Customer Reviews for

Still Missing

Average Rating 4.5
( 966 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(581)

4 Star

(238)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

148 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down, great story, brilliant book!

THERE ARE NO SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW!

I've been waiting for months for Still Missing to be released. With all of the advance press and buzz it has been generating, people have been writing tons of reviews containing intimate story details that I didn't want to hear a...
THERE ARE NO SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW!

I've been waiting for months for Still Missing to be released. With all of the advance press and buzz it has been generating, people have been writing tons of reviews containing intimate story details that I didn't want to hear about before reading the book, and I've found it very difficult to keep forcing myself not to read them. So I won't do that to you in this review.

What is commonly known about Still Missing is that it is focused around Annie, a Realtor, who is abducted while running an open house. When I started the book, I expected the entire story to be about the abduction, her survival, and eventual escape. I was wrong. The abduction, and her survival through it (and being that the book is written in the first person as Annie talks to her therapist, the fact that she survives is no secret) is only half of the book. It's the vivid and introspective view into what happens to Annie AFTER the abduction, including some completely unexpected plot twists, where the story gets interesting.

Annie is a raw person. The author has spent a great deal of time developing Annie's psychology and internal thought processes, and this is shared with the reader, making Annie a three-dimensional person with real feelings and a real life. She says what is on her mind, and she doesn't hold back. She has the ability to utilize language you would expect of a truck driver, and uses it as she sees fit. But she is not crude - she is a sharp-witted, intelligent, smart-mouthed survivor whose brilliant comebacks often had me laughing out loud. I fell in love with Annie, her damaged psyche notwithstanding. Still Missing is told in the first person, and the reader really gets to feel as though they are a part of Annie's mind. By the end of the book, I felt like I knew her as a real person. For these horrible things to be happening to someone who I felt I knew, was almost unbearable.

And that's the beauty of Still Missing. Yes, there are some grisly details - there has to be, in order for the reader to be able to understand Annie's justifications, and realize the true horror of the situation. However, these are masterfully intermixed with different, saner events within the story's timeline, filling out the background story and the characters involved. This gives the reader a rest from the horror - but that doesn't mean that you won't be blindsided around the next corner!

Eventually the flashback timeline joins the present day timeline, and just when you think you've got the story figured out, and are expecting things to wind down - some totally unexpected plot twists are thrown your way. Annie's adaptation to these plot twists make for my favorite part of the story - they really show what she is truly made of.

Still Missing is publicized as being "unputdownable" and this statement is truth in advertising. I could not put down this book, I HAD to know what was going to happen next. Practically everywhere you look, popular summer reading lists are proclaiming Still Missing as the "book of the summer." There is a very good reason for this: Still Missing is a GREAT BOOK!

Will Still Missing appeal to you? I am a middle-aged family man. I loved the book. My wife loved the book. In fact, I haven't met anyone who didn't love this book. It left me thinking about it for days afterward - and to me, that is the indication that I have just read something great. I would recommend it to anyone.

posted by FlyerIT on July 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

!a

And if course we have harriet klausner along with her hoard of plot spoilers ruining this book as well. Come on bn. When are yiu ever going to do something to harriet klausner and her excessive plot spoilers. She reveals every detail of the book, including the ending, a...
And if course we have harriet klausner along with her hoard of plot spoilers ruining this book as well. Come on bn. When are yiu ever going to do something to harriet klausner and her excessive plot spoilers. She reveals every detail of the book, including the ending, and yet nothing is done. Her posts should be deleted, she should be fined and banned.

posted by 8888649 on June 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 967 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    Couldn't put it down, great story, brilliant book!

    THERE ARE NO SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW!

    I've been waiting for months for Still Missing to be released. With all of the advance press and buzz it has been generating, people have been writing tons of reviews containing intimate story details that I didn't want to hear about before reading the book, and I've found it very difficult to keep forcing myself not to read them. So I won't do that to you in this review.

    What is commonly known about Still Missing is that it is focused around Annie, a Realtor, who is abducted while running an open house. When I started the book, I expected the entire story to be about the abduction, her survival, and eventual escape. I was wrong. The abduction, and her survival through it (and being that the book is written in the first person as Annie talks to her therapist, the fact that she survives is no secret) is only half of the book. It's the vivid and introspective view into what happens to Annie AFTER the abduction, including some completely unexpected plot twists, where the story gets interesting.

    Annie is a raw person. The author has spent a great deal of time developing Annie's psychology and internal thought processes, and this is shared with the reader, making Annie a three-dimensional person with real feelings and a real life. She says what is on her mind, and she doesn't hold back. She has the ability to utilize language you would expect of a truck driver, and uses it as she sees fit. But she is not crude - she is a sharp-witted, intelligent, smart-mouthed survivor whose brilliant comebacks often had me laughing out loud. I fell in love with Annie, her damaged psyche notwithstanding. Still Missing is told in the first person, and the reader really gets to feel as though they are a part of Annie's mind. By the end of the book, I felt like I knew her as a real person. For these horrible things to be happening to someone who I felt I knew, was almost unbearable.

    And that's the beauty of Still Missing. Yes, there are some grisly details - there has to be, in order for the reader to be able to understand Annie's justifications, and realize the true horror of the situation. However, these are masterfully intermixed with different, saner events within the story's timeline, filling out the background story and the characters involved. This gives the reader a rest from the horror - but that doesn't mean that you won't be blindsided around the next corner!

    Eventually the flashback timeline joins the present day timeline, and just when you think you've got the story figured out, and are expecting things to wind down - some totally unexpected plot twists are thrown your way. Annie's adaptation to these plot twists make for my favorite part of the story - they really show what she is truly made of.

    Still Missing is publicized as being "unputdownable" and this statement is truth in advertising. I could not put down this book, I HAD to know what was going to happen next. Practically everywhere you look, popular summer reading lists are proclaiming Still Missing as the "book of the summer." There is a very good reason for this: Still Missing is a GREAT BOOK!

    Will Still Missing appeal to you? I am a middle-aged family man. I loved the book. My wife loved the book. In fact, I haven't met anyone who didn't love this book. It left me thinking about it for days afterward - and to me, that is the indication that I have just read something great. I would recommend it to anyone.

    148 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good suspense, great story- very well told. Worth the money

    Good suspense, great story- very well told. Worth the money

    42 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tragic yet fascinating.

    This book is tragic in the sense that it demonstrates what human nature is capable of and what it can work to overcome in the end. I could not put this book down and it left me scared but rooting for the main character. It has been awhile since that has happened to me. I would very much recommend this title to others, but beware, it did give me the creeps!

    33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderfully done!

    REAL ESTATE AGENTS: YOU MAY WANT TO FIND ANOTHER CAREER! STILL MISSING is about a 32 year old Real Estate agent, Annie O'Sullivan, who was abducted from an "open house", raped and horribly abused for almost a year before she finally escaped. Revealed through her sessions with her psychiatrist we learn of her struggle as she tries to pick up the pieces of her life and regain her crushed spirit. She endures the continued misery of trying to help the police investigation to identify the sadistic psychopath she called, "The Freak". This is an unsettling, gripping, heartbreaking and powerful journey. Wonderfully done!

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting, disturbing, great format.

    I just finished reading "Still Missing" by Chevy Stevens and am sorry it has ended. It was a great book. The characters were believable and the plot interesting and unique. The plot dealt with abduction, abuse and betrayal. It was well written and held my attention, I couldn't put it down. I haven't read a book like that in a while. I know that a lot of people would have a problem with some of the unsavory parts but without them the story would not be same. Those parts of the book were not as disturbing as others I have read, including James Patterson. I highly recommend this book. Congratulations Ms. Stevens for a job well done.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    !a

    And if course we have harriet klausner along with her hoard of plot spoilers ruining this book as well. Come on bn. When are yiu ever going to do something to harriet klausner and her excessive plot spoilers. She reveals every detail of the book, including the ending, and yet nothing is done. Her posts should be deleted, she should be fined and banned.

    15 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not For the Weak of Heart

    This was a great book. Very suspenseful. Sometimes hard to read about what this woman survives. Surprise ending was also well done. Good from start to finish. But if you can't handle the darker side of humanity, you might want to skip this one. If you can, then it's an intense but worthwhile read.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    Definitely NOT a Jodi Picoult

    I downloaded this book because an editorial review said, 'Some may like this if they enjoy Jodi Picoult's writing'. WRONG. Jodi Picoult is my favorite author and I'm ashamed there was even a comparison between these two authors. I enjoyed the actual captive part of this story, but when the victim was retelling it in the shrink's office, I skimmed through it. The ending was great and I definitely did not expect it, but overall I felt it dragged through the middle.

    13 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    embarrassingly bad

    I wish I had stopped reading it when I first found it sensationalistic... but the ending was so preposterous and had so little to do with how this victim was processing her trauma. Not at all what you think it is by the cover and other reviews- hey, but isn't that what they say....

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A difficult but suspenseful debut.

    Still Missing is Chevy Stevens' debut novel, and if her first book has anything to say about her writing, I would bet she's going to be sticking with the thriller genre for sometime.

    Annie O'Sullivan was pretty content with her life at the age of thirty-two. A semi-successful realtor, she has a good boyfriend, a fabulous old Victorian house, and a loving golden retriever named Emma. On a day like any other she's at an open house for one of her listings. She's about to pack up and head home when a last potential client pulls up. Little does Annie know, but the potential client has been stalking her for years. Still Missing is Annie's story about the year she spent as a hostage to The Freak, and the deep hole of depression and fear she's working her way out of, all while trying to help the police identify her kidnapper and the people who may have helped him.

    As a debut novel, Still Missing was impressive. Once I became involved in Annie's plot, it was hard to put down, even during the most disturbing and difficult parts. Many times I wanted to cry with Annie, for Annie. But she persevered and so did I. Stevens' doesn't mince over the more difficult aspects of the kidnapping, it's not hard for the reader to figure out what's going to happen to Annie. It's a difficult read, sometimes explicit, and many times heartbreaking.

    My only complaint is the inconsistency between the two narrative parts. At the beginning and end of each chapter Annie is supposedly speaking to her therapist. My problem is that Doc never speaks back to Annie, and there are no quotation marks to signify speech. It's almost like reading a letter that Annie is writing to her therapist. Later in the novel when Annie has dealings in the present with family members and the police there is regular dialogue, so I wish Stevens' had blended these two parts instead of trying to separate Annie talking to Doc from Annie's story. It seemed like a tool an inexperienced writer would rely on, and I think Stevens' is better than that.

    Still Missing is not an easy read, Annie is kidnapped and raped and even worse things happen to her. But if you can get past the difficult parts you will find Stevens' debut a gripping thriller and Annie's story a powerful one.

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Great book!

    I literally couldnt put this book down. Very suspenseful and emotional.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    May be the best debut thriller of the year

    In Clayton Falls on Vancouver Island, thirtyish realtor Annie O'Sullivan hosts an open house in which hardly anyone visits. She is about to call it quits as a failed day when a nicely attired man arrives. Annie thinks she may have a sale, which would help her overcome the nasty taste of the argument she had with her mom. Instead he abducts her taking her to a remote shack in the mountains.

    Annie eventually escapes after a year-long imprisonment by an obsessed lunatic. However, the ordeal is far from over as she visits a psychiatrist to explain her trepidations then and now since the police have not captured her psychopathic kidnapper who she fears will come back for her, but insolently refuses to be a victim a second time, physically or emotionally.

    The ordeal is told by Annie to her psychiatrist is so emotional readers will cringe at what she went through, still going through and will be going through with one last twist. Annie makes the tale as the emotional scars will be with her for the rest of life. This is a one sitting tale by what may be the best debut thriller of the year.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A powerful read

    Annie is wrapping up an open house when she is abducted. Thrown into a van and taken to a strange cabin in the woods somewhere, she doesn't know where she is or anything about the man who is holding her captive. What she does know is that she must stay alive as long as possible in order for police to find her. A year later she survives, but only through a strength she wasn't sure she possessed. Told through sessions with her psychiatrist, Annie will relive that terrible time in her life. And with the help of a handsome detective, will figure out why and how this happened to her.

    WOW is this book ever disturbing. I sometimes wonder about the mental health of the authors who write books like these- seriously, how could someone normal come up with such vile situations? Horrible images aside, however, and this book was incredible. The first half of the book is Annie talking about her time with The Freak, the man who abducted her. This was by far the hardest part of the book to read. I had to physically put the book down and walk away after each chapter. Go listen to a happy song or something just so I could go right back to the book and dive into the terror again. But the second part of the book was much better, as Annie is safe and learning to cope in the real world again. Chevy Stevens is an amazing writer, and her decision to tell the story through Annie's psychiatrist sessions couldn't have worked better. I found myself getting mad at Annie when she was weak, and cheering her on when she was strong. Unfortunately, when the big reveal at the end was finally unleashed, I felt it was slightly anti-climactic. Compared to all of the guesses I had in my head, the actually ending was not nearly as powerful. But the end certainly did not take away from the rest of the book.

    Stevens is currently working on her next book, but Still Missing is not I will soon forget.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Distasteful

    I did not want to finish this book because it had no redeeming qualities. There was not a bit of happiness or relief from its dark, negative narrative. Finished it anyway; sorry I did. Not worth spending that much time feeling bad.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    5 stars for sure!

    LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!! GREAT READ!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Loved it

    This book was really good! The twists and how tge story all tied together, it was riveting. I'm actually a little sad i am done. I could not put this book down, it took me 3 days to read. Would highly recommend!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Have some kleenix ready this goes beyond a psychology thriller a must read

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Outstanding debut

    I would like to add my voice to the chorus of others proclaiming Chevy Stevens Still Missing an incredible success. It is so exciting to be one of those who discovers a truly talented author at the very beginning of her career! Often, one says about a debut novel, "Great story and their writing skills will get better as time and other novels progress".

    In this case, however, I found Chevy not only is an outstanding story teller, but she also has honed her craft before this novel was ever done!" This is not to say that her writing won't grow as she continues to write, but she did come to the table with a great many cards in her hand already. Not the least of those "cards" is the ability to not only put together a cogent plot line all the way to the end, but to create a plot line that is engaging and keeps one guessing until the very last minute...even the last sentence which mad me catch my breath and think, "Of course!"

    I did have to grin at a few reviewers who were unsettled by the presentation of the narrative throughout most of the book in the form of talk-therapy sessions. The author drives home the point again and again how deeply her horrific experiences affect her and that she doesn't seem to be able feel anything but fear. An experience like this one would logically leave one with an extremely flat affect when it comes to emotion. The whole point is that the protagonist decribes these awful experiences to her shrink very matter-of-factly because she thinks she can't afford to open the floodgates of her true emotions or she will be totally destroyed. Most people know denial is a common reaction to a traumatic event. This author is skilled enough to present that flat affect to the therapist and leave the gut-wrenching revelations to the memories in between.

    Well done! I am not surprised the book has already been optioned for a film as is also her second one, Never Knowing,
    which I am going right now to purchase and read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Gripping plot

    I wasnot sure I would enjoy this given the dark subject but I did. Author leaves much of the horrors endured to the readers imagination but keeps the story moving.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Page after page of violence and rape.

    I stopped reading about halfway through this book I was so disturbed by it. I found the story to be lacking and the violence against the main character to be extremely excessive and unnecessary. How anyone would read this as entertaining or relaxing is beyond me.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 967 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49