Customer Reviews for

Still Foolin' 'Em: Where I've Been, Where I'm Going, and Where the Hell Are My Keys?

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Billy Crystal is one of my all-time favorite comedic actors. The

Billy Crystal is one of my all-time favorite comedic actors. There isn’t one of his movies that I haven’t enjoyed. I was surprised at what a great talent he has as an author. His book on aging is to die for. I haven’t laughed so hard from a book in a long time.

posted by JBecker55 on September 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Very Surprised

I stopped reading this book after the first chapter. This is not the Billy Crystal that the public knows. This man is someone who uses the F word repeatedly. I've put down other books for that same reason as well. The old adage of if you can't say or complete a sent...
I stopped reading this book after the first chapter. This is not the Billy Crystal that the public knows. This man is someone who uses the F word repeatedly. I've put down other books for that same reason as well. The old adage of if you can't say or complete a sentence without using profanity means you have very little English skills. Billy's idea of sharing intimate details of his life just doesn't equate to the public persona he has trained us to know and love. I was very disappointed since I've always loved his work.

posted by Sicilian on October 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Billy Crystal is one of my all-time favorite comedic actors. The

    Billy Crystal is one of my all-time favorite comedic actors. There isn’t one of his movies that I haven’t enjoyed. I was surprised at what a great talent he has as an author. His book on aging is to die for. I haven’t laughed so hard from a book in a long time.

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Billy Crystal never ceases to amaze. We know that he is a brilli

    Billy Crystal never ceases to amaze. We know that he is a brilliant stand-up comic. We know he is a gifted actor. Now he proves himself as a superb author. His book is filled with wit and humor about his personal aging process. At times I laughed so hard it brought tears to my eyes. Billy Crystal is surly a man of many talents.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Still Foolin Em is a book rich with Billy Crystal¿s trademark hu

    Still Foolin Em is a book rich with Billy Crystal’s trademark humor. Every page is a delight. Here, Crystal talks about getting old and finds the humor in it. A splendid memoir to say the least.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    I am still smiling after finishing this great book, I didn't wan

    I am still smiling after finishing this great book, I didn't want it to end. Funny, poignant, as good as his show 700 Sundays. Billy Crystal is a treasure. My husband is planning on reading it next since he also grew up in Long Beach. They way he writes about his family and other actors is so touching. Being a Yankee fan myself I especially enjoyed the chapters dedicated to his day playjng with the team. I hope he continues to write more books and also host the Oscars.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Very Surprised

    I stopped reading this book after the first chapter. This is not the Billy Crystal that the public knows. This man is someone who uses the F word repeatedly. I've put down other books for that same reason as well. The old adage of if you can't say or complete a sentence without using profanity means you have very little English skills. Billy's idea of sharing intimate details of his life just doesn't equate to the public persona he has trained us to know and love. I was very disappointed since I've always loved his work.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    I'm still reading this book, but last night I read the first 3 c

    I'm still reading this book, but last night I read the first 3 chapters when I went to bed and finally had to stop reading because I was laughing so hard I couldn't see the writing. I would like to get the audio book, but only if Billy reads it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    It is good that I did my kegels before I read the free sample!

    Very funny. I plan to buy a copy.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    I so wanted to give this book 5 stars, but just couldn't. The se

    I so wanted to give this book 5 stars, but just couldn't. The sections about aging are hysterical and he really knows how to make one laugh about the things that we Boomers know are coming or have arrived. If you are Jewish, or enjoy Jewish humor it is even more funny since Billy is very much in the tradition of the great Borsht Belt comedians, many of which he knew such as Sid Ceasar. Sadly this type of humor is on the wane because the tough times that Billy came from are no longer there for guys like Mel Brooks or Carl Reiner to start out in and use as the basis of the laughs we expect from that type of comedy.

    I think this book also gets 5 stars for getting a glimpse into some of the great movies and TV shows of all time that Bill was either associated with or friends with people who starred in them and let's face it, when the Jewish guy wins America's former sweetheart in When Harry Met Sally, who can complain? So, his anecdotes about so many people that tickled our funny bone really also make this a great book.

    There are many parts that also had me falling off my seat with laughter and that too gets 5 stars.

    But, what takes it down to 4 stars is while I am saddened and can relate to Billy's losses of friends and family over the years, he has been a big shot star for so long that he has forgotten what it is like for the rest of us when he writes. I don't want to to say that he he dwells on his self importance, but between the name dropping, telling you about watching movies with the President, playing for the Yankees, and all of his award and his endless "friends" in the business it gets a bit tedious, sort of a "look at me I made it and I am now so important" kind of thing. I mean his holiday card list has to have 500 names on it if you can believe all these famous people are his "friends." And yes Billy, we get it too, you have a perfect little family now and you can send the kid to Northwestern and not consider tuition, but some of us can't and so a little humble pie thrown in would have made this a 5 star.

    So, please Billy make this one it, we can only kvell so much over your glorious life with all your great buddies so much.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    This ebook sucks!

    This ebook sucks! It skips a page every 4-5 pages and I'm missing lots of content because of that. I would like a refund or a some kind of gift card/credit to purchase something that actually opens one page after the other without skipping content. I have no clue how much, or what I am not getting to read here. I am a faithful customer buying a couple books, or more per month, and this problem needs to be addressed.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Fat bashing - not cool

    Fat bashing - not cool

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Unfunny

    After the first chapter...just a self pat on the back

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Easy reading.

    I enjoyed "Still Fooling Them" because it was a light and easy book to read with out doing any thinking. Crystal gives a short basic story of his life from his young child hood until now in his 60's. While fun to read it would have been better if he did not do so much name dropping of famous people who adored him and making himself so self important to them and to his industry. Like many comics Crystal seems to have an odd combination of low self esteem and a large ego.
    If your a Chrystal fan buy it and enjoy, if not skip it and save the money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    highly recommend

    Loved it! Laugh out loud funny, tender and candid.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Liked it forabout 50 pages

    What a perfect life Billy Crystal has! What a perfect person Billy Crystal is! A bit too perfect. After about 60 pages, he became a bit boring. Haven't you ever done anything BAD, Billy?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Billy is a great actor, comedian, and an incredibly funny man wh

    Billy is a great actor, comedian, and an incredibly funny man who appreciates the little things in life and loves sharing it with others!! What a terrific sense of humor, very refreshing!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    not

    Started funny, but didn't really wanted to read about his life. I thought it would be more interesting and funny. Disappointed.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    Entertaining

    Book was very entertaining at times; however, he did seem to lose some flow when he skips around the time periods of the events in his life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Fun read that will have you laughing out loud! I plan on giving copies to friends this holiday season.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Billy Crystal the Man

    I loved the book. It's funny and serious and Billy has a winderful way of telling his story. He is so real and honest and I connect to everything he says.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Balls

    He talks about his old balls a lot.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6