Customer Reviews for

Still House Pond

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Nice light book

    This fifth book in the Troublesome Creek series was a nice "vacation book". Nothing too heavy, yet thoroughly enjoyable. The author provides good character development and an easy-going plot. The book summary is a bit misleading because the train scene doesn't happen until about 2/3 of the way through the book. But thinking about the book as a whole, I think it's as good a synopsis as any because the story mostly just meanders through the three main characters' lives; Copper, Lilly, and Manda.

    I did not know when I started reading it that it was in a series, but it didn't make that much of a difference. I plan on reading the other ones now that I know because I think they will add depth of character and the book was a nice light read.

    I give this book a 4 stars. Light, engaging, and good characters.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishing as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    Lilly likes to play with her friends and not help her mother wit

    Lilly likes to play with her friends and not help her mother with her younger siblings. When her aunt invites her to visit the city, Lilly is excited to go. A train crash causes her parents to rush off to search for her.

    I took this book out at the library without realizing that it was book 2 but I had read another series by the author, so the characters were familiar to me. Overall, I liked the book and it was rather interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Kelleykid

    Very good book must read the series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    EXCELLENT INSPIRATIONAL HISTORICAL FICTION SET IN THE MOUNTAINS OF KENTUCKY!

    STILL HOUSE POND by Jan Watson is an Inspirational Historical Fiction set in 1896 Troublesome Creek, Kentucky. It is a continuance of The Troublesome Creek series but can be read as a stand alone. It is well written with details and depth. The plot and characters are easy to follow.It has faith, pride, survival, family, community values, midwifery, mountain people, twists, turns, family, melodrama, and trust. It brings back characters from the other Troublesome Creek books. This story actually goes between Copper, Lily, and Mandia.Copper, the midwife,mother, doctor of sorts to the mountain people, educator of the people toward health issues and above all the wife and mother of four children. Lily, Copper's eldest daughter, who is eleven, her father died several years earlier.Lily seeks adventure, loves her step father as her own, rescues animals, gets into serious trouble by rescuing injured animals, wants to go to visit her wealthy aunt by train, and is finally allowed to by her parents. She misses the train, which happens to have a horrific train wreck. Her family is not aware she didn't get on the train, but is kidnapped by a neighbor. Her mother, and step father go in search for her, soon learns she isn't there and get a search party going. Mandia, the hired girl for the Pelfrey family, wants to fall in love and have a family of her own, is attracted to a traveling singer, who is trouble. Mandia doesn't listen to want people try to tell her about this man. She soon learns her lesson the hard way and must face the consequences of her actions. You will see several of the characters are have been in the other Troublesome Creek books. Overall this is a well written story about about the era and living in the mountains of Kentucky. It is a good Christian read showing family and community values. If you enjoy sweet, easy to read, easy to follow the plot and characters and good Christian fiction you will enjoy this one.I would recommend this book, I have also read the others in the series,although this one does not bring the story of Troublesome Creek to an end, it leaves questions. Just as Copper is pregnant again, what happens to Lily and Mandia. This answers will probably be in the next installment. This book was received for review from Tyndale Fiction and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Still House Pond Book Review

    Still House Pond is about the life of a young girl, Lilly Gray Corbett, her mother, Copper, and their hired girl, Manda. The book preview tells of Lilly being invited to go visit her Aunt Alice in the city. The train crashes on the way and Copper goes to the scene in search of her daughter. This scene does happen in the book but the preview leads you to believe that this is what the book is about and I didn't find that to be the case. I did enjoy the book but felt a little bit mislead by the preview.

    Copper is a busy woman who helps with the births of babies in the community. Lilly is an eleven year old girl that helps take care of the younger children of the family. Lilly's birth father died when she was younger and her mother is now remarried with other children. Lilly has an aunt in the city that requests that she come to visit and sends the train ticket for her to come. Copper does not want to let her child venture out on her own but realizes that she is growing up and agrees to let her go.

    Manda is the hired girl that helps take care of the house chores. Manda is still a young girl that is trying to figure out her place in life and with love. She is just as much as a main character as Lilly. We go with Manda as she learns some valuable life lessons and that the effects of her actions ultimately affect others around her, something that took the endangerment of Lilly for her to learn.

    News of the train crashing sets everything into motion. The characters evaluate their actions and learn from their mistakes while trying to find Lilly. The unexpected twist was a nice surprise, only proving more that the things that we choose to do, whether good or bad, have an effect on other lives.

    This was the fifth novel by Jan Watson. She did a great job of showing her readers the lives of these women and the consequences of their choices. I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it as a good read.

    Still House Pond was provided to me by Tyndale Publishers free of charge for review purposes only. The opinions expressed are my own and have not been influenced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Charming AND Suspenseful

    Jan Watson's writing style is absolutely charming. I very much enjoyed this story. It started out sweet and engaging and then slowly morphed into a can't-put-it-down, spell-binding read. This tale has an amazing set of twists and turns but each flows naturally into the other, pulling the reader along in their wake. When the tension was at it's greatest, I actually had to stop reading and remember to breathe! Still House Pond held my attention from beginning to end. Furthermore, I had no idea that this was book two in a series until I started looking for more books by this author. The story stands alone well. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Would be better if read in the series order!

    Having missed book 1 in this series I wasn't quite as pleased with this book. I think, had I read book 1, I would have enjoyed this one hundred percent more than I did.

    That being said, I didn't hate this book. It is one that has a powerful story line with characters that are created in a way that come to life when you read about them. The author writes with the strength and ability of a seasoned author who's hands are guided by God as she writes.

    I would defintely read more books by this author. I would also recommend this book to others, only if they have read book 1 in this series. I do plan to go back and read the first book in this series sometime in the near future, followed by this one again so I can enjoy this one more.

    ~Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review~

    ~I do not receive financial compensation for any of my reviews. I do however from time to time receive complimentary review books to read and post HONEST reviews, positive and negative. The acceptance of a book does not guarantee a positive review.~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Still House Pond

    Lilly Gray Corbett is 12 years old, her father was a doctor, but he passed away, and her mom married again and they live on Troublesome Creek. Copper, her mother, is a midwife for the community and is called at all hours to catch babies, as Lilly calls it. She now has a little brother, and twin sisters who she has to care for when mom is busy.
    Her Aunt Alice, her father's sister, invites Lilly to come to Lexington to visit, and Copper, against her better judgement, allows her to go. There is a train wreck, people are killed and Lilly is nowhere to be found.

    Jan Watson has written a very compelling book, the storyline is very good, and it was with regret that I came to the last page. I'd highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good story.

    I was given a free copy of this book from Tyndale Publishers, to read and review. I received no other compensation for my review.
    The opinions expressed here are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Still House Pond

    Lilly Corbett Gray, loves pretty things, and animals. Always on the lookout to rescue a hurting animal or to spring some evil traps, Lilly is a little girl with a big heart. However that rescue mode is what leads Lilly into the biggest mess of her life.

    Excited about her month long visit to her Aunt Alice in the city, she is anxious to go. Waiting for Manda the hired girl to finish her chores, and walk her to the coach, that will take her to the train, Lilly hears a dog who is hurting. Unable to leave it be, she goes to investigate and finds her neighbor throwing a sack of puppies into a pond, and the crying she heard was the mama dog frantic with worry for the pups. While rescuing the pups, the neighbor catches her and locks her up in a moonshine shed.

    Finding Lilly gone, Manda figures she just walked to the coach alone. And Manda has her own troubles, the no good middling man from the band at the barn dance, has tried to take advantage of her in the barn and has beat her up pretty good. Manda runs away to her sisters, not wanting anyone to see her like this.

    The train that was supposed to be taking Lilly to her aunts, has a horrible crash, killing and injuring many people and sending Lilly's family and friends into a frenzied panic of worry. Will they find Lilly in time? Will they discover she isn't on the train and find her in the shed? What will happen to Lilly Corbett Gray?

    This story, set in the late 1890's is a great story. I missed the first of the Copper series (this is number 2 in that series), but I totally loved these characters. Copper, Lilly's mother would be a woman I would love to have known, you could totally feel her character leap off the pages. I enjoyed the writing style and the story very much. A great afternoon read. Due to release from Tyndale in August 2010. 376 pages US $12.99 4 stars.

    This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1