Customer Reviews for

Still Life with Bread Crumbs

Average Rating 3.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully written story

It made me think of life as possibilities, with both beginnings and endings as never black or white. It was well written and entertaining and I found meaning, true to life, on every page. Brilliant!

posted by 3661628 on February 3, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

So , I agree with Amanda. Why did Jim kill the raccoon? This b

So , I agree with Amanda. Why did Jim kill the raccoon? This book is overrated. It is a lame story with some self-absorbed people who are insensitive to others. Really, how did this book get to be so popular?

posted by Maximillian on April 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Beautifully written story

    It made me think of life as possibilities, with both beginnings and endings as never black or white. It was well written and entertaining and I found meaning, true to life, on every page. Brilliant!

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    I rarely rate the books I am reading or have read.  I make this

    I rarely rate the books I am reading or have read.  I make this an exception.  I found the writing to be beautiful...at times like poetry.  The last time i read a book a second time, it was A Tree Grows in Brooklyn when I was 12.  This book I will read again...Thank you, Anna...

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    Anna Quindlen is a gifted author.  She understands life and I fi

    Anna Quindlen is a gifted author.  She understands life and I find her writing inspirational.  The writing is so well crafted  and both  meaningful and a fun read.  She just makes you feel better. I will be reading this book many times.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Happy Endings

    Written artistically. It is rare to read a book where the narrative style matches the creativity of the characters. Would have given 5 stars if Quindlen had not contrived to let everyone overcome adversity and live "happily ever after".

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    So , I agree with Amanda. Why did Jim kill the raccoon? This b

    So , I agree with Amanda.
    Why did Jim kill the raccoon? This book is overrated. It is a lame story with some self-absorbed people who are insensitive to others. Really, how did this book get to be so popular?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    at 60 life sometimes slows down....gets quiet...while internally

    at 60 life sometimes slows down....gets quiet...while internally there is a constant movement of purpose...of upheaval...a change that becomes necessary...persistent in thought...not physically hurried, but mentally and emotionally looking ahead...as far as you can......for as long as you can live...sometimes with fear, dread, question, concern.....while others around you become smaller, sometimes disappearing..leaving, dying...and leaving behind some hope....some thing that gathers you up and propels you...into the rest of your life.....good for rebecca...for jim...for benji, for sarah, for tad.....for me and for you

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    Enjoyable book

    I enjoyed this story and Anna Quindlen's style of writing. It was a very enjoyable ready.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Excellent read

    I liked this book a lot - There are so many possibilities in life and this novel by Ms. Quindlen underlines this in a beautifully written way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    A good read

    I was a little concerned when I first read some reviews on this book; but bought it anyway. The book takes off a little slow, it does jump back and forth, however keep reading it gets better as it goes, and besides you really want to find out how it all comes out in the end. I would recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    As with everything else Ms. Quindlen does, the book is well writ

    As with everything else Ms. Quindlen does, the book is well written and plotted.   Am I alone in being tired of novels
    portraying a woman (usually one who is outwardly successful) finding in her sixth or
    seventh decade that her life has  lacked meaning?  That the simple things, usually found in some
    rural setting, are the most important?
    Frankly, I don't see much wrong with the life Rebecca led prior to exiling herself in East of Nowheresville.  
    It seems she has lived her entire life (one, it appears, she freely chose) without being happy.  IMO, authenticity 
    can live anywhere.   I'm really getting tired of being told through fiction that the only reality that matters is
    in someplace back of beyond, with people who live "authentic" lives. What is so inauthentic about living in a city?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Very good book would recommended it to anyone. Would read more of her books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    A wonderful, well-written story

    As usual, Anna Quindlen's use of the English language and imagery is beautiful. Her understated development of Rebecca's story is both poignant and amusing. It is a book to be savored.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Boring

    Not worth your tim

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    excellent as Quindlen always is

    well written

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Excellent

    Love the epiphanies

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Still Life with Bread Crumbs Very poorly Written

    I couldn't get past thde first three chapters. I really didn't think it deserved one star but I felt I needed to place a rating down
    Kloe Oregon

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    good book

    just not one of my favorites this year

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed Rebecca¿s story. At age 60, her life is in tran

    I really enjoyed Rebecca’s story. At age 60, her life is in transition. She’s moved from the hustle and bustle of city life into a modest cottage on the outskirts of a small town.  Rebecca has made a name for herself with her photographic collection called the “Kitchen Counter Series,”  but years later, her fame is beginning to pass.  She now finds herself in a reversal of fortune with less income and more bills and responsibilities piled on. Unlike what others may think, she hasn’t moved to the country for artistic inspiration but because it is financially necessary.  For her the change in setting and circumstances is dramatic, but it also gives Rebecca the opportunity to slow down and really reflect upon her past failures and successes. 

    Rebecca is a woman who thinks her life has already been defined and she has grown stagnant.  Through her journey she learns to break out of the box that she and everyone around her has placed her in.  Our lives do not move in a linear direction, where we find one career and stay with it, we find love once, and that’s it.  No, life is full of twists and turns, but if we can embrace these unexpected detours and open ourselves up to change, then new, exciting, paths await us.   

    Quinlan has written a powerful, poignant, beautifully moving love story about transition, loss, adaptation, and change.   The story moves slowly but it’s an excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    great book

    I really enjoyed it. I recommend it for older women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    3 1/2 Stars - Different subject matter - refreshing.

    I have never yet been dissatisfied with Anna Quindlen's books. This one is about mid-life dissatisfaction, problems with elderly parents, work issues, life in general.

    The star of the book is a photographic artist who changes her life by moving to a small house away from New York. It leads us and her through a sort of "coming of age, senior version" and was very enjoyable to me.

    I tend to stick with an author whose books I have enjoyed in the past, and Ms. Quindlen is one of my favorites. This book did not disappoint in the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5