Customer Reviews for

Still LoLo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Still Lolo was an encouraging story about God¿s work in the life

Still Lolo was an encouraging story about God’s work in the life of the Scruggs’ family. I thought the story would be about Lauren’s accident and recovery, but it is the story of God’s working in her whole family through the years. Different chapters are written from di...
Still Lolo was an encouraging story about God’s work in the life of the Scruggs’ family. I thought the story would be about Lauren’s accident and recovery, but it is the story of God’s working in her whole family through the years. Different chapters are written from different family member’s points of view. God is still performing miracles, and this book really gives God the glory!

posted by pinkgirlLS on August 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book would be good, except this story is one that can be to

This book would be good, except this story is one that can be told over and over, from many different points of view. So many people in this world suffer tragedy on a daily basis, and to read about an affluent family's problems seems trivial when compared to human slave...
This book would be good, except this story is one that can be told over and over, from many different points of view. So many people in this world suffer tragedy on a daily basis, and to read about an affluent family's problems seems trivial when compared to human slavery, kidnapping, etc. These things take place EVERYDAY, and this story is in no way unique or special. Kudos to Lauren for surviving her tragedy, but it doesn't make her unique. In fact, it is shameful that this family, who is so wealthy, thinks their experiences are so horrendous and difficult. There are millions of people living in poverty around the world who have no access to medical help or monetary assistance who can't just "fix" their problems like this family. It's disheartening to know that the public puts so much stock in someone who has it all. It's not hard to succeed when every avenue is open to you. If you want a REAL inspirational story, I suggest "I Am Malala" by Malala Yousafzai. 

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    I liked the cover and the font of the title.  It seemed very rea

    I liked the cover and the font of the title.  It seemed very real.  I also liked her picture on the front.
    Description (from Goodreads): In December 2011, Lauren ("LoLo") Scruggs, a 23-year-old fashion journalist, suffered a sudden injury that made headlines around the world.  She had been on a short flight to look at Christmas lights and, upon exiting the small plane, was hit by the still-moving propeller blade.  A frantic 911 call, several major surgeries, and thousands of prayers later: Lauren lived.  But she lost her left hand and left eye.  And she had to face some incredibly difficult questions: "What kind of future will I have? Where is God in all this pain? Will anyone ever be able to love me now?"  In "Still LoLo," Lauren speaks out for the first time since her accident.  She and her family reveal what really happened that night, what Lauren's life is like today, what got them through their journey toward healing, and how they conquered all odds to persevere as a family.  It's a compelling and fiercely beautiful story of faith, determination, and staying true to who you are--no matter what.
    Language: 0.
    Other objectionable: The accident is somewhat descriptive, mention of divorce, mention of going to a nightclub, Lauren strays from her faith a bit at one point in her life, and some kissing.
    Suitable for: Highschoolers and older are really going to like this book.
    Pros: I loved that it was Lauren and her twin sister, father, and mother telling the story from each of their different perspectives.  It made the story seem so real.  The beginning was a tear-jerker for me, and I'm sure that isn't rare at all. :( Lauren's story is very inspiring, and one we should all pay attention to.  She encourages people to be courageous in everyday life, especially when you have to fight battles in your life.  The story was very dramatic and kept me holding my breath throughout the book.
    Cons: I can't say anything negative about someone's personal story. It was amazing. :)
    Tyndale Blog Network
    I received a copy of this book free from Tyndale House Publishers and the views I have expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    Still Lolo is the incredible story of a fashion model who had be

    Still Lolo is the incredible story of a fashion model who had been seeing the Christmas lights from a small plane in the air. It was so dark when they landed that Lolo walked into the spinning plane propeller, losing both an eye and a hand. At that point the book goes back in time to describe her life growing up. She and her twin sister Brittany had parents who divorced when they were 4 years old. However, thanks to their mother’s conversion to Christ and their father’s prayers to God for a godly wife, their parents later remarried. The girls attended Texas A & M together until Lolo became more interested in the fashion world than college. Then their mother suggested she do an internship at Gossip Girl which she did. That was followed by more time in college and doing freelancing for an on line fashion magazine. Eventually Lolo went to New York even though she knew this wasn’t God’s wish for her. She became quite sick with weird skin color, nausea, and passing out in the subway station. It turned out she was bleeding internally with a high temperature. Although she could have died, she didn’t. Over and over, through one adventure after another, Lolo manages to not just survive but to succeed. It’s an amazing book you won’t want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    This book is great. I love how the entire Scrugg family had a pa

    This book is great. I love how the entire Scrugg family had a part in writing it and that it not only told about the accident and life after, but life before as well. I love how they include struggles, physically, mentally, spiritually and emotionally as well as triumphs. It shows that with God you can do anything! Go read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    Still Lolo is written by Lauren Scruggs as well as her family. T

    Still Lolo is written by Lauren Scruggs as well as her family. The subtitle is a spinning propeller, a horrific accident, and a family's journey of hope. Lauren Scruggs was a fashion journalist when a simple air plane ride to see the cities Christmas lights turned into an accident that would changer he life. Left without an eye and a hand in addition to needing brain surgery and a multitude of other things, it is a miracle she survived. This is the story has told through the views of Lauren, her mother, her father, and her twin sister. Not only is this a story of the accident but a story of her life which has God's grace and hope written all over it.




    This book was great. I hadn't heard about this even though it received major television news coverage. (maybe because we don't have tv LOL) I loved how it was written from different perspectives. For someone who is worried about non-fiction books this one was great! I enjoyed reading it and it truly encourages you in your faith. Plus I will now be praying for the Scruggs family as they continue to find ways to pay for all the medical bills from this horrific accident. This is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    Unexpectedly Powerful and Beautiful. This one made me cry. Laure

    Unexpectedly Powerful and Beautiful. This one made me cry. Lauren tells of her journey full of pain and miracles, and the sister, mother and father express how they made it through. It is enlightening in more than one way. Her father works out his grief partly by visiting the accident site, and the diagram and his research were eye-opening. Many aspects of the accident and the road to recovery are explained so well that it kept my interest to the end. These are brave and open people to share their lives this way. I did not expect such a beautiful testimony of strength. This whole family inspired me with their steadfast faith and love. In fact, their example shames me because I have not followed my beliefs as closely. It is a lovely expression of grace and helps me resolve to renew my faith. Difficult issues arise but restoration is ultimately received. Oh, yes, and the photos in the paperback are absolutely beautiful and precious

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    I loved this book! This book had me almost in tears from time to

    I loved this book! This book had me almost in tears from time to time, yet it also had me laughing from time to time. I love that the whole Scrugg's family shared in the writing of this book, so you get different perspectives. I also loved that this book wasn't all about her accident it shared a lot of what happened in the Scrugg's family before the accident (including the divorce and remarriage of Lauren's parents) as well as what happened after. This book was inspiring and motivating and there is not much more I can say about this book, other than "go read it!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1