Customer Reviews for

Still

Average Rating 5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    Touching and Real

    Stephanie's honesty and candor are refreshing in a society that wants everything, even mourning, wrapped up in some sort of neat package. She allows us to walk her path with her, acknowledging that everyone's journey will be unique and that we will eventually accept what will become our new normal

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    Such an emotional support

    This book is such a great resource for people that will inevitably experience a stillbirth. My son was stillborn December 28, 2009 and reading Stephanie's book made me realize that I was not alone in this nightmare....that there are other women, other mothers out there that are going through this too. At times when I was reading STILL I felt as though my own thoughts and feelings were being reflected. She made it feel not so lonely to lose your baby. Her art is inspiring and it is nice to see her affect the world in a positive way form such a difficult experience. Madeline is so proud of her mommy and hopefully she is playing with Max. Thank you Stephanie for opening your heart up to the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    EXCELLENT RESOURCE

    This book is a fast read and a must read for anyone who has experienced a stillborn child. I think this book would be very helpful to anyone who has lost a child, however the loss came about. If you are someone who knows someone who has lost a child, this book can help you understand the raw pain your friend or family member is in. If you are a medical professional who works with expectant moms, this book would make you a better professional, and it's something you could share with patients if tragedy should strike one of them. I hope it can get into the hands of every mom who loses a baby as soon as possible after the loss. The author has a way of putting feelings into words that is just perfect. I think it will help women really identify their feelings and not feel crazy about doing it. I wish I had had it right after my miscarriages. It will certainly help parents who have lost babies feel less alone, which is such a horrible feeling. For the people who care enough to read it just because they care about someone who's experienced the loss of a baby, well, I don't think we'll ever know how much pain might be prevented by careless words that won't be uttered and how much comfort might come from more carefully chosen actions and words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    Very Well-Written Book

    This is about the heartbreaking loss of a child from the mother's point of view. I have never before read a book with such raw, charged emotion displayed within the pages. The author's strengh and honesty to openly talk about something that is never openly discussed is refreshing. I would resommend this book to anyone and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    Official book info from Sweet Pea Project's website

    When Stephanie Cole's daughter died of unknown causes one week after her due date, it shook her to her very core and set her on a journey into the depths of grief. Stephanie faced her loss head-on, using creative expression as a tool to navigate her way through the intensity of her emotions, and allowing herself to grieve honestly and on her own terms. In her new book, Still: a collection of honest artwork and writings from the heart of a grieving mother, Stephanie invites us in for an intimate look at that first dark year without her daughter.

    Stephanie has always had a love of writing, but never really considered becoming an author. Even as Still was being created, she didn't feel as though she was writing a book. Stephanie explains, "I write as a way to release all of the overwhelming emotions of grief from my body. Before Still. was a book it was my journal, my canvas. It was a way for me to express the unspeakable." Stephanie felt compelled to publish this very personal account in the hope that it will help break the silence of stillbirth. She wants to give other bereaved parents something they can relate to, to help them feel less alone in their despair. She also wants to offer a deeper understanding to those who haven't experienced such a loss so that they will be better able to support those who have. "There is such a stigma attached to stillbirth, nobody wants to talk about it, but this is a story that needs to be told. Nobody should have to suffer in silence. I want to begin a conversation that will ultimately allow other bereaved mothers to feel confident in speaking about the full truth of their motherhood."

    Stephanie finds strength and motivation in the courageous women that came before her, who refused to accept the status quo of "put this out of your mind, go home and try again." She credits Sherokee Ilse, Dr. Joanne Cacciatore, Kara L.C. Jones, Laura Seftel and Elisabeth Kubler-Ross as inspirations, saying that through their work they "reached into the ocean of my loss and pulled me aboard their little lifeboat."

    Stephanie is honored to now be in a position to pull others on board as well, but first she had to overcome the fear of putting such a personal, emotional experience out into the world for everyone to read. "It is a little scary" says Stephanie, "but I have to believe that someone will be helped because of it, and that makes it all worthwhile."

    Stephanie was born in Queens, New York and later moved to Lancaster County, Pennsylvania with her family. Stephanie studied fine art in Massachusetts and remained there for a few years after graduation. She has since returned to Lancaster where she now lives with her husband and two young sons. Stephanie works a few hours a week at an art gallery, Mulberry Art Studios, but her main job title is stay at home mom.

    Stephanie also spends a lot of time working with the Sweet Pea Project, which she founded in January 2009. The project collects and donates blankets to hospitals for stillborn babies and provides resources and support for bereaved families. Stephanie will be donating all of her profits from the sale of Still. to the Sweet Pea Project, where the money will be used to donate copies of the book to hospitals and bereavement organizations throughout the country. More information on the Sweet Pea Project can be found online at www.sweetpeaproject.org.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1