BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Still LoLo: A Spinning Propeller, a Horrific Accident, and a Family's Journey of Hope

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Looking to be inspired to live out your dreams? Take a read!

We all want to believe that we would have the courage to survive a terrible accident; however, Lauren has the scars and story to prove she did. Still Lolo is a story of tragedy but also of triumph and never losing sight of your dreams.

posted by Anonymous on November 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hmm¿Still LoLo is difficult to rate. The story of the accident I

Hmm…Still LoLo is difficult to rate. The story of the accident I learned about on television and other media is both terrifying and inspirational. Rate: A+. The book, on the other hand, feels like it only touches the surface of the story. I feel the shell of the story i...
Hmm…Still LoLo is difficult to rate. The story of the accident I learned about on television and other media is both terrifying and inspirational. Rate: A+. The book, on the other hand, feels like it only touches the surface of the story. I feel the shell of the story is scraped but the deepness of the tragedy and recovery wasn’t reached.  There is too much preliminary ‘stuff’ such as outer beauty, fashion, etc., and not enough of the inner pain and strength that could’ve made this story much more inspirational than it did. 

This book could’ve provided an exceptional story but, to me, it is mediocre. Rate: C

posted by Nicnac63 on July 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Looking to be inspired to live out your dreams? Take a read!

    We all want to believe that we would have the courage to survive a terrible accident; however, Lauren has the scars and story to prove she did. Still Lolo is a story of tragedy but also of triumph and never losing sight of your dreams.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    I highly recommend this book! I appreciated how truthfully Laure

    I highly recommend this book! I appreciated how truthfully Lauren ( Lolo) Scruggs and her family told their story, the good, the bad and the horrific. Lolo was a 23 year old fashion journalist who was confident in her looks, her career and relationship with God, but that all changed in the blink of an eye. At Christmastime , she took a pleasure ride in a friend's airplane to see the lights. When she got off the plane, she was struck by the spinning propeller blade. There was much media attention and many false reports following the accident. This is the first Lolo herself has spoken of the accident, what really happened that night, the challenges she has faced since and what her life is like today.
    This story isn't just about Lolo's accident however. The chapters are written from the different perspectives of different family members throughout their lives and their faith walk. The book takes you through the incredible birth story of Lolo and her twin sister Brittany, relives the painful story of their parents bitter divorce, their reunion after seven years of being apart, the dark days after the accident and most importantly how the family feels God has His hand over every aspect of their story.
    Lolo is heart wrenchingly honest about her life. Prior to her accident, she believed in God and knew he had a plan for her life but still wanted to be able to do the things she wanted to do, the way she wanted to do them. The accident could have cost her life, but instead she lost her left eye and left hand. All aspects of her recovery was hard and in her book Lolo struggles to express just how dark that time was for her. She had times of anger, and lashed out at her parents and even doubted God. Slowly, with the help of her family and friends, she begins to realize that she doesn't have to be afraid of being different, it doesn't matter what others think of her and that God does have a plan for her through all that she went through.
    I would especially recommend this book to young women who may be struggling with who they are, how they look and God's plan for their lives. It was very inspirational.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    Still Lolo was an encouraging story about God¿s work in the life

    Still Lolo was an encouraging story about God’s work in the life of the Scruggs’ family. I thought the story would be about Lauren’s accident and recovery, but it is the story of God’s working in her whole family through the years. Different chapters are written from different family member’s points of view. God is still performing miracles, and this book really gives God the glory!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    The true story of Lauren being hit by a propeller blade and losi

    The true story of Lauren being hit by a propeller blade and losing her one eye and hand. I was encouraged by her determination to get up and get moving, but also by her sharing the real struggles of learning to accept the loss of her hand and to be able to go out and face the public once again.  That wasn't easy for her--she didn't like the prostheses.  




    I also liked how it gave the story of her life--it told how her mom and dad had divorced and then got back together again after they had both become Christians.  Giving up high-paying jobs in the corporate world to work as marriage counselors takes a commitment as well.  It chronicles her failures and her successes, which makes her story more palatable rather than just being about her accident and how wonderfully she overcame it, which can be discouraging for those who struggle through life.  I would recommend this book to others.  Very easy to read.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    I read this book because it was on the Tyndale's summer reading

    I read this book because it was on the Tyndale's summer reading list. I thought her story was interesting and I was certainly fascinated that her parents remarried after 7 years of being divorced. I guess if I had been following Lauren before the accident this book would have been even better because it gives details of her life before the accident and how the accident impacted her life and details about the recovery. It was all new to me since I'd never heard of her before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    We can all learn

    Real moral booster

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1