Customer Reviews for

Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 415 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

suspenseful, touching drama

Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wo...
Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wondering if there is any limit to the evil of the criminals.

Interwoven in the fabric of the crime drama is the human story of the lead detective. Patterson causes the reader to feel the pains of the family crisis which the detective must endure while negotiating with the crimimals. The story is so touching it brings the reader to tears. I found the love expressed between the detective and his wife a true romance, though not the kind of sizzling, hot descriptions of sex one finds in so many novels today, but the tender love between two persons married for years and bound by memories and children.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes crime drama, and of course to anyone who likes Patterson. I read a lot of crime drama and mystery, and I found it the kind of book the reader doesn't want to put it down, or in the case of the audio book, doesn't want to turn it off.

posted by akflygal on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It was okay...

This book was okay. I got it as an audiobook and it was my first audiobook. I just didn't like the story line. The death of his wife was truly sad and your heart just went out to him. I am glad I read the second book and recently the third because I would have missed ou...
This book was okay. I got it as an audiobook and it was my first audiobook. I just didn't like the story line. The death of his wife was truly sad and your heart just went out to him. I am glad I read the second book and recently the third because I would have missed out on some great books.

posted by stunning on June 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    suspenseful, touching drama

    Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wondering if there is any limit to the evil of the criminals.

    Interwoven in the fabric of the crime drama is the human story of the lead detective. Patterson causes the reader to feel the pains of the family crisis which the detective must endure while negotiating with the crimimals. The story is so touching it brings the reader to tears. I found the love expressed between the detective and his wife a true romance, though not the kind of sizzling, hot descriptions of sex one finds in so many novels today, but the tender love between two persons married for years and bound by memories and children.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes crime drama, and of course to anyone who likes Patterson. I read a lot of crime drama and mystery, and I found it the kind of book the reader doesn't want to put it down, or in the case of the audio book, doesn't want to turn it off.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Touching and Thrilling

    James Patterson does an excellent job of gripping the reader and keeping you turning the pages. But the characters and plot can be so heartwarming at times.... it's ingenious for Patterson to entwine a plot so warm with a murder mystery. Kept me turning the pages.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Patterson's Step on a Crack Will Blow You Away

    This book launches a new detective character from Patterson. Detective Michael Bennett starts off his tale receiving a phone call to go negotiate a hostage crisis. Bennett is the father of 10 adopted children. Bennett's wife falls victim to cancer leaving him to raise a multicultural family and somehow keep New York's criminal base at bay. <BR/>I'd highly recommend this book as it is quick paced, well written, packed with adventure, and full of the James Patterson goodness you can expect.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!

    I own the book and I read it in two weeks, it would of been much sooner but needed to attend my kids and sleep. When I read the book every chapter was so vivid in my mind I was actually visualizing what I read. Couldn't put it down can't wait to read the next two books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Highly Recommended

    An excellent, captivating, page-turner of a story recommended for anyone who loves thrillers - especially that take place in NYC. Looking forward to the rest of the Michael Bennett series by James Patterson. You gotta love Bennett!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    James Patterson's books....

    This was an interesting book. It held my interest and I read through it rather quickly. I have enjoyed reading several of his books and would recommend them to anyone.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    Highly recomment

    All Patterson books are fast, excellent reads. I especially like Michael Bennett. Need more of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    Rosie

    The Michael Bennett series are some of the best books I have read. You must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Chace

    *Follows.*(ok)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Jacen

    Bbl

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Raith

    *jumps from roof to roof*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Suki

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Wow

    Iove the book and love michael bennett

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    One of the best

    Fast reading! Keeps you interested till the last page. I like that you never know the killer till the end. patter son's writing style is one that makes you want to read more. After reading this book I ordered the remainder of the books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Great read

    Read it in one day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    had to get entire series

    WOW love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Great Book

    This was a great book. This is a great start to another James Patterson series. Your heart goes out to Micheal Bennett and his family. James Patterson does a great job, using New York City as the backdrop of this book. This book is a great easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A NON-STOPPER FOR ME

    i COULDN'T BELIEVE THIS ONE. I PICKED IT UP (OK, UPLOADED IT INTO MY NOOK, IT EVEN ENCOURAGED ME TO BUY A CLIP ON LIGHT SO I COULD KEEP READING THIS ONE INTO THE NIGHT, LOL) AND ALL OF A SUDDEN IF I DIDN'T START TEARING UP BECAUSE OF "LITTLE PEEP", I WAS AMPED UP WITH THE RUSH OF WHAT ONE 24 HOUR DAY WAS FOR BENNETT. AND ON TOP OF ALL THAT, AT CHRISTMAS TIME TOO. I WAS ALREADY IN THE MIDDLE OF (WHICH I STARTED BEFORE "STEP ON A CRACK") 2 OTHER NOVELS, ONE BY LEE CHILD IN THE JACK REACHER SERIES AND A ROBERT CRAIS NOVEL CALLED THE WATCHMAN, THE FIRST IN THAT SERIES. I JUST WANT TO GIVE PROPS WHERE THEY ARE DO. MY DEAR MAN MR. PATTERSON, STEP ON A CRACK WAS WONDERFULLY WRITTEN, THANK YOU FOR THE ENTERTAINMENT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    I love michael bennett

    Michael Bennett is themain character in this series I love this character. i love this series. very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8