BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Still Alice

Average Rating 4.5
( 1053 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(603)

4 Star

(277)

3 Star

(103)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

One of the most outstanding books I have read in recent years

For anyone whose life has been touched by Alzheimer's disease (as so many have been, and many more will be), or for anyone who is approaching the far side of middle age, this book is at the same time clarifying and terrifying. The author takes the perspective of the Al...
For anyone whose life has been touched by Alzheimer's disease (as so many have been, and many more will be), or for anyone who is approaching the far side of middle age, this book is at the same time clarifying and terrifying. The author takes the perspective of the Alzheimer's patient herself, one which is frequently overlooked by more "scholarly" works on the topic, and changes the whole tone of her writing as well as the subjects portrayed, as the narrator progresses further into the grip of the disease. She brings out many seldom-contemplated factors such as quality of life, support groups and counseling for the patient as well as the caregivers, and provides a gripping, touching, and horrifying sense of how it must be to feel yourself slipping away. I highly recommend this book to anyone. I have already passed around my advance copy and plan to buy several copies for family members and friends when it is released. A must-read for caregivers, relatives, and persons in the early stages of Alzheimers, and a goldmine for book groups.

posted by 2866exile on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An Amazing Perspective of Alzheimer's

When I first picked up this book at the store to read the jacket, my first thought was "I don't know if I want to read something that will be so sad." I am so glad that I didn't listen to that first thought.

Still Alice gives us a look into the world of Alzheimer's f...
When I first picked up this book at the store to read the jacket, my first thought was "I don't know if I want to read something that will be so sad." I am so glad that I didn't listen to that first thought.

Still Alice gives us a look into the world of Alzheimer's from Alice's point of view - an intelligent woman who is trying to figure out how to deal with her mind. How many of us know someone with this disease? Do you treat them differently after you have learned? Once you read this book, you may look at your own actions in a different light.

posted by Sherry_Young on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 277 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Powerful story

    This was one of the most powerful stories I've read in a long time. Having a family member suffering from dementia, reading the book gave me a deeper insight into our relative's behaviors. While it is a disturbing story, it is also one that will provoke conversation and give a greater understanding of those suffering from one of the illnesses involving memory loss.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    moving and heartbreaking in every way

    This is an amazing book, moving and heartbreaking in every way. Alice has early onset Alzheimer's and this book is told by her point of view which is scary and heartbreaking to see this professor at Harvard go downhill. You feel for her as she loses more than memory she loses herself, her comfort, her meaning in life.
    Her husband kind of made me mad I've seen how hard Alzheimer's can be on the caregiver but this was the first thing I've read from the person with the disease's perspective, because of that it was harder for me to be sympathetic towards her husband.
    I hope to never be in Alice's shoes it must be so awful to not recognize your own children and family.
    This is a very powerful read that I would recommend whole heartedly. If you know anyone whose lives have been touched by Alzheimer's they need to read this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    realistic, relevant

    As a 56 year-old professional, this book evoked both fear and an appreciation for life. As a nurse, I have worked extensively with adults in the later stages of dementia and have never been a witness to the earlier, frightening evolution. An excellent look into the torment of memory loss.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Enlightening. Very Good. Compassionate. Terrifying. Quick read.

    As a nurse of 30 years and having worked with dementia and Alzheimers for years, this book is terrifyingly "on" and really close to home as i am the same age as Alice and i was spooked for weeks after reading this. Excellent point made when comparing the quality of life and perception of the public of an Alzheimer victim vs a person with a cancer diagnosis. Alice's husband is all too real and true in his actions and emotional struggles. Love the support group for the patient as that is one thing that i have never heard of aside from care of the alzheimer person. Enlightening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Heartbreaking.

    this book is a must read for anyone that has alzhimers or anyone that has a loved one with the diease. it is a wonderful book, must read for everyone. Loved it, it will break your heart, sad but very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A haunting tale

    After seeing this book at my local Wal-Mart, I decided to give it a shot. I was blown away at the journey you take along with Alice. You can feel her pain and confusion. It is so heart breaking yet you have a front row seat to her experience. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to understand this condition.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Delved realistically into the world of Alzheimer's

    Well written, especially from a first time author. Although not a page-turner the book held my attention to the very end. I also understand so much more about Alzheimer's and know it to be a more devastating disease than I ever thought before. The perspective of Alice and her decline was heartbreaking.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    LOVED!!!!!!

    LOVED!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Sad

    I read this book a couple years ago and I still think about it. It's well written and very heavy. I highly recommenf it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Great discussion for my book club

    I could not put down this book once I started reading it. It is meaningful to many people. The author brings the story so alive I felt Alice and her family were a real family all dealing in their own ways with Alheizmers disease.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Still Alice

    Interesting to read about alzheimer's from the patient's perspective

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    Best Book I've Read This Year

    This is quite a unique book, written from the vantage point of an Alzheimer's Disease patient, Alice. And since it's written by a neuroscientist from Harvard, who has worked with many Alzheimer's patients, we can be confident that it's an accurate portrayal. I don't want to give away any spoilers but suffice it to say that the book takes us through the steps of the disease, and we see it from Alice's point of view. I have recommended this book to all my reading friends, and will continue to do so. All of us either currently have someone in our life who has Alzheimer's, or we will in the future, and we can all benefit from this marvelous work. This was the most moving book I have read in many years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    sad but good

    a beautiful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    check it out

    I have a friend that is starting out on this long, sad trip and I wanted to know more about it. It was quite informative but I felt very sad reading it. It is so difficult for family and friends. But I'm glad I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    It's a quick read...Very well written on a sad subject..I highly recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Lovely writing, beautiful story

    We read this book for my book club - normally I wouldn't select something that I expect to be so sad. However, I loved this book. I found it to be written in an engaging style. The characters were not black and white. And Lisa Genova writes about a difficult topic with grace and empathy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Wow

    I fortunately have never closely known anyone suffering with Alzheimer's, but this book has definitely brought a new awareness to me about about this terrible disease. It was amazing to see life through Alice's eyes, and the challenges she & her family now faced. Without giving it away, I was so upset with the ending. Not with the authors choice of ending...but for Alice! I'd spent so much time inside Alice's head...and was so mad with the "If only...". This was a great read...I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    Heart wrenching story

    This is a beautifully written story about a very tragic disease. Alice is a brilliant woman in the field of academia where she is both a professor and a researcher. She is respected in her field and has given many talks in front of many of her colleagues. She starts forgetting words as she is giving these talks - words that she has spoken many times before. She gets lost on her way home from a routine jog. Thus begins her fairly rapid descent into the frightening world of Alzheimers. It is told in Alice's voice, which gives the story an even more terrifying quality. This is a must read book for anyone interested in what this disease does to a person and his/her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Very emotionally-charged

    I loved this book, but I only gave it four stars because of the lack of any real ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Compelling and well written

    But painful to read for those of us who have lived it. An important novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 277 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14