Customer Reviews for

Still Life (Armand Gamache Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 369 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

More than just a mystery...

Penny is Canadian, lives in Quebec, and that's her setting. Her detective is Armand Gamache, chief inspector of an elite branch of the state police in charge of investigating murders. Gamache believes the seeds that lead to murder are planted in the murderer's past, som...
Penny is Canadian, lives in Quebec, and that's her setting. Her detective is Armand Gamache, chief inspector of an elite branch of the state police in charge of investigating murders. Gamache believes the seeds that lead to murder are planted in the murderer's past, something emotional that most people would get over but in this particular individual, they remain and fester and eventually lead to the person committing a murder. The investigation, therefore, has to involve getting to know all those involved and delving back into the suspects' and victim's past to find the cause that eventually led to the murder.

Her setting is the very small and seemingly idyllic village of Three Pines. It is not shown on any map; those who find it do so either by accident or while exploring randomly in the area south of Montreal but still north of the border with the USA. The village is home to artists and poets, very interesting characters.

Penny is brilliant at including all the detail - when they eat, you get hungry - and presenting very interesting characters. Some of them feel that Three Pines is a sort of Brigadoon, the Scots village that magically appeared on earth for only a single day many years apart - a magical place apart from the rigors and ups and downs of the rest of the world. And yet, it is the site of murders which bring Chief Inspector Gamache and his eclectic team of investigators in to delve into everyone's lives because in Three Pines everyone is involved in all that goes on.

Highly recommended. This work and the entire series.

posted by barrya on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointed, Poorly researched

I don't usually write reviews on books, but I had to this time. This is one of the worst books I've picked up in a very long time. Rarely do I ever put a book down without finishing it, but this time I did, and it went straight into the trash. The author really shoul...
I don't usually write reviews on books, but I had to this time. This is one of the worst books I've picked up in a very long time. Rarely do I ever put a book down without finishing it, but this time I did, and it went straight into the trash. The author really should have done more research. If you know anything at all about archery, or if you are a hunter of any kind, you will probably find this book quite irritating. The author spent a whole chapter supposedly explaining different types of bows, arrows, tips, and "feathers," and in the process made very general statements about the equipment that are simply wrong. Considering the murder being investigated was committed with a bow and arrow, she should at least have tried to get her terminology right, and learn something about the murder weapon. The author also has a problem with hunting, which she makes abundantly clear with ridiculous stereotypes, painting all hunters with a broad brush as all being mindless, blood-thirsty, illiterate, poaching criminals who would just leave someone on the ground to die in the event of an accidental shooting. If you're into mindless tripe, this is the book for you. If you're looking for a well-written thriller of a detective story, don't waste your time and money on this book.

posted by ktfite on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 370 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    Very disappointed, Poorly researched

    I don't usually write reviews on books, but I had to this time. This is one of the worst books I've picked up in a very long time. Rarely do I ever put a book down without finishing it, but this time I did, and it went straight into the trash. The author really should have done more research. If you know anything at all about archery, or if you are a hunter of any kind, you will probably find this book quite irritating. The author spent a whole chapter supposedly explaining different types of bows, arrows, tips, and "feathers," and in the process made very general statements about the equipment that are simply wrong. Considering the murder being investigated was committed with a bow and arrow, she should at least have tried to get her terminology right, and learn something about the murder weapon. The author also has a problem with hunting, which she makes abundantly clear with ridiculous stereotypes, painting all hunters with a broad brush as all being mindless, blood-thirsty, illiterate, poaching criminals who would just leave someone on the ground to die in the event of an accidental shooting. If you're into mindless tripe, this is the book for you. If you're looking for a well-written thriller of a detective story, don't waste your time and money on this book.

    39 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    More than just a mystery...

    Penny is Canadian, lives in Quebec, and that's her setting. Her detective is Armand Gamache, chief inspector of an elite branch of the state police in charge of investigating murders. Gamache believes the seeds that lead to murder are planted in the murderer's past, something emotional that most people would get over but in this particular individual, they remain and fester and eventually lead to the person committing a murder. The investigation, therefore, has to involve getting to know all those involved and delving back into the suspects' and victim's past to find the cause that eventually led to the murder.

    Her setting is the very small and seemingly idyllic village of Three Pines. It is not shown on any map; those who find it do so either by accident or while exploring randomly in the area south of Montreal but still north of the border with the USA. The village is home to artists and poets, very interesting characters.

    Penny is brilliant at including all the detail - when they eat, you get hungry - and presenting very interesting characters. Some of them feel that Three Pines is a sort of Brigadoon, the Scots village that magically appeared on earth for only a single day many years apart - a magical place apart from the rigors and ups and downs of the rest of the world. And yet, it is the site of murders which bring Chief Inspector Gamache and his eclectic team of investigators in to delve into everyone's lives because in Three Pines everyone is involved in all that goes on.

    Highly recommended. This work and the entire series.

    28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    Faith in Modern Mystery Writers Restored !!!

    A great fan of the Golden Age of Mysteries, I am frequently disappointed when I try new writers of this genre. There seems to be an abundance of modern authors who write in a style that is horrifically violent, and even more who weave a "cutesy" humor in and out of the fabric of the crime yarn. Louise Penny is above all this, a great story teller with intriguing and believable characters, grand plots, and settings that make you go put the kettle on and get comfortable for a good night's read.

    27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    So much more than you think

    I'm so glad that the NYT Book Review introduced me to this series last week. This book was wonderful. I was so excited when I checked it out and saw it was $2.99, so I got it immediately and devoured it. It is so much more than a "cozy" mystery - no cutsey gimmicks, no horribly convenient plot twists, no stupid coincidences. Just solid writing, engaging characters, and plenty of surprising, insightful lines of prose that definitely should make a reader step back and recognize that this goes well above and beyond most mysteries. I immediately downloaded book two, and I'm excited that I have several more waiting for me after that.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still Life paints a wonderful portrait!

    Louise Penny's first Three Pines Mystery with Armand Gamache is WONDERFUL! I love the way she writes - and her analysis of human nature and the foibles and failings. I love the way she explores not only the mystery of the murder, but also uses simple vignettes to illustrate the tragedy the murder visits on the people of Twin Pines, from the friends to the victim's dog. She writes about people as they really are, not idealized versions of themselves.

    It's one of those books, that when you have to put it down, it whispers to you and you can't stop wondering what the characters are doing now, what Gamache will observe next to move the story along. You want to meet and interact with the characters of the novel and can't wait to get back to the story.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ENLOYED!

    The story takes place in Three Pines, a small rural village south of Montreal where gentle seventy-six year old woman named Jane Neal is shot through the heart with an arrow. This is a humorous, thoughtful, and captivating study of close-knit friends and relatives who celebrate their successes and mourn their losses together. Miss Marple anyone?

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Harriet klausner

    And of course we have harriet klausner along to ruin yet another book with her cliff note book report plot spoiler that totally ruins the book. Come on bn, when are you ever going to do something to this obnoxious postet. Ban her, delete her her posts, do something but get rid of her.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    favorite

    Louise Penny is my new favorite author. It is no wonder she is winning awards. She writes true literature. My husband agrees.
    Read her books in order and fall in love with the characters.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Wonderful Series!

    I absolutely LOVE these books! Each character becomes a part of your family while reading about them. After finishing this book I was sad to see my friends go...and looked forward to the next mystery awaiting me in 3 Pines.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    Great read!!

    I started reading this series with the latest book, The Brutal Telling, and fell in love with the characters in Three Pines. I had to get all the books in this series. Still Life is an awesome read and is well written and thoughtful. Inspector Gamache is like a great big teddy bear, but with some bite when necessary. The inspector goes about his discovery with a slow and steady approach to finding the real killer, but the truth comes out eventually. And they do love to eat. It always leaves me wanting to have lunch in Three Pines, just listening in on their conversations or reading a book at the bistro and feeling so comfortable. All the characters are strange and wonderful at the same time. Can't wait to start the next book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Beautifully written - can't wait to read the rest of the series!

    Still Life was a murder mystery written in such elegant prose it seems to create a new genre. Delightful, eccentric characters in a unique environment, and so many suspects I couldn’t put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Cozy Mystery

    Suprisingly good small town mystery. Anyone who likes to curl up with a good mystery full of interesting characters and strong main characters will love this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great mystery!

    I'm really glad I discovered this author. She has a great writing style and the characters are wonderful! The setting is different and the whole package is just a refreshing change from the mysteries I've been reading. The ending was a surprise. I have fallen in love with this town and the characters that live in it, and can't wait to read the rest of these books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    offbeat not sure if I liked a lot or not

    While I had to finish the book to find out what happened, at times I disliked the book because of its 'darkness'. It just seemed a little off at times. However there were also some clever parts, like when the author kept you waiting for a few pages to find out what book had been read. I probably will read more books by the author but I'll get them out of the library rather than pay for them.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    One of my new favorites!

    I love this book! A wonderful mystery filled with characters so richly detailed that I want to meet them some day! Can't wait to read more of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    I am so excited to have found this great series (Chief Inspector

    I am so excited to have found this great series (Chief Inspector Armand Gamache) by Louise Penny. I started and finished reading the first of the series "Still Life" in one day, have now ordered the second in the series. You are pulled into the life of Three Pines and its inhabitants in a compelling manner without being bombarded with needless obscenities or vulgarity.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Marvelous series.

    The first of a marvelous series of 9 books. Most wonderful writer. Could not put the books down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    I read this a while back but I remember that I enjoyed it. So well written and engaging on many levels. Set in Quebec, the Chief Inspector is called in to investigate the death of an older woman, whose body is found in woods. He believes it's murder but the local think it's an accident.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Decent cozy

    This well written, well paced book just did not catch my fancy. I had some trouble keeping some of the characters straight, disliked one intensely, and didn't really care too much about the others. The setting was very nice, and very nicely written. The mystery was fairly plotted, but something fell short for me. I will read the next because I really don't understand what was lacking. This book should be a delight to any cozy reader.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    I enjoyed this book so much I immediately ordered the second in

    I enjoyed this book so much I immediately ordered the second in the series and now am ready to start the third one.  The writing has a poetic quality that adds so much to the descriptions; I fell in love with Inspector Gamache, and the story  itself is compelling--an old-fashioned whodunit. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 370 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19