Customer Reviews for

Still Life

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Still Life is far from being still

I love this book.. I can't put it down.. I don't want it to end, so I'm taking my time towards the end of the book.. I read all of Joy Fielding's books and they are all wonderful.

posted by NonnaNY on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent original idea, with much potential, but fell a bit short

I enjoyed this story & it's characters however it could have been a little better executed. The "whodunit" was revealed a little too early which left little guess work. It did however keep you guessing how Casey will dodge her predicament. It keeps one cheering her on t...
I enjoyed this story & it's characters however it could have been a little better executed. The "whodunit" was revealed a little too early which left little guess work. It did however keep you guessing how Casey will dodge her predicament. It keeps one cheering her on to escape her circumstance. Well developed characters with redeemable qualities.

posted by denverbroncosgirl on July 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Still Life is far from being still

    I love this book.. I can't put it down.. I don't want it to end, so I'm taking my time towards the end of the book.. I read all of Joy Fielding's
    books and they are all wonderful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Fun read

    Enjoyed it alot

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent original idea, with much potential, but fell a bit short

    I enjoyed this story & it's characters however it could have been a little better executed. The "whodunit" was revealed a little too early which left little guess work. It did however keep you guessing how Casey will dodge her predicament. It keeps one cheering her on to escape her circumstance. Well developed characters with redeemable qualities.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    Great rainy day read!

    As usual, Joy Fielding at her best. This would make a great movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans of the Higgins-Clark mom and daughter duo will enjoy this taut thriller

    Casey Marshall is wealthy, successful as an interior designer, and loves the ethical man she married who insisted on a prenuptial agreement to protect her assets; he receives nothing from her estate if they divorce. She loves her spouse so much that she tells her two best friends at lunch she is thinking of having a child with her beloved.<BR/><BR/>Afterward she goes to the garage to get her car when another vehicle going at least forty miles above the posted speed limit runs her over; almost every bone in her body is broken and she quickly lapses into a coma. At the hospital she somewhat returns to consciousness though cannot see or move a muscle. However unable to see and paralyzed while seemingly still comatose, Casey can hear. Her visitors are unaware that she listens in to their discussions. She learns things about her husband, her friend and her sister that she wishes were untrue. The detective working the case informs everyone in front of Casey that the hit and run was deliberate by someone targeting her. When she is released from the hospital she returns home where her staking killer can finish the job much easier.<BR/><BR/>Fans of the Higgins-Clark mom and daughter duo will enjoy this taut thriller that builds up the tension gradually from the moment Casey¿s perfect world is shattered forever. Casey remains resolute even in her comatose state and with her injuries as she is determined to defeat her deadly adversary even if it means her death; she will not go idly into the night. Joy Fielding provides a strong suspense starring a courageous woman in trouble.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Joy fielding

    New author for me. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Still life

    This was a great book I loved it.it kept u wanting more this is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Must read

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    Boring and predictable. I guessed who the "bad guys" w

    Boring and predictable. I guessed who the &quot;bad guys&quot; were within the first few chapters. Definitely not her best work. I highly recommend &quot;Heartstopper&quot;, &quot;Charley's Web&quot;, &quot;Whispers and Lies&quot;, &quot;Mad River Road&quot;, and &quot;Lost&quot; instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Great story

    This book kept my attention all the way. Must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Loved It!

    This was the first book of Joy Fielding's I had read...Very Good! Hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Unique and excellent. Thrilling. Satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Surprisingly good!

    I didn't think I was going to like it since the main character is in a coma throughout the book, but Joy Fielding finds a way to keep you hooked! I finished this book in 2 days and I'm already searching for my next read from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    great...just great.

    when i read this book, all i can feel is annoyed and i want to hurt some of the characters inside! ahaha.. i want to stop them myself! Ms. Fielding is a great writer. i love her books. Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice

    Its nice book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    Not bad

    This book was reall good overall, although I was disappointed with some of the same old devices being used. The husband is a pill, the sister is a loser, I've seen all these things before. There is a death in the book which I thought totally unnecessary, as usual the whole thing could have been told in half as many pages. However, Joy Fielding still manages to write in a way that makes you want to keep going till the end, which is why i will come back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    "Still Life" gives readers a glimpse into their own secret wishes

    Who hasn't said, "Boy, I'd sure like to be a fly on the wall and hear what's going on in there," at some time in your life? Well, Casey Lerner Marshall gets to do just that, only she's not only a fly, she's trapped in her own body as a result of a hit-and-run car slamming into her at 50 mph. She can't see, she can't move, initially can't even breathe on her own, but she can hear! She hears the doctors, the nurses, her loving husband, her wayward sister, a nurses aid, and her two best friends. What she hears, and cannot respond to in any way, creates this intriguing, well-scripted scenario. Joy Fielding has woven Casey's thoughts into the conversations, and the reader eagerly awaits the next visitor. The conclusion is dynamic and guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    nice pace, good writing

    The book moves at a good pace and has an intriguing plot; I found it hard to put down. Although the "bad guys" are revealed in the middle of the book, I still found myself racing to get to the end to see if the heroine makes it! It's a good rainy day read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    I've read every book by Joy Fielding...this was her best!

    I enjoyed it from beginning to end. Gave me chills a couple of times! Very thrilling and very hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    I was hooked on the first page. I read all night and finished it in one day. I am glad I bought it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4