Customer Reviews for

Stepping on the Cracks

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!

    I was assigned this book in a 6th grade reading assignment. I laughed, I cried, the whole shebang. There are parts of the book you may not want to read involving Jimmy, the main character's brother, if someone close to you is fighting in the war. There are some bad words, but I hear worse at school. The others who were assigned this book LOVED IT! I have yet to read the 2nd book, but its pretty hard to find in my small town. I love to read lots, so check out my EXTREMELY SELECTIVE book list below. The listed books are le creme of de craup! In other words, the best! TTFN!!! -P

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite book!!!

    I read this book in class and I LOVED IT!! The first couple of chapters are boring but after you get over the boring part it turns into a really great book!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    A WWII drama not just about a war in Europe, but a war at home

    Set in WWII Era Maryland, the story begins with Margaret and Elizabeth who are good friends, and both with brothers in the war against Germany and Japan. They are constantly harassed and bullied by Gordy Smith and his two friends. To keep the girls away from his secret hut in the woods, Gordy tells the girls a tall tale about a crazy man living in the woods. Margaret believes him, claiming that she did see a man walking in the woods before. Soon, Margaret and Elizabeth find out the true identity of the mysterious man, and uncover a dark secret of Gordy¿s. As the story progresses, the girls¿ opinion of Gordy changes from hating him to feeling sorry for him. As the girls try to help Gordy, the book comes to a shocking conclusion. Stepping on the Cracks is the first book in a series of three novels written by Mary Downing Hahn. It is an excellent book, and keeps your attention. I personally liked everything about the book, which kept my eyes glued to the pages. The story is easy to relate to, and you get to know the characters well for a large part of the book (the first 80 pages), before diving into the plot. Mary Downing Hahn has written a great book, and I would recommend this book to fans of Hahn¿s books and to fans of books in general.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Stepping on the Cracks

    Great novel to introduce upper elementary students to the effect of World War II on average American families. The main characters, Margaret, Elizabeth, and Gordy are engaging as they have typical childhood conflicts and confront what war is really like as each of these 3 has brothers fightiing in the war. Also, the book is excellent is showing authentically what life in the 40s was like in the United States.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2000

    Great Book

    As a young girl at the age of 11, Margaret, misses her older brother who is overseas fighting World War II. She shows a lot of courage when she is faced with the schools biggest bullie, Gordy. She then discovers he has a secret that takes her on a wild adventure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER!

    I GOT ADDICTED TO THIS BOOK!!!! I JUST FINISHED THE SECOND BOOK IN THE SERIES AND CANNOT WAIT TO READ THE THIRD ONE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    THIS BOOK IS GREAT! It makes you laugh at some parts and cry at

    THIS BOOK IS GREAT! It makes you laugh at some parts and cry at others. this book is one of my FAVORITE Mary Downing Hahn books! It is truly great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    :)

    I read it last year. All the characters were wonderful, and i loved the story and the "big secret". Gordy forever!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Great story

    This book is my daughters favorite book. She read it several times and it sounded like a book for me to read. Well she is right. It is a good story about WWII and what a lot of Americans were going through at home while our men and women were fighting overseas. It will open your eyes as to what they went through during the war. It really gave me something to think about. Nice story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    awesome

    Great book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    Read it, it was good

    Not the best book I've ever read, but it had humor and kept me reading. Everyone can relate to the charachters. The end was very touching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    Stepping on the Cracks

    Stepping on the Cracks is a great book. It occurs during World War Two. I recommended it to one of my friends and she loved it! This has been one of my favorite books for a very long time. Mary Downing Hahn is a great author! Anyone who gets the chance to read this outstanding book should!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    A book I'll never forget!

    Stepping on the Cracks, by Mary Downing Hahn is an excellent book for intermediate age kids. I first read it in sixth grade and I'm now 18 and I have never found a better novel since! It explains how the war affected the families of all the brave men that fought in World War II. It is from the view of a 12 or 13 year old little girl. I plan on starting college this fall to major in elementary education. I hope someday I can teach sixth grade and that they'll get as much out of it as I did.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    I loved this book and I'm only in third grade! I scored 100% on

    I loved this book and I'm only in third grade! I scored 100% on my AR test.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Asome book

    I like and no it is sad & happy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Hi

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Stepping on the crackes

    I liked tis boook it was an project for class and we did activitys with this book it was nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Stepping on the Cracks

    I love this book soo much!!!! It tells an amazing story!!!!! Its my favorite book out of all of her books!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Oaf

    This is the oaf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Is it good or not

    Reply to gbj_@#18.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6