Customer Reviews for

Steppin' into the Good Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a little predictable

    I enjoyed reading this book. it was an easy read but a little predictable. It was nice to read a christian author. Made me think about my relationship with God. I felt like my spirit was a little renewed reading this book. A good read even though i usually like mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Could not put down, great life story about finding God!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Steppin' Into the Good Life - A great read!

    Sheila Rushmore just wants to live the good life. When her "six-foot, six-pack, six-figure man" dumps her for his ex-wife, Sheila is devastated. Clearly, he is not coming back and Sheila makes one last ditch effort to find closure for that part of her life. Her efforts are disastrous on the surface, but in the midst of the humiliation, Sheila finds God and her life slowly begins to change. However, things get worse before they get better. While learning about a God that satisfies her far more than any fancy shoes could, Sheila finds herself unemployed, single, almost homeless, and broke. Having God is wonderful, but Sheila still longs for that sweet place called the good life. When family issues arise and temptations of the past reappear, will Sheila hold to her faith in God? Will she ever find the elusive good life?

    I loved reading Steppin' Into the Good Life by Tia McCollors. The narrator (Sheila) is real, witty, and engaging. This book will definitely appeal to people who enjoy fashion. Though the plot is completely different, it reminded me slightly of Confessions of a Shopoholic just because of some of the fashion references. I admire authors who can create catchy ways to convey information. McCollors does that repeatedly, but not repetitiously, throughout the novel.

    The spiritual lesson behind the plot was effective and timely. Too often people are disappointed after becoming a Christian because they have the notion that Christians don't have problems. Contrary to that belief is the reality that having God in one's life doesn't mean everything is going to be rosy. Sometimes life is hard, but God is always good whether or not we are living the so-called good life.

    Steppin' Into the Good Life is the second novel in this series. I have not read the first, Last Woman Standing, but I certainly intend to. I didn't feel like I was missing any information as I read the book. In fact, I didn't know it was the second novel in the series until I got to the end and saw the blurb for Last Woman Standing. I suspect there will be at least one more novel in this series. While the ending was satisfying to read, there were a few situations/relationships left open that could definitely be addressed in a third novel.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Moody Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Predictable

    Yeah, but what did i expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Good read

    Really enjoyed reading this book. So easy to read no curse words just a clean and easy read... only thing is sheila too man hungry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Excellent book

    A great and uplifting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Suprisingly funny

    Great book. Nothing like a great story about self discovery. Well written, comical and inspiring. Can't wait for part 11.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    This is a pretty good read--Christian Fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended- Another great novel from Tia McCollors

    Steppin' into the Good Life was and awesome story about personal growth and discovery. This sequal was a great way to get deeper into the life of Sheila, and to see how she overcame the heartache she endured when her beloved made the decision to remarry to his ex-wife. Through this story she learned so much about herself and was able to face the demons of her past and begin the journey towards finding God's purpose in her life. The blend between old and new characters presented colorful themes and plots... I hope there is another story to come with Sheila as the main character... I would love to see what happens in the next part of her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Not your granny's Christian fiction!

    This gal has it goin on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Terrible

    Thankfully this one was free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gotta leave some things behind to Step Into The Good Life

    Wonderful sequel - if you enjoyed The Last Woman Standing you'll love-love-love Steppin' Into the Good Life! The subtle undertone to Sheila's story/journey is the power of female relationships - they can kill you or give you life. Inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    A MUST READ!!!

    Tia McCollors hit a home run with this novel. Tia begins the story with Sheila Rushmore sneaking into the church to witness the re-marriage between her ex-boyfriend, Ace and his wife, Lynette. Those who have read Tia's previous novel, The Last Woman Standing knows all about Sheila, Ace and Lynette. Let's not forget Sheila's best friend Cassandra. Throw in a few more characters and you have a great story. Cassandra was the one who convinced Sheila to attend the wedding for closure. Sheila ended up with more than closure. Little did Sheila know, that day would become the 1st day of her new life.

    In Steppin' Into the Good Life, Sheila has to deal with the strained relationship with her best friend as well as her mother and older brother. Throughout her journey to become a better person, Sheila's faith in God is tested in various situations. The more I read this story the more I felt like I was living in Atlanta with Sheila. I could feel her pain throughout the story. The more I read, the more I could hear God speaking to me about a situation that I have been going through lately. I know for a fact that I was suppose to read this book at this time. I loved how Tia referenced various scriptures throughout the novel. Tia made sure that Sheila's walk with God wasn't easy. That is very important because often time people think that when they begin walking with God all their problems will immediately end. But, that is far from the truth. God puts many obstacles and speed bumps in our life to test our faith. As I read each page, I thought more and more about my life and the various disappointments I've had to endure. Staying grounded in God's word and surrounding myself around positive people helped me get through many things.

    So, you may want to know what type of stumbling blocks did Sheila encounter? You may also be wondering if Sheila stayed on the right street or did she verve off course. Well, you will have to read the book yourself to find out. I promise you that you will not be disappointed. When I finished reading, I felt a sense of peace over my life. God spoke to me and said, "Everything is going to be ok.

    Thanks Tia McCollors for writing a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2