Customer Reviews for

Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 415 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

suspenseful, touching drama

Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wo...
Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wondering if there is any limit to the evil of the criminals.

Interwoven in the fabric of the crime drama is the human story of the lead detective. Patterson causes the reader to feel the pains of the family crisis which the detective must endure while negotiating with the crimimals. The story is so touching it brings the reader to tears. I found the love expressed between the detective and his wife a true romance, though not the kind of sizzling, hot descriptions of sex one finds in so many novels today, but the tender love between two persons married for years and bound by memories and children.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes crime drama, and of course to anyone who likes Patterson. I read a lot of crime drama and mystery, and I found it the kind of book the reader doesn't want to put it down, or in the case of the audio book, doesn't want to turn it off.

posted by akflygal on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It was okay...

This book was okay. I got it as an audiobook and it was my first audiobook. I just didn't like the story line. The death of his wife was truly sad and your heart just went out to him. I am glad I read the second book and recently the third because I would have missed ou...
This book was okay. I got it as an audiobook and it was my first audiobook. I just didn't like the story line. The death of his wife was truly sad and your heart just went out to him. I am glad I read the second book and recently the third because I would have missed out on some great books.

posted by stunning on June 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It was okay...

    This book was okay. I got it as an audiobook and it was my first audiobook. I just didn't like the story line. The death of his wife was truly sad and your heart just went out to him. I am glad I read the second book and recently the third because I would have missed out on some great books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Exciting, but not Patterson's best!

    I enjoyed this book, but it seemed to drag on and on. I am a Patterson fan and love his Alex Cross series. Looking forward to reading Tic Toc...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Patterson is not at his Best!

    In general the story starts off with the death of Caroline Hopkins, a former First Lady and her funeral is attended by the cream of the crust, consisting of the most influential and wealthiest individuals at the Saint Patrick's Cathedral. Unfortunately, a group of men take them hostage and will do anything to meet their private objectives. I thought Mr. Patterson developed the hostage characters very well. He had a knack for dropping little traits about these characters until after awhile I found myself really caring about what will happen to these people.

    Enter Michael Bennett, a detective for NY Police Department, and he is forced into the role of negotiator. Meanwhile, his personal life is in turmoil. His beloved wife is terminally ill with cancer and he is left caring for their ten children. Ten Children? Yes that's correct 10 children! At this point I thought Patterson was strettttching the Brady Bunch a bit too much to enhance the devotion of this character, but I read on. As I read on I found that Patterson was able to weave Michael's love for his wife, Maeve, and their children into many sensitive, believable scenes. There was Michael dealing with the chaos at home, while at the same time dealing with the hostage situation. Still I couldn't connect to this super father and hero.

    STEP ON A CRACK by James Patterson is good read, but not a super read. The characters a little exciting but I had wished that there was a good dose of some thriller scenes. If you want an easy read then I recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Hmm

    I have enjoyed past work better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    How do you kidnap 30 plus people surounded by NYPD?

    Find out how it's done in Jams Patterson's Step on A Crack. The first book in the Mike Bennett series. Mike is a NYPD detective with ten kids and a sick wife. He has a very demanding job and has to balance coping with the criminals and raising a large family. His Irish preist of an uncle Seamus is around to bust his chops and help out when needed.
    This was a good quick read. I finished it in about a day. This is only one of four James Patterson books I have read. This is one of the two I can say I liked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    thiller

    good for rainy days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good ...

    I read it in 2 Days, it was a very good read. I was love the characters of Michael Bennet's Family, I love Grandpop Seamus. the Plot was a little bland but it did have the twist I didn't see coming. Over like I said a very good read. I would recommend to someone else who like Alex Cross Novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    A little slow going.

    One could tell that it was a starter to a series. It closely resembled the Alex Cross series but not as gripping. I plan on reading more with the expectation that I can get into the characters more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    James Patterson introduces us to a new character with STEP ON A CRACK, NYPD Homicide Detective Michael Bennett. A former hostage negotiator, Bennett finds himself once again dealing with psychopaths when the celebrities attending former First Lady Caroline Hopkins' funeral are held hostage. <BR/><BR/>I have to say that the actual meat of the story, the hijacking of St. Patrick's church and its funeral-attending creme de la creme of society, was an intriguing storyline. What weighed the story down, at least for me, was that fact that Michael Bennett wasn't a character I could easily relate to. <BR/><BR/>It isn't the fact that his wife, Maeve, is dying of cancer, or even that they have ten adopted children. It's not Maeve's seemingly long-lost cousin, Mary Catherine, who shows up out of the blue to serve as the couple's au pair. It's not even Michael's grandfather, the crusty yet heart-of-gold Irish priest. No, the problem is that all of these characters, who could have made the story emotional and heartbreaking, seem to do nothing more than serve as filler. <BR/><BR/>The ten children are interchangeable. Mary Catherine could be nominated for the sainthood. And Seamus, the grandfather, could be any number of wise-cracking old codgers from one of today's sitcoms. <BR/><BR/>I'll read the next Bennett book when it comes out, mostly out of the hope that the secondary storyline will be as compelling as the main plot. We'll have to see. For fans of Patterson, this is one you'll want to read, but I'd advise checking it out from the library before plunking down the cold hard cash to purchase it in hardcover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Fun...but that's about all

    This is a fun, fast read but as with other recent Patterson et al. offerings, is quite preposterous. An overly sentimental subplot involving a mother of ten dying of cancer on Christmas Eve threatens to derail the novel completely. The premise of the story involving celebrities & politicians locked in St Patrick's Cathedral and being held for ransom had great comic/satirical potential which was mostly wasted and never well developed. Not a bad way to spend a long plane ride or a lazy day at the beach but not a particularly rewarding one either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    I've read better Patterson

    It was an easy read. He has written better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    I love all of Patterson books. But I feel that he writes better by himself. I was disappointed with the ending and it lost me at times, but I just love his books. I read them in one night. Can't wait to read his newest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    okay, but not his best

    I've read all of Patterson's work. This was a 3 hour read. It had very underdeveloped characters as well as an uncomplicated plot. Okay for a no brain poolside or beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Fast-Paced- Poor ending

    I also read this book in 3 hours. I think the two page chapters makes the read faster. There were a few good moments in this book but it didn't live up to Pattersons best. I find that Patterson stays away from too much detail which makes it easy to read but with little substance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    Pure fiction

    St Pat's in lock down...I doubt it could happen. A cop with 10 children and a dying wife would never be put in this situation. Nor, would he want it. He'd by on family medical leave. It's his wifes last few days alive and he's running around solving a case instead of being with her. Yet, he sounds like a man that really loves his wife. It seems like this book never had an outline and was just made up page by page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    so so read

    struggled through most of the book & the characters are not well developed as I would of liked. for the most part the book dragged & the story line is an old one so had it figured out early, I'd pass on this one unless you have time & money to waste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    Not Patterson's Best!!!

    Interesting premise but title character was a little unbelievable. While the style of the book was Patterson, the writing seemed to be someone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    JAMES PATTERSON, WHERE ARE YOU?

    Whenever a james patterson book was coming out, i waited with anticipation for the book store to open. Not so much anymore. This book seemed like it was written by someone other than mr. Patterson. Bring back the books when we cared what happened to alex cross and knew everything about his life. The hero of this book, mike, is forgettable and will be forgotten with the next book i read. James, we need you to write your next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5