way through the book (Page134, Chapter 41) before I put it down so that I could be fair in my review. I sure hope the Michael Bennett series doesn't replace the Alex Cross Series some day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    Another Repeat of a previous James Patterson book :(

    I am a huge JP fan but after starting yet another book with a previously used storyline, I am no longer such a fan. Step on a crack has the SAME beginning as an Alex Cross book, also written by JP. It is a little annoying to spend your money THINKING you will be getting a NEW book with a NEW story line, but this was not the case. I actually only read a few pages in and then stopped reading.

    If you haven't read any of the Alex Cross books, this will probably be a great book for you. But if you have, do not waste your money as I am sure you will ultimately end up as frustrated as I am.

    JP has repeated ALex Cross story lines in Womens Murder Club with the "wedding killers" story line being used in 2 different books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    Story line ok, but no depth to it. Such an easy read that you can skim it and still get the whole story. It doesn't make you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    What's happened to James?

    How disappointing?!? Very. This book travels a slow, flat, straight road from point A to point Z. I got to the end but it was a struggle. I do not care about Michael Bennett and I did not cry for Maeve because it was just so predictable. I will no longer spend any money on a Patterson book unless it is about Alex Cross. The end for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    Boring!!!

    Much like Pattersons last several books, this never gets going and is totally unbelieveable. It's time for Patterson to stop releasing so many books and get back to concentrating on quality instead of quanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    I read this book before... It's called Cathedral

    Wow, I'm glad I borrowed this one from the library. This book was so lousy I'm not even sure Patterson wrote any of it. Nelson Demille wrote the same kind of story 15 years ago. Instead of IRA terrorists taking over St. Patrick's Cathedral he uses disgruntled prison guards dressed like monks. Don't waste your time with this one. Read Cross instead. It was so much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    Step on a Crack lost its act

    Step on a Crack was not a page turner, but a page skipper. Patterson is a stand alone professional writer. When other authors are brought in, his style seems to change and the suspense diminishes severly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    Good Idea, Poor Execution

    In general, I liked the plot idea...well trained and confident bad guys execute the crime of the century with military (clue?)precision in the middle of downtown Manhattan while the NYPD hostage negotiator (Bennett) has more on his plate than a cast-a-way at a all-you-can-eat buffet. However, the execution has more holes than a block of baby Swiss. Way too much back story on Bennett (FYI, the synopsis indicates that his wife _has_ died when in actuallity, throughout most of the book, she is dying.) Unbelievably, there is no thought by the police to _not_ give the kidnappers the $73M they are asking for. Also, unbelievably, the cops seem to take everything the bad guys say at face value and there's no attempt to find out who these guys are. There are multiple clues as to the identity of the Neat Man...watch for them. In general, this is a pretty good introduction to a new character that I think may be a good one (Bennett) but it seems that Patterson and Ledwidge sat down and said 'Let's create a new character.' and the rest of the story was created with the sole purpose of doing that rather than letting the story introduce the character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    Patterson's Dud !

    Step On A Crack was the most disappointing Patterson I have read to date.The main character with his ten children & terminally ill wife, to me , were just over the top.The story line was contrived & completely unbelievable. Surely he must not have had much real input into this book.I realize he is now making a mint on each release , but he should go back to giving his readers quality instead of quantity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2007

    Not your best

    Just could not get into this book. Couldn t wait to get to the end. Never got better. Will wait for your next one to come out. Still like your style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    Where is the old James Patterson

    I have also read all of his books in order but the last few writing with some one else leave a lot to be desired. I much prefer the old style writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2