Customer Reviews for

Still Alice

Average Rating 4.5
( 988 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(569)

4 Star

(258)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

One of the most outstanding books I have read in recent years

For anyone whose life has been touched by Alzheimer's disease (as so many have been, and many more will be), or for anyone who is approaching the far side of middle age, this book is at the same time clarifying and terrifying. The author takes the perspective of the Al...
For anyone whose life has been touched by Alzheimer's disease (as so many have been, and many more will be), or for anyone who is approaching the far side of middle age, this book is at the same time clarifying and terrifying. The author takes the perspective of the Alzheimer's patient herself, one which is frequently overlooked by more "scholarly" works on the topic, and changes the whole tone of her writing as well as the subjects portrayed, as the narrator progresses further into the grip of the disease. She brings out many seldom-contemplated factors such as quality of life, support groups and counseling for the patient as well as the caregivers, and provides a gripping, touching, and horrifying sense of how it must be to feel yourself slipping away. I highly recommend this book to anyone. I have already passed around my advance copy and plan to buy several copies for family members and friends when it is released. A must-read for caregivers, relatives, and persons in the early stages of Alzheimers, and a goldmine for book groups.

posted by 2866exile on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An Amazing Perspective of Alzheimer's

When I first picked up this book at the store to read the jacket, my first thought was "I don't know if I want to read something that will be so sad." I am so glad that I didn't listen to that first thought.

Still Alice gives us a look into the world of Alzheimer's f...
When I first picked up this book at the store to read the jacket, my first thought was "I don't know if I want to read something that will be so sad." I am so glad that I didn't listen to that first thought.

Still Alice gives us a look into the world of Alzheimer's from Alice's point of view - an intelligent woman who is trying to figure out how to deal with her mind. How many of us know someone with this disease? Do you treat them differently after you have learned? Once you read this book, you may look at your own actions in a different light.

posted by Sherry_Young on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Amazing Perspective of Alzheimer's

    When I first picked up this book at the store to read the jacket, my first thought was "I don't know if I want to read something that will be so sad." I am so glad that I didn't listen to that first thought.

    Still Alice gives us a look into the world of Alzheimer's from Alice's point of view - an intelligent woman who is trying to figure out how to deal with her mind. How many of us know someone with this disease? Do you treat them differently after you have learned? Once you read this book, you may look at your own actions in a different light.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    "Still Alice" was an incredibly heart breaking story o

    "Still Alice" was an incredibly heart breaking story of not just a woman declining through Alzheimer's, but an entire family's journey. The story starts out showing how successful Alice Howland is. She is a Harvard professor, has a PhD, 3 grown children and a happy marriage. Slowly things start to change. Over the next two years, we see how this degenerative disease takes over the lives of Alice and her family.




    There were parts of the story that had me smiling because they are everyday things that could happen to anyone. Other parts had me tearing up. And then there were the parts that made me fearful for the future, and glad that I don't have this disease running through my family. This book gave me a look into the lives of the families that have this disease as a reality. They have my sympathy for what they have to go through, but more than that, they should be held in the highest of esteem and viewed with the utmost of respect.




    I listened to the "Still Alice" audio book. It took a long time for me to get used to the Author's voice. I don't think that she was the right person to read the book. Alice was a 50-something. Lisa's (the author) voice reminded me of a 20-something party girl. It may have been the East Coast accent that made me think part of this, but she is definitely younger than the character of Alice, which really threw me off. Also, there wasn't much differentiation between the character voices. I couldn't tell if Alice was the one speaking, or her husband, John.  I highly recommend this book, but would suggest readers grab the book rather than the audiobook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Book for Us All!

    As a lot of us are approaching or are in the baby boomer era, Alzheimer’s is a real subject which we cannot run or hide from. We worry for our parents as well as ourselves. Genova does a great job in tackling real subjects and dives into telling the real facts. It is hard to comprehend what actually goes on in the lives of patients with Alzheimer’s disease, especially when they have been so independent and intelligent most of their lives.

    You can feel the frustration and forgetfulness and being shut out in the book. I agree with some of the other reviews, it was taking on a bit of a medical journal feel instead of fiction; however, assume some of this was needed in order to tell the story realistically. John definitely avoided the disease; however, I have a sister who cares for an Alzheimer’s patients so get all the low down (which they can be funny) sometimes, and really hard with personal hygiene, and especially the struggles with their spouses and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Good but sad

    Would recommend to readers dealing with alzheimers in their family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Compelling but poorly written

    This is a very touching novel that really gives the reader a glimpse into the mind of a brilliant womam suffering from early onset alzheimers. I was rather underwhelmed by the quality of the writing, though. It was a bit elememtary in terms of vocab amd structure, and there were moments that could have been portrayed better. All in all a solid read. Definitely read it to understand alzheimers and dementia victims better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Hauntingly Beautiful

    This book was written well, you really get a sense of who Alice is and you struggle along side her. Although this book was well written, I would not recommend it to others because it is tragic and at times haunting, especially to those who have experience being around someone with alzheimers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Good read

    Never known anyone with Alzheimer's. This book provides an interesting look from the vicim's point of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    sad

    If you have ever searched for a word while mid-sentence in a conversation you will unfortunately be able to relate to Alice and have a small taste of her frustration of losing her mind. The author writes in a way that is easy to understand and straight to the point. As other reviewers pointed out, there is little literary merit but I just don't think that is what the book is about. The language does have a clinical and cold feeling at times but I think that is a wonderful way for the story of Alice to unfold. If it was all roses and sunsets or even a dark metaphorical path, we wouldn't be gaining any favors. Disturbing. Haunting. Depressing. You will feel the mind numbing sorrow that Alice experiences and find yourself praying that this horrible disease doesn't affect you or your loved ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    Not much literary value.

    I thought that this books was very thought provoking and wonderful in that it brings the issue of mental health upfront. However, the writing itself lacked any literary value. I read this book for an upcoming book club meeting, and I do feel that it will stimulate some excellent discussion, despite it's lack of literary value. Mental health is so often stigmatized, and as someone working in the field of mental health, I hope that this book will open many discussions to the topic of mental health. Thinking about Alzheimer's from the viewpoint of the patient was emotional and mind opening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Sad but true.

    Delves into the trials of early onset memory loss. To date, this has not been an issue for my family, however, in talking with those who have been close to the issue, this book may be too sensitive to read. It vividly shows how helpless one can become.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    I think that this book was a good read. I would not however want to read it again. It took a while to actually get into the book. Once I did it was okay.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5