Customer Reviews for

Still Life with Crows (Special Agent Pendergast Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    One of their best!

    Ive read all the Pendergast books and this one is one of my favorites. Very chilling. I enjoyed all the ancillary characters as well. You really get the feeling of isolation in this small town in the middle of corn country. A great read that I found difficult to put down.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was awesome

    This was the first Pendergast book that I read. It kept on the edge of my seat through the whole book. After finishing this book I could'nt wait to get my hands on all the other Pendergrast novels. The characters in this book were great and made me feel like I was stuck in that midwest town with them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2004

    Great Book! I Couldn't Put It Down!

    From the minute I started the book I knew it would be a page turner and I wasn't let down. The book was scary, mysterious, and kept you on the edge of your seat till the very end with a shocking twist.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Could not put it down

    Another page turner. I cant wait to read the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    One of my favorites!

    I love this book! It's creepy and funny and twisty and I never knew what was going to happen, and I love that! Douglas Preston and Lincold Child have really started a great character with Agent Pendergast and I look foward to many more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    Scared the heck out of me!

    This book was outstanding. I usually don't get scared reading books, but this one had me sleeping with the light on. I highly recommend this book to anyone that loves a scary read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    GREAT BOOK!

    This book was fabulous! I could not put it down, I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    .

    Very good series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Another Hit!

    Another great Agent Pendergast book. Love this series. You never get bored with this series. Great page turner!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Thriller!

    Great read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    My favorite of the Pendergast series.  Hard to put down.  

    My favorite of the Pendergast series.  Hard to put down.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    The best of the Pendergast novels!

    As a dyed in the wool Pendergast fan, I have read all of the books. Still Life with Crows is unequivocally the best of the lot! The story line is intriguing and written with the usual Preston & Child details that make you feel as if you are actually living the experience. Parts of this book had me literally turning pages as fast as I could. Character development is to their usual high standard and an engaging new character is introduced in this book. Best of all,the ending was totally unexpected and just blew me away. I've gotten fairly good at predicting the endings, but this one was so surprising that I still think about it. I'm intentionally not including details of this book so I won't spoil the best ride ever on the Pendergast train!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    SO GOOD BUT SO SCARY

    Where I live I am surrounded by corn fields! Made reading this book extra creepy. HUH HUH ::shudder::

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    This is the first Preston and Childs book I've read. I loved it.

    This is the first Preston and Childs book I've read. I loved it. Iam halfway through Cabinet of Curiosities and just ordered Relic and Reliquary! I am looking forward to reading them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    PROBABLY MY FAVOURITE SO FAR.

    Highly recommend you get to know Pendergast; waiting anxiously for the pre-order of TWO GRAVES coming out early December...l think it's important to read FEVER DREAM and COLD VENGEANCE first.
    Hope these wonderful authors will write more stories including Pendergast & Lieutenant D'Agosta. Would like to hear more about Viola & whether she will become his love interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Best of the bunch

    I have read all of the Agent Pendergast books and this ismy favorite. It can be read on its own, so if you have not read the others, it should not be a problem. I liked the characters and it was just a bit scary. I almost needed to sleep with a light on! This is a book I suggest to people when they ask for a book reccomendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Awesome Book

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Awesomely scarey!

    One of their best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Standout

    I have read this entire series and wait anxiously for the next book...but there was something about this one that makes it standout. My husband and I will both mention this book when talking about the series. You could enjoy this book alone...but I bet you'd want more after reading it. The main character of the series, Aloysius Pendergast, is unforgettable and surrounded by people you grow to love...and hate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Completely Warped

    That's what the bad guy in this book is! An amazing twist that will ruin your childhood memories. Excellent reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8