BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Still Life with Crows (Special Agent Pendergast Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 263 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    One of their best!

    Ive read all the Pendergast books and this one is one of my favorites. Very chilling. I enjoyed all the ancillary characters as well. You really get the feeling of isolation in this small town in the middle of corn country. A great read that I found difficult to put down.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Love this book

    I absolutely love the Agent Pendergast series. All the books are excellent. This one seems to be a little out there and is a bit gruesome but they pulled this one off with an excellent ending that made everything come together as you could only expect from Preston and Child. I loved it! Excellent read! Can't wait to start another from these two!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was awesome

    This was the first Pendergast book that I read. It kept on the edge of my seat through the whole book. After finishing this book I could'nt wait to get my hands on all the other Pendergrast novels. The characters in this book were great and made me feel like I was stuck in that midwest town with them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2004

    Great Book! I Couldn't Put It Down!

    From the minute I started the book I knew it would be a page turner and I wasn't let down. The book was scary, mysterious, and kept you on the edge of your seat till the very end with a shocking twist.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Could not put it down

    Another page turner. I cant wait to read the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Blues Clues

    Still life with Crows by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. Sheriff Dert Hazen z man set his ways does not appreciate any interference especially from Pendergast. But of course the intrepid FBI Agents talk about there opinions as he goes after clues in an attempt to unlock the key to murders which may be from some historical events. I haven't finished yet but this is a very good book I recommend it to any reader.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    One of my favorites!

    I love this book! It's creepy and funny and twisty and I never knew what was going to happen, and I love that! Douglas Preston and Lincold Child have really started a great character with Agent Pendergast and I look foward to many more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Something dark stirs in the corn, stay away or you'll be mourned

    The fourth book in the series has plenty of thrills, chills and surprises but the format changes from the usual Preston/Child way of tackling this saga. The backdrop of New York City is left behind, Special Agent Pendergast takes a small "vacation" which is only a cover up for tackling yet another gruesome case, this time taking place in remote town of Medicine Creek, Kansas. Quite a change from the mysterious urban setting we see Pendergast in, his usual friends and helpers are missing as well, replaced with a local named Carrie, a girl whom no one understands, no one other than Pendergast of course, and the two opposites seem more alike than different in the strange farm setting. Always having a keen nose for finding trouble, Pendergast sticks out like a sore thumb in the sea of farmers and town folk. Dressed in expensive hand made wool suits and shoes, always in black, the tall and wonderfully proper agent gets on the nerves of the local police force, almost magically always at the right time in the right place to find clues and bodies which never stop popping up. When it appears that a madman is on the loose and the killings are extremely weird and macabre, each death more bizarre than the last, it doesn't take long for Pendergast to notice that something out of the ordinary is going on. Is the devil in flesh visiting the small sleepy town or is it indeed a work of a man, somehow untraceable and invisible. The mystery was interesting but the way it was being solved was even more fun, Douglas and Preston do an excellent job of breathing life into simple pages filled with words, making it read like a movie. <BR/><BR/>Cornfields can be creepy, somehow movies and books always use them to the maximum for adding the element of mystery and confusion, the chases and surprises always lead to the fields where prey and the predator play. This novel does is it brilliantly, people go in and some never come out... <BR/><BR/>What I love about this series, other than Pendergast who is a fantastic and mesmerizing character, is that the reader never knows if something supernatural is going on or if life in the story is really that weird and bizarre. Monsters, ghosts, demons, they are all possible here but sometimes it's the human evil that makes the deeds appear form out of this world. Best part is reading on and finding out which will take place in the novel and these are juicy and wonderful and always a delight to read. The only negative thing about this book was the length, somehow about a hundred pages before the end I was craving the conclusion and one part of the story kept going on and on, driving me crazy, but other than that I loved the book and will always think of it fondly. <BR/><BR/>- Kasia S.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    Scared the heck out of me!

    This book was outstanding. I usually don't get scared reading books, but this one had me sleeping with the light on. I highly recommend this book to anyone that loves a scary read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    GREAT BOOK!

    This book was fabulous! I could not put it down, I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Great book

    Another view of Pendergast in another setting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    .

    Very good series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Another Hit!

    Another great Agent Pendergast book. Love this series. You never get bored with this series. Great page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Thriller!

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    ,

    ,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Hooked on pendergast

    Keep pendergast coming. Cant get enough of him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    My favorite of the Pendergast series.  Hard to put down.  

    My favorite of the Pendergast series.  Hard to put down.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    The best of the Pendergast novels!

    As a dyed in the wool Pendergast fan, I have read all of the books. Still Life with Crows is unequivocally the best of the lot! The story line is intriguing and written with the usual Preston & Child details that make you feel as if you are actually living the experience. Parts of this book had me literally turning pages as fast as I could. Character development is to their usual high standard and an engaging new character is introduced in this book. Best of all,the ending was totally unexpected and just blew me away. I've gotten fairly good at predicting the endings, but this one was so surprising that I still think about it. I'm intentionally not including details of this book so I won't spoil the best ride ever on the Pendergast train!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Definite MUST-READ!

    Suspense,intrigue, and mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Preston & Child deliver again!

    I was hooked from the very beginning of "Still Life With Crows", and I especially love it when Special Agent Pendergast is involved! Exceptionally written suspense, adding the right amount of real history, folklore, corporate greed, prejudice, hidden secrets in a small rural town, & the twists and turns of an unstable mind makes this a wonderful thriller I could not put down. The conclusion left me completely stunned, and, of course, put all the bizarre events into perfect sense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 263 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14