Customer Reviews for

Stick Figure: A Diary of My Former Self

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2003

    Sticking Your Figure

    When you were eleven years old were you worried about what your body looked like? Well in Stick Figure: A Diary of My Former Self, Lori Gottlieb was not until she saw the people around her including her mother and friends dieting so they would have "girlish" figures. But everyone, except Lori, thought her diet was a bad idea. Weighing just over a hundred pounds before her diet was their first clue. When she started eating practically nothing her parents took her to the doctors. The doctor then sent her to a Psychologist. Lori ended up being admitted into the hospital diagnosed with Anorexia. This novel tells the story of a young girls battle between life and death. I really enjoyed the book. It is an easy read, and it keeps you wondering what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2000

    A stroy of real triumph over real life obstacles

    This was an amazing book! The author tells her story so well that you feel as if you are the characters going through this tragedy in their lives. It is a great story for all teenage girls who feel the image that you have to be skinny to be anything as a woman in our society! I would recommend this to virtually anyone but I feel girls would get the most out of reading Stick Figure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2000

    One of the best Anorexia books ive read

    this book tells the gurls story perfectly. she describes in detail everything she had went through and her feelings at the time she had them. i recommend this book to anyone who loves reading, you feel like you are right there with her...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2000

    good book, but lacking some qualities

    The storyline is beautifully followed in this book, and being able to actually feel like you are reading the mind of 11-year-old Lori Gottleib, even greater. But this book lacked excitement, and kind of carried on the same way through the whole book. I know it was not supposed to be a suspense book, but it was a rather predictable line of an annorexia story: girl feels fat, girl gets skinny, people worry about girl...etc, etc. But, I read it in less than 24 hours, so definitely a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2000

    Excellent but Frightening

    I think that this book is a wonderful look into the mental part of this horrible disease of the mind, body and spirit. I have friends who are anorexic and I understand what can happen to them now, through this book, if I don't try to help them through all of it. I think it's wonderfully written and has hauntingly realistic descriptions of characters and plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2000

    I think the book is the bomb!!

    I love this book because it explains drastic measures of a girl that was basicly a wannabe. She was so into looks and perfect women she cut the fat of her and she was 11 yrs. of age 4 feet 8' and only 69 pounds. She still THOUGHT she was fat. She went down to 50 pounds. It explains how much ensiety there was for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2000

    Stick Figure by: Lori Gottlieb ***EXCELLENT BOOK***

    The book Stick Figure is a great book that many people would enjoy reading. The book Stick Figure is a true story about an 11 year-old girl named Lori Gottlieb who wished to be the thinnest girl in the world. Reading this amazing story made me wonder whether there are other girls at this age in the world doing this to themselves. Lori went through many different emotions in life that made her happy, too sad, and feeling alone. When Lori would feel happy, it would be because of the friends she had. What made Lori feel alone and sad was when no one would listen to her or let her do things she wanted. Lori had idols that she looked up to to lose weight, but this problem caused many people to worry about her. Lori ended up having Anorexia Nervosa at age 11. Lori thought this was a perfectly normal way to lose weight. She thought that no one would over react about it. Doctors saw that Lori was losing up to 3 pounds week by week. After ending up in a hospital for a few weeks, Lori finally realized being really thin does not make you who you are, it makes you miserable. When Lori was 30 years-old, she found her old diaries, and wrote a book about her life and personal experiences. She was hoping to reach people, and have them know there are healthier ways to lose weight, and to make you feel good about yourself. I really enjoyed reading this book because it was so touching unbelievably true about how things like this do happen. To anyone who likes true stories or want to know about Anorexia Nervosa will find this book fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2000

    AMAZINGLY FRIGHTENING!

    Personally, I was struck by the intelligence tha Gottlieb held at such a young age and yet what a difference maturity makes. Most frightening is the way that she rationalizes all of her dieting making something so scary and dangerous as anorexia come forth for what it truelly is- a devishly twisting frame of mind. this book is amazingly powerful and really reminds us of how easily we can convince ourselves to do anything, including bad things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2000

    The Best book.

    This book is about a girl who goes through her life of heart break.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!

    If you sometime tought about dieting think about it twice.In this book a 11 year old girl tell you the story of her life being anorecics.READ IT!!!ULL LOVE IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2000

    FOR ANYONE WHO'S EVER LOOKED IN THE MIRROR...

    STICK FIGURE is a must read for anyone who's ever looked in the mirror and wished for a different reflection. While Gottlieb grew up within the culture of Beverly Hills, the emotions and insecurities she describes are quite universal and remain paramount to the experience of growing up female in the late 20th century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2000

    A Diary Everyone Should Read

    This is the first book I¿ve read on eating disorders that actually puts you in the mind-set of someone as they become anorexic. It¿s harrowing and sometimes humorous, but always painfully human. The diary form makes it all the more immediate¿I read the whole book in one sitting. The writing style is crisp and never weepy. Men and women alike should read this book. I felt like I was finally able to understand how this can happen to anyone. But especially to teenaged girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1