Customer Reviews for

Stepping on Roses, Volume 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful plot and BEAUTIFUL artwork.

Who doesn't love a poor-girl-brought-to-riches-and-fortune-through-love story?
Everyone, thats who.
But this one has a unique twist.
The poor Sumi must grit her teeth and marry a rich boy simply for money and nothing else. Trapped in a marrige where love is forbidden, s...
Who doesn't love a poor-girl-brought-to-riches-and-fortune-through-love story?
Everyone, thats who.
But this one has a unique twist.
The poor Sumi must grit her teeth and marry a rich boy simply for money and nothing else. Trapped in a marrige where love is forbidden, stuck with a lazy brother and several adopted children to feed, Sumi must take care of her family from her old poor life while still being a proper lady in the eyes of her new peers. Sumi may be wrapped in velvet and silk and draped in gold and loaded with money that she could never have dream of, she is still burdened with a heart that beats ever so for a boy who is not her 'husband'. Whats a girl to do?
And tht is what makes Stepping on Roses wonderfully unique!

posted by 13023643 on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty illustrations, so-so story...I've definitely come across

Pretty illustrations, so-so story...I've definitely come across very similar stories manga/anime before.

posted by Machine-gun_Nun on May 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Wonderful plot and BEAUTIFUL artwork.

    Who doesn't love a poor-girl-brought-to-riches-and-fortune-through-love story?
    Everyone, thats who.
    But this one has a unique twist.
    The poor Sumi must grit her teeth and marry a rich boy simply for money and nothing else. Trapped in a marrige where love is forbidden, stuck with a lazy brother and several adopted children to feed, Sumi must take care of her family from her old poor life while still being a proper lady in the eyes of her new peers. Sumi may be wrapped in velvet and silk and draped in gold and loaded with money that she could never have dream of, she is still burdened with a heart that beats ever so for a boy who is not her 'husband'. Whats a girl to do?
    And tht is what makes Stepping on Roses wonderfully unique!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Great!!!

    I love reading this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It hooks you right in!!

    The cover is cute and it was good enough to pick up from the shelf.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    It gets my attention and how Sumi likes Nozomu but she marries a

    It gets my attention and how Sumi likes Nozomu but she marries a different guy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    My favorite manga EVER!!!!

    Really awesome series beautiful illustarations... CANNOT STOP READING!!A

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Sweet and addicting!

    It's such a cute and sweet read! I fell in love with the characters immediately, and you should definitely get it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Love it

    Its cute

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Pretty illustrations, so-so story...I've definitely come across

    Pretty illustrations, so-so story...I've definitely come across very similar stories manga/anime before.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Luv it

    Exicted to read the fith

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    It was wonderful

    A qwick read i must say. Makes you buy the rest of the serious...;) it was a good hook to what becomesna beautiful love story. Worth every penny. One of my firts manga's my friend got me into them and im so glad she did. You have to read this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    I would give it a better rating if only it was avaible for the N

    I would give it a better rating if only it was avaible for the NOOK PC. -_- The free samle did even want to load.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    at first the title caught my attention

    The summary convinced me that giving this first volume a read through on the shelf. That lead to me buying it a few days later. I enjoyed how the idea of poor girl marries rich man is presented in the first and following volumes. The artwork is well done. I plan on sending my copies out into the world via bookcrossing for others to enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    OMG!!!! This was amazing!!!!

    People if you want to read it, go for it. I love the effort put into the drawings and the storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Stepping On Roses

    I was looking for my next fix from Rinko Ueda san when this popped up and the story line was so enticing that I couldn't resist!I mean who does not heart romantic tension,a beautiful and richly drawn era in Japanese history and a total unlikely couple??? Yes to all!!!! Recommended if you <3 romance and are a romantic!!! or are a fan of Rinko Ueda!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Interesting

    Girl meets boy, boy proposes marriage. But both have their own reasons and so have to put on a charade of sorts. Also, most awkward wedding...ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Interesting love story

    A Cinderella story starting with the magic of money. If you dislike weak/"Dum" (some would contrue it as such) but stubborn and an enduring heart, dont bother. The story may start as a cliche, but you will find it much more dramatic then you would think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    this is a great book

    HELLO i am just like to tell you that this book is super

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2