Customer Reviews for

Still Life with Murder (Nell Sweeney Mystery Series, #1)

Average Rating 4
( 572 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(247)

4 Star

(201)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

126 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

An Amazing Book that's part of an Amazing series!

Still Life With Murder by P.B. Ryan is the first book in a series about an irish catholic governess and her life with the family that employs her and their son that was thought to be dead. It is a mystery series with Nell( the governess) acting as an amateur detective a...
Still Life With Murder by P.B. Ryan is the first book in a series about an irish catholic governess and her life with the family that employs her and their son that was thought to be dead. It is a mystery series with Nell( the governess) acting as an amateur detective alongside Will ( the son that pretended to be dead). Nell is harboring a dark secret when Viola, her employer, gets news that her son is alive and in jail for murder. She sends Nell to go investigate and thus starts the beautiful but complicated relationship between Will and Nell. As Nell tries to figure out what really happened the night that Will alledgedly killed someone, she uncovers secrets about the town and Will's past. She and Will also have a chemistry that isn't easily ignored but they do their best.This book is for anyone who loves mystery.Set in Boston right after the Civil war, this is a fast-paced mystery thriller that involves crime, love, secrets, and death.

posted by CMACND on April 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

OK skimmed most of it

Poor editing - fonts change, spacing too. Very annoying. Story drawn out, if tightened would hold readers interest.

posted by 19203833 on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Buy all books at once!

    Bought this book because it was $.99. It was so good I kept going and I have one more left to read in the series. I was not sure if I would read the whole series because usually I do not enjoy the other books as much as the first. I have loved all of the books thus far and recommend buying the bundle if you enjoy this book! Loved that the main characters remained the same with a different story & mystery in each.

    Nell is a captivating young woman and secrets of the past are revealed throughout the series.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Real good Series of books

    It takes a little to get to know the charaters but once you do turns out to be real good books. Enjoyed it very much.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    I'm always looking for the first book of an author or a series. I recommend this one.

    This was a different time and place. Interesting characters and makes me want to read more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Top Rate

    Very good book. Never expected who did it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Recommend

    Nice story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2015

    well written, nice plot

    If author P.B. Ryan has a short-coming in this quite nice novel, it's that the author gets a bit wordy in descriptive areas, dragging out a scene which could probably have written much more concisely.
    However, on the flip-side of the coin, this wordiness sometimes aids in the continuing evolvement of the plot which takes some great turns as Nell, a governess for a rather wealthy family, seemingly takes charge of a murder investigation involving a member of that divided family.
    The characters are nicely developed, the plot takes some interesting twists, and the conclusion somewhat of a surprise.
    Although I'm not a great fan of period (historically slanted) novel, this one was a very nice read.
    I'm sure most will enjoy the characters who seemingly show strengths and weaknesses when the plot calls for that.
    \

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2015

    Good read!!

    Loved this book. Cannot wait to read the sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2015

    recommended to mystery fans

    Well written murder mystery set in post-Civil War Boston. Some details seem unlikely, and I could have done without the painstaking description of opium smoking. But overall a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2015

    A smart, entertaining mystery with an ending I didn't see coming

    A smart, entertaining mystery with an ending I didn't see coming. Well-written, with intriguing characters and a great feel for Victorian era Boston. Offering as free this first book in the series worked admirably, I'm hooked and ready to spend real money to read the other Nell Sweeney books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2015

    Riveting!

    A great read, well written - wonderful plot/mystery, characters, and history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    good

    good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Hello

    Excellent 240 page free book by an excellent writer. Late 1800's involving a Brahmin Boston family and Nell Sweeney who turns sleuth for her employer.
    Excellent writer.
    I found the entire boxed series on Nook for 99 cents. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    A great story with historical insights. Highly recommended.

    Lots of twists and turns make this a real page turner. The charecters took a little getting used to, but once into the story, it all made srnse. I enjoyed the historical information ad well. I would have liked greater detail as to clothing and decorating though. I hope she writes more,I'd definitely read more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    So glad there are more.

    I read most of this book not knowing it was part of a series. I was elated to find out there were more adventures with Nell and immediately got the second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Hard to put down.

    Nell is a very outspoken woman for the time. Great characters! Felt like you were right there in Boston! Hope to find the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Very good!

    Well written, good story, liked it a lot! Thank you! I just wish more of the books were available!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Still Life With Murder

    This was a good read. I enjoyed the ties to 1860's Boston city lifestyles and aristocracies. The story behind Nell sweet and sad, her future unlimited except for her own doings and how that unfolded was good and still forthcoming as this the 1st book in a series. Reading of boardinghouses whores aristocrats and opium fiends was quite interesting, that the latter were even noted was a surprised learning for me.

    SDCexy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Enjoyed it

    ,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    I managed to snag this book as a freebie, and after finally find

    I managed to snag this book as a freebie, and after finally finding the time to read it, greatly enjoyed the story. The storytelling is dark and a big long, but despite the length I found myself having to read "just one more chapter". The characters and plot are interesting and I look forward to getting the next installment. I really enjoyed the historical aspects (which appear to be well-researched), and appreciated the realism without the tale falling into "smut". All in all, a good little mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    Filled with fun and adventure.

    Excellent for poolside reading. Didn't want to put it down. Can't wait for next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11