Customer Reviews for

Still Life with Woodpecker

Average Rating 4.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Darkwing

    She sits coverring her ears

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Snowfall

    Sees a mouses and quickly pounced on it breaking its neck in her jaws

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2003

    had the potential of being a great storyline

    as with the first reviewer i agree, this book wasnt as great as his previous works. the only one that i have read besides still life with woodpecker is skinny legs and all and that book just resonated with exitement, thrill, and laughter. i found still life with woodpecker to be lacking in many areas of the storyline. for one thing, there wasnt any daffying style humor that i was accustom to know him having in his works. second, i found that the main character (leigh-cheri) was quite familar to another of his characters in a completely different novel (ellen-cherry charles). for those who are familiar with the latter character, as you are reading this book its sort of hard to get into the storyline of still life with woodpecker. another disappointment was the structure of the format of the book; mainly, the placements of a prologue, several interludes, and an epilogue. all of which are highly annoying and didnt seem best fitted in a tom robbins novel. they just didnt belong there. the constant mentioning of his Remington SL3 and whether or not it was up for the task of taking on such a story was just out of place. the way the interludes and god the end, it gave me the impression that he must of been drunk or on a hangover when he was actually working on this novel. all in all, i think that if a reader were to attempt to enjoy this novel that he/she should read this book within one or two sit ins. maybe that will change the pace and drama of the storyline and actually make the mentioning of the Remington SL3 seem relevant. its a quite funny storyline when you think about it but there were definitely room for that robbinesque swagger. there are still some questions that i would have loved to have seen pertinent to the outcome of the characters if they would have been incorporated within the story. maybe even making the fate of the constructed pyramid a little more interesting or maybe ending the story with them being rich, deaf, and as an ambassador to the Carefest/Argon convention. also keep in mind that this was a work that he published in 1980, when he was relatively finding himself as a writer and after ten years of evolving one of his most funniest/exhilirating/popular novels was published in 1991. in the end, its best if you read the book and see for yourself. you'll definitely find the woodpecker to be a very comical and vibrant character. p.s. whatever happened to leigh-cheri's love for ralph nader. it would have been so funny if he was mentioned as a proponent to pyramidology and had a crazy idea to have it incorporated as a white house department if he were elected into the next election, as well as the surreptitious govt. study of lunaception and whether the queen of england knew about it all along and carelessly gratifited herself with its discovery. you see, the possibilites of this storyline is endless......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2003

    obviously an early work

    I usually adore Tom Robbin's work; however, this one didn't quite do it for me. This novel proved just how much he has streamlined (?) his work over the years. I found his descriptions to be way too over done. The interludes and commentary on the the typewrite just got on my nerves.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1