BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Stick Figure: A Diary of My Former Self

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

In the book Stick Figure by Lori Gottlieb, it was great to see h

In the book Stick Figure by Lori Gottlieb, it was great to see how her family cared about her when she
struggled with anorexia. Lori wanted to fit by being the skinniest girl in the world. She decided to go on a
 diet and would not eat anything. Lori’s parents thought ...
In the book Stick Figure by Lori Gottlieb, it was great to see how her family cared about her when she
struggled with anorexia. Lori wanted to fit by being the skinniest girl in the world. She decided to go on a
 diet and would not eat anything. Lori’s parents thought there was something wrong with her. They
brought her to the doctor, and she only weighed less than fifty pounds. The doctor sent her to a
 psychiatrist; he told her if you don’t gain weight you will go to a hospital. She didn't gain weight so she
 stayed at a hospital for a couple days. She did not like staying there because the nurses that helped her
 would always be in there to watch her eat. She did not eat anything, so she would throw it away when
 they leave. I really enjoyed this book because it helped me out with my problems, and I thought it was
great how everybody was helping her out. I think teenage girls would love to read this book to understand
 what she went through and how to control yourself if you feel that way.

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

'Reasons why I should kill myself:..No one makes you eat when yo

'Reasons why I should kill myself:..No one makes you eat when you're dead..it's the only way to get out of the hospital without weighing 60 lbs," Lori Gottlieb writes in her in her stunning memoir based off of diaries from  when she was a teen (SickFigure 189). The...
'Reasons why I should kill myself:..No one makes you eat when you're dead..it's the only way to get out of the hospital without weighing 60 lbs," Lori Gottlieb writes in her in her stunning memoir based off of diaries from  when she was a teen (SickFigure 189). The book Stick figure:A Diary of My Former Self by Lori Gottlieb is an elevn year old girl still learning how a young lady must act, and how quickly  a girl needs to become a woman. However, that soon turns around when she takes her parents words to an extreme and starts not talking or eating. She then becomes obsessed with the idea of being  extremely thin and in her opinion beautiful. As her obsession grows her parents take her to many doctors and tell Lori to eat and drink many different things, but she never listen. Instead she threatens self-harm and to run away. Finally, she sees her self for what she has become a self medicated stick figure. I recommend this book for parents of anorexic children and young teen girls. I enjoyed reading this book because it gives you a special look inside an anorexic's mind. With a sarcastic, yet admiring tone Lori gives readers a veiwpoint no other can, while teaching them to not give up because anyone can overcome something no matter how hard.

posted by Anonymous on May 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    In the book Stick Figure by Lori Gottlieb, it was great to see h

    In the book Stick Figure by Lori Gottlieb, it was great to see how her family cared about her when she
    struggled with anorexia. Lori wanted to fit by being the skinniest girl in the world. She decided to go on a
     diet and would not eat anything. Lori’s parents thought there was something wrong with her. They
    brought her to the doctor, and she only weighed less than fifty pounds. The doctor sent her to a
     psychiatrist; he told her if you don’t gain weight you will go to a hospital. She didn't gain weight so she
     stayed at a hospital for a couple days. She did not like staying there because the nurses that helped her
     would always be in there to watch her eat. She did not eat anything, so she would throw it away when
     they leave. I really enjoyed this book because it helped me out with my problems, and I thought it was
    great how everybody was helping her out. I think teenage girls would love to read this book to understand
     what she went through and how to control yourself if you feel that way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Stick Figure by Lori Gottlieb was a fast, easy read that I would

    Stick Figure by Lori Gottlieb was a fast, easy read that I would recommend. It went through her life, start to finish, of her eating disorder developing and turning into full-on anorexia. I didn’t like how much it focused on her mother; however, that fed into Lori’s disorder forming. I would recommend this for girls in their early teens as a fast read, for it has a good message, but it would be good for anyone. I would especially recommend it for a girl who was considering an eating disorder herself because it focuses on the negatives of eating disorders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Imagine being 11 and weighing less that 50 pounds. The story Sti

    Imagine being 11 and weighing less that 50 pounds. The story Stick Figure is about a girl, Lori Gottlieb, with anorexia nervosa. She is sent to the hospital so that the doctors could help her gain weight. At age 11 Lori weighed under 50 pounds. The doctors wanted her to weigh at least 60 pounds before she went home.  She wanted to cut herself so she would bleed to death, After meeting a girl in the hospital who died she decides that she really does not want to die. I loved this book. Every time I had to stop reading it, all I wanted to do was pick it back up. I think this book would be a great read for teenage girls and some teenage boys who are going through this phase in life. They will learn that being skinny isn’t the most important thing in life. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    A bittersweet look into distorted self images

    I absolutely could not put this book down! The insight into Lori Gottlieb's thoughts and feelings about herself were enticing. It amazed me that this "situation", as it's called throughout the novel, happened when she was only eleven. It made me realize how poisonous the media truly is when eleven year-old children believe that they need to diet. An eating disorder is an extremely obsessive thing, and Gottlieb made that obvious. Her story was not only thought provoking, but was provoking emotionally as well. This collection of diary entries was a quick but intense read, and I strongly recommend it to any reader or book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Thin Wishes

    ¿This isn¿t a game anymore,¿ Dr. Katz said when he came in this morning. The reason he came early is that the treatment team is worried about my lab tests. Dr. Katz said he doesn¿t care what the chart says because I¿m obviously not eating as much as the nurses are writing down, which is why he just had a talk with them about how they should never listen to me, no matter what. Like anyone ever listens to me anyway.¿ Stick Figure is a mesmerizing book about an 11-year old girl who is living in Beverly Hills she becomes anorexic because of a bad relationship with her parents and hardly any support from her friends and family. She is absorbed with her schoolwork and is not concerned with her looks until she realizes she wants to do something with her life, and she gets the impression that doing that, requires being thin. She rapidly becomes obsessed with her weight and how many calories she consumes. And quickly starts to worry her family, friends and the doctors start getting involved with her ¿situation¿. Soon she sees herself as fat, and everyone else can clearly see that she needs to get help¿and fast. She goes to a clinic where people go when they are very sick. She then tries the unthinkable and her situation becomes more and more serious. Stick Figure is Lori Gottlieb¿s diary that she kept while was battling anorexia. Stick Figure is a national best seller and is loved by all of its readers. Lori Gottlieb still lives in California and is a journalist for many well-known magazines and NPR. This book is filled with emotions that just seep through the pages. You will come to adore Lori as much as I have and understand what she went through. This book will be adored by boys, girls, and adults due to its many inner themes that most people can relate to. I loved this memoir and I know that every other person who picks it up will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2007

    Confused on the confusion

    I have to dissagree a little with the review titled confusing. An ed can develop from her just wanting to not eat for attention, having an ed is a way of coping with something just not a healthy way and the girl wanted to be noticed. I know it's rare but you can become so obsessed with food that it turns into a dissorder. And food is used to replace what your feeling so you wont have to. Like her family and pressure from her mother to basically be perfect all the time. And the kids at school the popular ones she wanted to be like, that was her way of coping. I do agree that most ed's as I said don't just start out from wanting attention but there is a need for attention. I read this book once and a teacher of mine in HS suggested I read it since I was and am anorexic/bulimic. I enjoyed the book very much and would love to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2007

    good

    this book was amazing wen my english teacher recommended it for me i read it in 2 days. It was such a great book but its just upset me alittle about how she was so young n wanted to be the thinest girl in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    Great Book!

    I really enjoyed the book ~ read it in 2 days. Was disappointed with her 'getting over' her ed in just a few short weeks, because that just doesn't happen, but overall it was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    I read it in 2 days!!!

    This book was awesome. EDs intrigue me and I really thought the story was very well written. I can see myself reading this again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    AWESOME!

    This book was very inspiring from someone who was dealing with anorexia. Me. It helped me deal with the way that I was and that I was beautiful as I am. WE LOVE YOU LORI!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    Amazing!

    This is was a great touching book that I read in 1 night. I usually don't like books about problems, but this was amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2003

    Wonderfully Amuseing

    Stick Figure is an exciting book that i would read again, it tells the life of a little girl and having her deal with the pressure of being thin when she is only 11 years old! It is really funny and a great book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    Anorexia Problems

    This book was about a 11 years old girl.Her friend mom was always trying new diets and Lori was doing the same. On her halfbirthday she always wished to be the thinnest 11 years old girl in the whole world.then her problem was getting worse and her mom and her friends were always interest in clothes and guys.But she did not care about that.She had to go to a hospital because she didn't want to eat.In the hospital they said if she don't eat they will put a TUBE down her throat.......?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2003

    Prevention Through Tragedy

    This story opens your eyes to the truths of the world around us. Here is this innocent 11 year old girl who has so much on her plate, but in reality so little.. Lori goes through something no one should have to, especcially that young. The story just takes you away, you can't put it down. The only down side to this amazing book is that it might give ideas to those who don't want to find hope, only a short cut out. That is the flip side to such books as theses, they tell us all the terrible things they did to themselves, and then there is one person out there who is looking to do just the same and this gives them the answers. It's almost like a handbook for them, they just ignore the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    A moving and scary experience!!!

    This book was so powerful!! When you think of anorexia, some people don't think that it is that big of a deal but the main character in this book, lori has to go through so much pain and to make so many hard decisions like deciding not to eat. This book is good for anyone who thinks they are fat but really aren't and they need an awakening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    Very Powerful and Moving

    I think this book is the most powerful that I have ever read on this subject. The sad truth is that many girls feel the same way Lori did. Society makes us think that thin is the way to be. Her getting over her obstacle makes you feel like you've traveled this rocky road with her. I read this book and immediately went out to buy it. I applaud her for having the courage to let others learn from her pain...it was amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1