Customer Reviews for

The Stepsister Scheme (Princess Novels Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Definitely Recommend These Books!

    I bought this, the first one of the Princess Novels with really low expectations as something to read on a plane. Then I couldn't put it down. I ended up reading this entire series while on vacation, simply flying through one book after another. There are some parts where you kind of laugh and roll your eyes, but this book and all the following novels are incredibly engaging and will pull you right into the world that Hines creates. You know it's a good series when you put down the last book and are sad that it's over. If you're on the fence about it, I definitely recommend you give this book a shot. I was glad I did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!

    If you loved disney princess as a kid, you will LOVE this book. It is full of characters we already love, as well as some great new ones. This book has romance, action, fantasy, it really covers all areas, so multiple readers will enjoy these books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The brothers grim princesses meet charlie's angels. I LOVED IT!

    This is an amazing book. I LOVE fairy tales and have read alot of different versions of them in many different styles and this story was very new and refreshingly different. I LOVED every secound of this book. I like the charlie's angels movies and these girls are very much like them. I really like the new spin on the princesses. Hardly anyone thinks about what happens after the suposed happily ever after. Now someone has. I recomend this book completely.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    LOVE IT

    This is the best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    worth every penny

    this is a great book and series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and Intriquing

    This is a very enjoyable story with intriquing twists on well known fairytale women. Empowering for women. I have shared this book with my best friend and family women including my 16 year old neice. We all found it fun and an easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not your kids Princesses.

    This is a very interesing twist on the Disney Princesses. I was very funny and an enjoyable read. If you have a sense of humor that is a little twisted you will enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Fantastic start to a series

    Thrilling girl power tail. WARNING: NOT FOR ALL AGES. IT HAS CUSSING AND SWEAR WORDS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Jim C. Hines is a fairytale Genius! In this book you are intro

    Jim C. Hines is a fairytale Genius!


    In this book you are introduced to the princesses Danielle De Glas (Cinderella), Talia (Sleeping Beauty), and Snow White. If you think about the original princesses they are these petite, dainty girls who are fragile and cannot look after themselves. Sometimes just complete airheads. Well, Cinderella never was an airhead, she was probably the strongest, most self reliant of the three. She went through major hardships with her step family and that makes a person pretty strong. In this book, the roles are reversed. Talia is a super tough martial arts chick and Snow is a powerful sorceress. Danielle is finally a princess but I feel like becoming one took away her ability to be self reliant. She becomes a damsel in distress too easily. Thankfully she does learn to be a little better, especially with a magic sword in hand.

    Ok, the weapons/powers these girls have are just so awesome! Who needs men when princesses can be warriors instead. The damsel in distress gets rescued by women instead of men. Way cool! Danielle gets this cool sword made of glass that can never cut her and helps to hit her mark even though she is not a good swordswoman. Talia doesn't really need weapons because she is one but she can use weapons even more effectively. Then Snow, not only does she have snowflake throwing stars, she uses mirrors to be a sorceress almost as powerful as her mother, eventually more so.

    The plot is so exciting and unexpected. I was on the edge of my seat and really had to force myself to put the book down so I could sleep or work. But wow. Ok spoiler coming up so if you don't like those, stop reading now. Best twist ever in this series...Talia is gay!!! How cool is that! I love that Hines made that twist. It is so unique and shocking but really says a lot about how much our culture is changing. Better yet, she is in love with Snow and when Snow's curse gets reactivated, Talia is the one who kisses her to wake her up. I was squealing in delight at this scene! I really loved this twist. I think that is an adorable love story than the simple prince kissing princess and living happily ever after. Why can't the princesses live happily ever after together? Just amazing!

    The backstories of the princesses are told more along the original darker side of the story but I think that gave the girls more depth to their characters. I enjoy some darkness. It makes them seem more realistic than the perfect, flawless barbie dolls of Disney. Not that I don't love the Disney princesses but people aren't really that perfect. Hines makes the girls more down to earth and at our level of reality. They are even more relatable.

    I definately recommend this book to fairytale fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Great read

    This was a great and fun read i intend to read the rest in this seriies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    loved it!!!

    this is not your typical fairytale! kept me interested the whole book, looking forward to book #2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Awesome! The first book in the Princess Novels introduces and in

    Awesome! The first book in the Princess Novels introduces and intriguing twist on old Grimm brothers fairy tales, taking the next step in the story. Note, these princesses are not from the Disney stories, they are from the Grimm's version.

    You may know her as Cinderella, but her real name is Danielle. In the year since she and her prince got married the story has gotten a bit twisted but not as much as the stories of her new friends.

    When her stepsister shows up to kill her and fails thanks to the a "servant" for the queen, and Charlotte lets slip (on purpose) that the prince has been kidnapped. The queen allows Danielle to travel with two of her special spies; you might recognize the name Snow, but most of you know Talia better by the nickname she got when a fairy put a sleeping spell on her to save her life. Boy, does she hate fairies. Luckily those two have some awesome skills, but Danielle insists that her knowledge of her stepsisters could make the difference between success and failure on this journey. The trip is hard and dangerous and Danielle, Snow, and Talia develop a special relationship in there efforts to learn to work together in their efforts to save the prince.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Cameron

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    I have found a new favorite author

    This is a new take on the typical fairy tale, and I love it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enchanting enjoyable fantasy

    Danielle de Glas Whiteshore, better known as Cinderella, is just getting used to life at the palace when her stepsister Charlotte comes into her castle trying to kill her. Charlotte fails but escapes, but not before mentioning that something happened to her brother-in-law Prince Armand. Her maid Talia, who does not act like a royal servant nor like her famous name Sleeping Beauty, arranges for Danielle to meet with Queen Beatrice and her attendant Snow (as in agent White). They are told Armand has been kidnapped from the inn he was staying at and was taken to Fairytown by Danielle¿s two stepsisters.<BR/>---<BR/>Danielle is shocked that her stepsisters used a spell as she was unaware either had magical skills. The princess obtains the password to call the Summoner to help her and her allies pass through thehedge that separates fairy from human lands. Inside the realm of the Fairy, Danielle and her team learn Charlotte¿s sister Stacia is a powerful mage here. The princess and her two regal agents travel to the powerful fairy Duchess, who is despised by the king and queen of fairy to rescue Armand, but the trek is hazardous as disaster strikes at the courageous princess trio.<BR/>---<BR/>This tale occurs in the days after ¿happily ever after¿ as the three princesses face all types of adversarial situations while Danielle tries to rescue her husband. This adult fairy tale with amusing chick lit asides is an enchanting enjoyable fantasy. Jim C. Hines creates great heroines who even on their dangerous adventure retain their classy demeanor while trying to stay alive. Hopefully Beauty and White get the special Hines treatment.<BR/>---<BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3