Customer Reviews for

Still Life with Bread Crumbs

Average Rating 3.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully written story

It made me think of life as possibilities, with both beginnings and endings as never black or white. It was well written and entertaining and I found meaning, true to life, on every page. Brilliant!

posted by 3661628 on February 3, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

So , I agree with Amanda. Why did Jim kill the raccoon? This b

So , I agree with Amanda. Why did Jim kill the raccoon? This book is overrated. It is a lame story with some self-absorbed people who are insensitive to others. Really, how did this book get to be so popular?

posted by Maximillian on April 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    good book

    just not one of my favorites this year

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed Rebecca┬┐s story. At age 60, her life is in tran

    I really enjoyed Rebecca’s story. At age 60, her life is in transition. She’s moved from the hustle and bustle of city life into a modest cottage on the outskirts of a small town.  Rebecca has made a name for herself with her photographic collection called the “Kitchen Counter Series,”  but years later, her fame is beginning to pass.  She now finds herself in a reversal of fortune with less income and more bills and responsibilities piled on. Unlike what others may think, she hasn’t moved to the country for artistic inspiration but because it is financially necessary.  For her the change in setting and circumstances is dramatic, but it also gives Rebecca the opportunity to slow down and really reflect upon her past failures and successes. 

    Rebecca is a woman who thinks her life has already been defined and she has grown stagnant.  Through her journey she learns to break out of the box that she and everyone around her has placed her in.  Our lives do not move in a linear direction, where we find one career and stay with it, we find love once, and that’s it.  No, life is full of twists and turns, but if we can embrace these unexpected detours and open ourselves up to change, then new, exciting, paths await us.   

    Quinlan has written a powerful, poignant, beautifully moving love story about transition, loss, adaptation, and change.   The story moves slowly but it’s an excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    great book

    I really enjoyed it. I recommend it for older women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    3 1/2 Stars - Different subject matter - refreshing.

    I have never yet been dissatisfied with Anna Quindlen's books. This one is about mid-life dissatisfaction, problems with elderly parents, work issues, life in general.

    The star of the book is a photographic artist who changes her life by moving to a small house away from New York. It leads us and her through a sort of "coming of age, senior version" and was very enjoyable to me.

    I tend to stick with an author whose books I have enjoyed in the past, and Ms. Quindlen is one of my favorites. This book did not disappoint in the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    I really enjoy this author and her writing style. That said, th

    I really enjoy this author and her writing style. That said, this book was a little less dramatic than what I have read of hers in the past. But she has a way with the pen and can draw you into the characters and story of their lives like they are your dear relatives before you have finished the first chapter. Perhaps wrapped up a bit too neat and tidy with a bow at the end, but still a pleasing read nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    A great read!

    I read everything by Anna Quindlen. Her stories are very interesting. I enjoyed this one very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Great summer read

    As always, Anna Quindlan is a fabulous story teller. Her characters are vivid and are always like people we know. It's a quick read, enjoyable, but also quite predictable. It's like a fast food restaurant: tasty and easy but nothing memorable. Didn't challenge me to think at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2014

    Few Words, Much Impact

    Quinlan has a knack of implication. She packs whole scenes into a reader's mind with half the words it might take to write them out, and the result is major penetration. This story has an unlikely heroine (she's too old to be a heroine), in an unlikely place, (undefined semi-primitive country in contrast to NYC), in unhappy circumstances, and still she makes a funny, touching, suspenseful tale. Top-notch fiction in my book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Anna

    I am smart, shy, quiet. But less this year. I am more outgoing. How do I be even more? I wish I had the guts to toss around insults, always thinking of comebacks in my head. Life is strange.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Highly Recommended if you love Anna Quindlen

    I couldn't put it down but I love everything Anna Quindlen writes. Nothing earthy shaking or unpredictable just the usual nice story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Good easy read

    Enjoyed the book. Interesting characters. My book club might enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Reading this book was a complete delight! Wonderful characters and a great story-I didn't want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Keeping the artist in mind, but written for all of us...loved this book.

    Life is constantly tugging on our heartstrings and dealing with life's ever-changing challenges isn't easy, but the challenges touch everyone, as depicted in this wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Great story from a great author.

    A nice story about an artist's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    Touching.  Beautifully written.

    Touching.  Beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    I liked it

    It is well written, and delves into the characters. It chronicles the ups and downs of each protagonist and has an upbeat ending. It is a quick read but it stays with you. I do recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Very enjoyable read

    Interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Not

    Total waste gave it 100 pages liked her past books but dont waste money on this,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Anna Quindlen is a genius!

    Quindlen portrays characters you want to know and then she writes so you get to know and like them. Rebecca is such a character. This is a delightful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Good read not one of her best

    Quick read. Pleasant but not one of her best books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5