Customer Reviews for

Stepping on the Cracks

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2000

    Great Book

    As a young girl at the age of 11, Margaret, misses her older brother who is overseas fighting World War II. She shows a lot of courage when she is faced with the schools biggest bullie, Gordy. She then discovers he has a secret that takes her on a wild adventure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    :)

    I read it last year. All the characters were wonderful, and i loved the story and the "big secret". Gordy forever!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Great story

    This book is my daughters favorite book. She read it several times and it sounded like a book for me to read. Well she is right. It is a good story about WWII and what a lot of Americans were going through at home while our men and women were fighting overseas. It will open your eyes as to what they went through during the war. It really gave me something to think about. Nice story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    Read it, it was good

    Not the best book I've ever read, but it had humor and kept me reading. Everyone can relate to the charachters. The end was very touching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    Stepping on the Cracks

    Stepping on the Cracks is a great book. It occurs during World War Two. I recommended it to one of my friends and she loved it! This has been one of my favorite books for a very long time. Mary Downing Hahn is a great author! Anyone who gets the chance to read this outstanding book should!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Asome book

    I like and no it is sad & happy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Maddie

    It was really good rhe beginning was kinda boring but once u get in it its really good . It was sad at times but its a reccomended read u will like ir

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    RK3301

    Mary Downing Hahn is an outstanding author. After reading Stepping on the Cracks I was amazed at the detail she put in the story. This novel was very inspirational and emotional, but in a way that young adults could understand and read. It was a fast read and easy to understand. It brings the way people live during WWII in a way that you felt all of the emotions the people were living in and the truth about the war.

    I found the novel written in a way that was informational and entertaining at the same time. It is about how two girls are best friends and they have to deal with the neighborhood/school bully. Although later in the story, as you read there is a twist in the story that will certainly surprise you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is great.

    I enjoyed this book. Even if you do not like Historical fiction you will enjoy this book. While the war goes on life does not stand still. Magie is an 11 year old who enjoys stepping on cracks to break Hitlers back along with her best friend Elizabeth, both of who's brother are off fighting the ar in Europe. The girls are both bullied by a boy named Gordy and they hate him almost as much as Hitler. But when they discover his seceret things begin to change including Magie's take on the war. You will enjoy this book, there are many other supporting characters and each of them brings a new new life to the book including mittens. The book surprised me and you will be too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good

    This book was pretty good. I did`t put down for a while but it was`t the best of the best. I enjoyed it. If someone asked if they should read it I would say yes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    A MUST READ!

    I very much enjoyed this book. Though at the time in 6th grade I didn't understand about War World 2. But looking back I found the book very good. I think kids should read this book! ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2000

    Its pretty exciting & cool!

    This book is really Exciting and its just a got to read book. Guys youve got to read it, its about these two girls and a bully named gordy helping a deserter in the army... Gordy has an abusive father, thats how he learned to be tough...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    Review For Stepping on the Cracks

    Stepping on the cracks is very good.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    ~*StEpPiNg On ThE cRaCkS- mY rEvIeW*~

    I think This Book Is Very Good. I've Done It For three School Book Reports and have Read This Book 4 times. Its very Educatinal too i guess!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2000

    Mesmerising

    I started reading this book on a Friday night and couldn't put it down. I had to find out what happen to Stu, Barbara, Gordy and all his friends. It reminded me of the times in my neighborhood during the war. When I finally find out what was going on in the woods, I couldn't stop reading I just had to just had to finish. In fact I had to go out an buy the other two books in this group. I can't tell the ending but I was sure glad it ended that waY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2