Customer Reviews for

Stern Men: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    The first 50 pages or so are somewhat detailed oriented and not as compelling as the rest of the story, but it's worth taking the time to get through that first section.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2000

    Please don't end, book!

    I opened to the beginning as soon as I read the last sentence. Each page is delicious! Liz Gilbert's heroine, Ruth, is and should be a role model for contemporary young women...She's sassy, intelligent, strong-willed and irresistable. Forget Holden Cauffield, put this book on your daughter's mandatory reading list.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    A Nice Book

    Overall, the book sounded and was good, but it is kind of hard to get past the first chapter describing the history of the two islands, but a good read anyway

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    A peek inside the unusual world of people who lobster fish in the State of MAINE.

    This book gives you a peek inside the closed society of the men and women whose livelihoods depend upon the Lobster fishing industry in the State of Maine.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    A Most Excellent Read!

    I owned this book for nearly two years before reading it, and now I cannot for the life of me understand why I waited so long. It is a story of two islands off the coast of Maine and their incessant 'lobster wars.' The reader gets an intimate glimpse into the rugged life of those folks and develops an understanding of the feuding. But, on a more important level, we are treated to a love story of epic proportions. The protagonist, Ruth, has the capacity to become a role model for today's young women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2001

    Perfect- funny, tragic and captivating

    Stern Men is a wonderful heart-warming novel about a young girl (Ruth) who comes of age on a small isolated island off the Maine coast. Her journey is one of excitement and understanding, as she learns about herself and the world she is living in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2001

    Great Fun!

    A wonderful book, I recommend it to any young teenage girl at heart! It was captivating, funny, and empowering. Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    A Must Read for all who are Downeaster

    This is a great read about families from some of Maine's Island communities. If you are from Maine you will feel at home with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    LOVE this book!

    Someone gave me this book a year ago. I really didn't think I would enjoy reading it based on the overiew on the cover. However, recently, having nothing else to read, I went ahead and gave it a shot. I LOVED this book. I laughed at my self while reading it for having waited so long. I totally loved Ruth and the other interesting characters. The true story was a little slow to start but once it did, it was great right to the to end. I didn't want it to be over when I had finished. Feet on you, Elizabeth Gilbert! Feet on you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    Glad I Found This

    After reading Eat, Pray, Love, I wanted to learn more about Elizabeth Gilbert. I wasn't thrilled with Commitment, but found this, her first novel, at my local library. What a pleasant surprise. VERY different from her memoir, but well worth it to read. Enjoy ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    Somewhat disappointing

    Although the plot sounded really good, the actual story turned out to be very disappointing. The novel started out great but the middle just dragged. It's almost like the author had a word count to meet and just put in a lot of filler. For me, the most interesting part of the story was what was included in the Epilogue - - - that's the story I wanted to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    I read Eat Pray and Love and was excited to find out(at service counter) at B&N in New Hartford, NY that the author had written this book. I enjoyed reading about a topic I never knew anything about.

    Before getting very far into this book, I realized how much I knew about the characters and my feelings toward them. By the time I was half way through, these people were alive in my mind and I had to keep reading to see what was going to happen. I did not know how the lobster trappers lives were; the territorial constraints, the rivalry, the hardships they had to endure. I am confident that this is a true account of what it was like.

    I do not belong to any book clubs, but have recommended this to my family and friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2