Customer Reviews for

Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 415 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

suspenseful, touching drama

Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wo...
Patterson keeps the reader engrossed and at times in tears as this story of a madman's seige runs parallel to the sadness of the main character's personal loss. The sinister kidnapper characters are believable even though the crime is unimaginable. The reader is kept wondering if there is any limit to the evil of the criminals.

Interwoven in the fabric of the crime drama is the human story of the lead detective. Patterson causes the reader to feel the pains of the family crisis which the detective must endure while negotiating with the crimimals. The story is so touching it brings the reader to tears. I found the love expressed between the detective and his wife a true romance, though not the kind of sizzling, hot descriptions of sex one finds in so many novels today, but the tender love between two persons married for years and bound by memories and children.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes crime drama, and of course to anyone who likes Patterson. I read a lot of crime drama and mystery, and I found it the kind of book the reader doesn't want to put it down, or in the case of the audio book, doesn't want to turn it off.

posted by akflygal on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bland hero + bad resolution = bad book!

As I started to write this I was planning on giving it three stars and as I read through all the things that I didn't like about the novel I realized that three were too many stars. Patterson has often thrilled me with both the Alex Cross and Women's Murder Club series...
As I started to write this I was planning on giving it three stars and as I read through all the things that I didn't like about the novel I realized that three were too many stars. Patterson has often thrilled me with both the Alex Cross and Women's Murder Club series but this introduction to ridiculously bland Michael Bennett is too boring to care about. Where Alex Cross is interesting, Bennett's situation, not personality is interesting. The detective's abilities a crime solving are suspect sense this was solved by nothing more than a ludicrous whim and conjecture from an almost non-existent character. The there is the twist connection to the case which had little to no impact. Bennett's family, which should be ample ground for drama is anything but. Also, the inclusion of fictional celebrities that clearly have real world counterparts are on the nose where you can't help but think of them. Its lazy writing. Overall, there might be a good heist/caper story here but readers might've been better of seeing the story take place through the bad guys' eyes. I might read the next in the series because of Patterson's past reputation and it'll be such a quick read but this is not a good book.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on July 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    He got me again!!

    Okay, first he hooked me with his "Hide and Seek", and I had to read everything he had out at that time. Next it was the Alex Cross series. Then the Maximum series. Now, he'd done it again! THIS IS AN EXCELLENT READ!!! It combines all the very best of Patterson - multiple layered plot, lots of action, heroic but human main character, and wonderfully developed supporting characters. Engrossing, entertaining, and once again Excellent!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good book

    This book is different from Alex Cross books. The book was good but it took me a while to get into it and keep going but i found myself that I was able to put the book down for a couple of days and go back to it. The characters are good and it was well written but it's just different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best audio book so far !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    My husband and I found it so interesting we would sit in the car and just listen between chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    Very engaging and hard to put down

    I bought this to play on my way back and forth to work. Although I had an hour each way, I did not want to stop listening when I reached my destination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    this was a gift

    My father loved this gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Be sure to have tissues with you.

    James Patterson has a style that makes you want to just keep reading and not put the book down until done. I love the way he brings characters together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    Patterson does it again

    An engrossing story with subplots that help move it along and that grab the reader emotionally and cerebrally. I love Patterson's writing and here it is aided by a slightly different but still thrilling voice of his co-author. I really enjoyed this and had a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    Loved this story.

    Characters were well developed. Wretched a mirade of emotions from me. Definately recommended for readers who want an edge of your seat read. I got it on audio CD and listened as I drove back and forth to work. John Slattery is an excellent reader. I think I'd buy anything read by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another great job!

    Loved the storyline. I felt that something like this might truly happen. Scary stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    This is and OLD James Patterson...... Awesome book! This really brings out his old writing style when he was not worried about how many books he could publish in one year. Still love the guy though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Patterson is Back

    In the last few years many book by James Patterson (especially co-authored) have been lacking. It seems that quantity of book releases were affecting the quality. This book reminds me of why I love James Patterson. There was never a dull moment and the writing style was smooth and enjoyable. I like the new character, Mike Bennett who is a brillant detective and the father of ten. There is so many avenues that can be explored with this character that I think a series with the Bennetts may even surpass the Alex Cross series. Welcome home, Mr. Patterson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    very appealing

    very well written to keep interest high

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great new character for James Patterson

    I became so involved with the characters of this book! I couldn't put it down and completed it in 2 days. A really great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Step on a Crack by James Patterson with Michael Ledwidge is as good as any of their other books.

    I have finished about 12 of James Patterson's books and I am very glad that there are many more to read. They go soo quickly and are very easy to read as the chapters are short and each one conveys a point (or various points) but you can stop at the end of a chapter with no problem, and then pick it up again and not loose any of the meaning. I was never a person that did much reading, other than in business, but Patterson makes it fun, interesting and exciting in each book.

    Please keep them comming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    Great Book, Great Author

    I absolutely enjoyed this book. It is the first book in a very long time that has actually made me cry. It is very heartfelt and very active. I own almost every book by James Patterson and will continue to get all of his books and read them more than once. As for the review above that was disappointed in the agent being the mastermind, I have one question....Have you ever read any of his Alex Cross books? If so, then you will understand where this all comes from, and actually it was not an fbi agent, they were jail officers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Loved this book. Easy Read. Page Turner!

    characters are just like today's hollywood. keeps you on the edge of your seat. great story. memorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    Best james patterson book ever

    This book has to be the best book ive ever read. There wasnt one page i can think of that wasnt intense..even the parts you would think could be boring were good. The way james patterson writes his book with the wording is incredible..it actually makes you laugh because its so good. The dialogue between Mike Bennett and the criminals is insane

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this book

    I thought this book was highly entertaining. I had a hard time putting it down, completed it in three sittings. This book has action, drama and suspense. Step on a Crack is an emotional thriller. Take a chance on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    Patterson and Ledwidge what a wonderful combo

    Again Patterson has a winner and has introduced me to another wonderful writer. Thanks for giving us another detective to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    WONDERFUL NEW CHARACTER

    I love reading all the Alex Cross books by James Patterson and didn't think he could come up with another strong character. Well, big surprise!! Michael Bennett is wonderful and the story is 'edge of the seat' suspenseful. Don't miss this one -- it's a winner. I'm anticipating the next Michael Bennett book as much as I anticipate every Alex Cross book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8