Customer Reviews for

Stieg Larsson Millennium Trilogy: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played with Fire, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest

Average Rating 4.5
( 328 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(194)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Love it!

I absolutely love the trilogy. I love the characters and was hooked the first few chapters. It is a little slow but the wait is worth it.

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Please click here and read my review.

Steig Larsson's trilogy was unforgettable and outstanding. While there were some boring parts, they made up for it in hours and hours of some great reads of murder, mystery, and, of course, the one who started it all, Lisbeth Salander, or the girl with the dragon tatto...
Steig Larsson's trilogy was unforgettable and outstanding. While there were some boring parts, they made up for it in hours and hours of some great reads of murder, mystery, and, of course, the one who started it all, Lisbeth Salander, or the girl with the dragon tattoo. A new movie of the first book starring Rooney Mara ( Nightmare on Elm Street) is in theatres right now. I actually think that, while the 2009 Swedish subtitled version starring that one hot lady is good, ( the same hot lady who, by the way, is also starring in the second Sherlock Holmes movie which, by the way, is extrenely awesome) the new version is much more gripping and dramatic. This is a great use of your time and money, but, truthfully, you'll only understand the plot fully if you are at least sixteen or older.

posted by 6100658 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Love it!

    I absolutely love the trilogy. I love the characters and was hooked the first few chapters. It is a little slow but the wait is worth it.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Surprising in Many Ways

    This is an excellent trilogy that is definitely worth the time to read. The characters are unique, the plot is original, and some very good thought was put into the progression. The entire series keeps you hooked and guessing. It's fun and entertaining while still remaining thought provoking. It has a fantastically liberal view on women that is refreshing to read, and deals with sexual persecution without sounding preachy.

    The few downsides to the series, I think, are in the writing style. Perhaps lost in translation, but the style is rather bland at times, using no symbolism or metaphor or alliteration or any tiny details you might expect in a published novel. It in general straightforwardly tells you the story in third person limited while switching between the characters. The true insight into the characters are minimal, and in general they act in a predictable manner once their characteristics are established. That's not to say that the individual characters are uninteresting, just slightly one-sided. It probably would be a poor choice to read in an English class, but it makes a fantastic read for the general population.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Could not put it down, read 1,400+ pages in 3 days!

    When I saw there were only 100 pages left to read, I got sad. It's a shame that Mr. Larsen died before he could complete more than 3 books. That being said, the final book, english title; The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet's Nest, does wrap things up. We're not left hanging and that is nice.

    I saw the recently released movie before I bought the book and I am glad I did. The movie is pretty faithful to the book but "the book is better." I think it was easier to follow at the beginning of "Dragon Tattoo" after having seen the movie.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    I must read all 3

    I just finished "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo" and was compelled to immediately logon and buy Larsson's other two books from this series. The characters became so real I was sad to finish the book. I cannot wait to get the others and see what happens next. Not only did the characters come alive, the story was fabulous. The twists and turns were great and unexpected. The ending left you frustrated but it felt right. I love this book!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Good Thriller!

    The first book was so good that I read it in a few days, and now I am half way through book two...I do not want to put it down! I cannot wait to finish the trilogy!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Great book

    It was such a great book. I couldnt put it down. I highly suggest to those who love mysteries.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    If you like mystery novels

    Action and complex plot, characters you can feel. I give it all the stars I can!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    AMAZING!!

    I love these books. Definitley a great series and would recommend to all my friends.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    A murder/mystery worth picking up.

    This is typically not my genre. I picked this up because the movies were coming out and I love Daniel Craig. He reinvented the Bond franchise, and the Ian Fleming novels are a very simple and beautiful thing. The two have nothing to do with one another, though, and now I probably won't go to see his adaptation of Blomkvist. I also don't want to ruin any other character. They are so well-written and multi-faceted that I feel an actor would have a tough time pulling off a pleasing performance. Pick up the books and crash through them as I did. Save the movies for a weekend rental.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    A must read!

    Even though the first 75 pages are slow,they are needed for the whole of the novel. I love Lisbeth and her character is emotionlly deep and very rememerable! The characters contrast one another which also makea it thrilling. This novel,and the series, would make a wonderful essay or thesis!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I did not want to put them down.

    These books and their characters held my attention and I wanted to finish them as quickly as possible. However, i did not want the last book to end knowing there would be no more. The suspense is gripping.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Good Start to the Series

    Good twists throughout, interesting characters. Looking foward to continuing the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    I am half way through the third book and am love the series! I a

    I am half way through the third book and am love the series! I am dreading the moment when it is done and I cannot buy a fourth! Very regrettable that the author died and there are no more stories with Lisbeth and Mikael! Unlike another reviewer who also gave the series high marks, I do not find the characters "one-sided". Perhaps that is the case with Lisbeth to a degree but that is more due to her particular situation.. Mikael is a multi-faceted individual who is loyal, compassionate, intelligent and flawed. My only "complaint" is that all of the Swedish names of characters and towns are long, unfamiliar and or too similar and confusing. Maybe just me but it seems like all the names ended with son, sson, sen,... and since the author generally refers to the characters by the last name, I sometimes had to go and double check who was who... of course part of the problem could have be due to the fact that I could not put the books down I would literally read till I fell asleep! That may have added to my name confusion : )

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    I recomend

    Im a busy person, and i mean real busy being in the military. So when i do have time to read this book i have trouble wanting to stop. The plot keeps you thinking and trying to figure out whats going on through out every chapter. I havent seen the movie or read the whole thing yet, but i plan to do both.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Fabulous Read!

    I read the first book in 2 days! It was compelling, entertaining, thrilling and not predictable. I look forward to reading the entire trilogy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Paid advetisement foe Paid advertisement for Apple

    The book starts of good then falls completely apart. It actually felt like an Apple ad with a little fluff of a story.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Extremely exciting!!!

    I´ve never found anything so entertaining and exciting to listen to while driving. This trilogy gets you wondering and looking forward to know what is gonna happen next. Get ready for the suspense and unexpected facts on the Millenium Trilogy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Just make it through the beginning.

    This is a great start to an even better trilogy. It's starts a little slow, but at 50 pages in it had me hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Great reads

    Loved this series. A must read. They just get better and better as you read them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Great reading. Enjoyed the Swedish Movies more than English

    Books where a great read, Enjoyed the Swedish Movies more than the English first movie.
    Reading the subtitles was hard at first, but I still liked the Swedish version better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17