Customer Reviews for

Still Hood

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    ...

    i thought the book was pretty good until the end...it like kwan thinks he just have to kill a few of the main characters all the time. i wanted jah & yoshi to grind it out together. the way they changed each other should of been for the best

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    K'WAN ... THE TRUTH!

    SIMPLY AWESOME!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Damn....that was something else

    I can't even describe what i read because it was so good....the ending was very sad though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    It was good

    It was better than the first one the only thing I disliked was it had to many characters at points in the book it took me awhile to figure out who was who which is too much when your like 200 pages in already. But it was good by far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    WOW!

    All l can say is WOW! This book was like watching a movie and l could not put it down. I love the way K'wan weaves the characters and stories together. This was a great sequel to Hood Rat and l can't wait to read the rest of the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    Excellent read I love the way K'wan thinks and put these stories

    Excellent read I love the way K'wan thinks and put these stories together....you won't be dissappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    enjoyed

    started out slow but it speed up quickly. i picked up my nook every chance i got. better then the first(hoodrat).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was better then the first

    this book was excellent. It took me a few days to read it, you will not want to put it down at all. Really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Once a Hood Rat...Always a Hood Rat!

    When does change embody storylines to take on more intrigue without damaging an author's muse and stylistic rendering? Is it a case of `once a hood rat always a hood rat'? Okay, you get the picture. If you've ever read a book by K'wan you would know what to expect, and perhaps understand my pet peeve about not giving readers a little more flavoring that would make the dish appealing. You would also know the types of settings that have been definitive of his writing and surely you would be able to predict what would be subsequent to the plot if his brand of characterization plays true to the game. The `game' in this instance is the same with a new address. It's the streets of Brooklyn centered on media madness in the form of music and the videos that fuel it. Our main characters are Yoshi and Jah. Yes, you met them in the author's preceding book, HOOD RATS. More of the same, you say? You betha! This time around we have have the two whom have embellished their relationship to the degree that romance is a thin unbalanced line between imaginary illusions and good intent. Yoshi plays her game to the hilt, always being in the right place at the right time while Jah is always a day late, and perpetually playing catch up and wondering how to acquire equal parity albeit with a streak of jealousness. The plot finds True, a somewhat successful artist who catapults to fame and fortune, only to find the enemies who want him out of the picture. The author paints Dena Jones as a quasi-tragic figure, who realizes that there's something more on the other side of the street, but circumstances says otherwise. She gets caught up in the game and manages to be two thirds of the catalyst that gives meaning to violence begetting violence. Others in the mix are Shannon, the older brother of Dena who only knows one means to an end - mischief and murder and the two-timing Lance,Dena's boyfriend playing up to a taboo relationship with Michelle. Mix in the usual gunrunning, dope dealing, and sexual machinations and you get a book this time with no significant improvement from the author's last offering. I read the book hoping to find solace in the fact that K'wan would give me more of his storytelling skill sans the sameness to his usual writing. The video shoot transforms the rest of the novel's depressing violence, including multiple murders, a less than appealing gang rape and the repeated acts that leave a less than memorable impression of an author that can write better. Greed and deception will always be major selling points in urban fiction, but what about enough denouements to keep us glued and clamoring for everything to tie in best for a story beyond the streets? I felt too, that the novel's cast of characters was a bit overblown that tend to cause a crowded environment. For K'wan fans, I'm sure would revel in the very uniqueness of writing Urban Fiction that they are used to. However, I rated it 3 stars out of 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    keep it hood

    i loved this book I was waiting for a part to to hoodrat keep up the good work K'wan and do it big with a part 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was so good, i read this book in 2 days,everything about this book was good, you wont be disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2