Customer Reviews for

Still Sucks to Be Me: The All-true Confessions of Mina Smith, Teen Vampire

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Luv the series

This is the bomb!!! I read this book in two days cause i was so attached! One of my series for sure anybody who luvs fantasy books would like it Mina is a character that i bet anybody could relate to. I highly recommend the series

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

"Still Sucks To Be Me" Sucks!

After reading the first book about a year ago, I figured this one was worth reading. I was proven wrong just a few dozen pages in. There was a definite lack of description. The continuation of character development was absent, except for the main character Mina who prov...
After reading the first book about a year ago, I figured this one was worth reading. I was proven wrong just a few dozen pages in. There was a definite lack of description. The continuation of character development was absent, except for the main character Mina who proves herself to be am annoying pessimistic girl who claims to be a senior, but her character gives the impression she's younger than that on a maturity level. There are a few uniquely funny parts, but most of the time the humor is cliche or bland. The author seems like she's trying too hard to be funny. The author also writes in first person, but is often over dramatic and unbelievable. Finally, the whole vampire theme to this books seems unimportant and there really is no action whatsoever. Mia continues to talk about how she has superstrength and such, but it's never shown in the story, her using her abilities.
This book is overpriced and I don't recommend it to anyone.

posted by KnightRider on May 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Still Sucks To Be Me" Sucks!

    After reading the first book about a year ago, I figured this one was worth reading. I was proven wrong just a few dozen pages in. There was a definite lack of description. The continuation of character development was absent, except for the main character Mina who proves herself to be am annoying pessimistic girl who claims to be a senior, but her character gives the impression she's younger than that on a maturity level. There are a few uniquely funny parts, but most of the time the humor is cliche or bland. The author seems like she's trying too hard to be funny. The author also writes in first person, but is often over dramatic and unbelievable. Finally, the whole vampire theme to this books seems unimportant and there really is no action whatsoever. Mia continues to talk about how she has superstrength and such, but it's never shown in the story, her using her abilities.
    This book is overpriced and I don't recommend it to anyone.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Luv the series

    This is the bomb!!! I read this book in two days cause i was so attached! One of my series for sure anybody who luvs fantasy books would like it Mina is a character that i bet anybody could relate to. I highly recommend the series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Great

    I really loved this book and hope this isnt the end of mina's story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    VERY VERY VERY RECOMMENDED FOR TEENS!

    An awesome to sequel to another awesome book! I give it a thumbs up! You can kinda compare to her life in a metaphorical way that makes you think, "Even my life dosen't suck that bad!" A very awesome struggle with being a teen... a vampire teen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mina Rocks!

    I happen to be a big fan of Kimberly Pauley's books on Mina Hamilton, er..Smith and Still Sucks To Be Me is a very funny and enjoyable read. This book picks up things in Mina's life right after she turns vampire and the Vampire Relocation Agency forces Mina and her parents to relocate to the middle of nowhere(Cartville, Louisiana) and she tries to salvage whats left of her dignity while there. She's struggling to come to terms with leaving her best friend Serena back home and also having her boyfriend George off in the jungles of Brazil,helping the locals and not in the arms of some Brazilian hottie. Suddenly Serena falls back into her life with a story of wanting to turn and be Mina's BFF really forever. Which wouldn't be a problem but crazy Goth girl Raven has it in her bobble head that if she kills Serena she will be a Black Talon. The twists and turns this book has are really wild and the story does move very fast so that is good. If there was one thing I didn't like is that the journal entries seemed to be saying the same things each time. But it is a fast and funny read and even with the storyline being really far fetched at times, its good for a fun read and I really do hope there is a third book because I really enjoy Mina's sass.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    This book truely "sucks"

    This book is poorly writtin and not thought out. Its that simple. I liked the first book, which was the complete opposite of this. It was thorough, well written, and explanitory. The author was trying to hard in this book, for funniness, emotions, and onomopias. How many times does someone really say "Gah!" in a few monthes.
    Very bad book. Would NEVER recomend it to anyone unless they wanted to find horribly written books.
    All of this coming from a young teen.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    I love it

    i read tbe fisth one! Best series ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Still sucks to be me

    This is a alsome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Hilarious

    This book is worth it. Both of them are ! Her humor is just on point with our teen perspective :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Very good

    I loved this book but im a 13 year old girl so what do i know just read this book it leaves in supence so bad that you wont want to put it down after you start reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    This Book ROCKZ!

    Okay,after reading the first book, I wanted to read the second book very much, but my mind tell me it was very late so I had to go to bed. And I decide to read it the next day.And I finish it by noon the next day.
    It was very exciting. How Mina relocated to a new town and met another (hot) vampire! And Grady, ohhhhh. Dramas are filling in her life and don';t forget Serena! She wants-what?Oh migod, you wouldn't miss the second book for the world!!! Really, a sense of humor really makes your life easier. So read the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER

    this book is amazing. i stayed up till 1a.m. trying to read more and more. great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Cant wait to read it!!

    I loved the first book and im so excited to read this one!!! Wish me lucckkkkk!I know ill love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Amazing

    I absolutely loved this book. i recomend it to everyone, but be sure to read the first book. They are both fantastic!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    love it!!!

    like the first one is funny and interesting. i love mina, she rocks. I really wish to see a third book but if not this book was amazing..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    Life as a vampire isn't working out so great for Mina. The Vampire Relocation Agency is forcing her and her parents to move to a podunk town in Louisiana. Adding to the anxiety of moving, the family can't take anything with them. No clothes, photos, or keepsakes from their old lives are allowed. The VRA can't take a chance on someone recognizing them since the Hamilton's have been pronounced dead. They can't even have access to their money until some time has passed. Mina is miserable, but not having her best friend, Serena, to talk to is like pouring salt in the wound.

    Even though Mina has been through some major life changes, her parents still insist she start school right away. Being a senior, Mina expects to be left out of everything, since cliques and friendships have already been established, but in Cartville, LA, Mina is the coolest thing since sliced bread. Mina immediately finds a nosy, talkative wanna-be friend, a boy who desperately wants to go out with her, and a girl who hates her guts simply because she exists. Oh! There is a handsome, mysterious guy named Cameron, too. This is definitely not a good time for Mina's boyfriend, George, to run off to Brazil to bond with his parents.

    Mina takes it all in stride - even takes some vampire continuing education classes with her mom and learns to do a little shape-shifting. Cameron also starts to teach her how to use mind control. Mina is becoming a better vampire every day.

    Then, Serena shows up on her doorstep and crazy, Goth-Girl Raven arrives in town. Even talk of the human-hating Black Talon group is rumored to be in Cartville. Mina discovers that even though she decided to become a vampire - her life still sucks!

    STILL SUCKS TO BE ME is a cute story. If you liked the first book in the series you definitely need to pick up a copy. There were only three things that knocked it down to 4 stars:

    1. The journal entries started to get a little redundant.
    2. I would have liked more drama between Cameron and Mina.
    3. The excitement needed to start sooner. Mina's crumbling, while warranted, took up too much of the beginning.

    You'll enjoy STILL SUCKS TO BE ME much more if you read SUCKS TO BE ME first.

    This is a great vampire novel for the younger crowd. Mina and the boys in her life are well-behaved teenagers. Mina even maintains a great relationship with her parents! The Hamiltons - oops, Smiths! - are a great vampire family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    love it!!!

    i love the first book and this one too. is funny. i cant' wait to see if theres a third one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Still sucks to be Mina

    I haven't read the first book but I love Mina. Sure some parts were missing but short details that can fill some blanks are provided here on the second book so I'm good. Have I mention that I love Mina? Well... she is hilarious, I love her sarcasm and her stubborn way of dealing with the changes in her life, not only of the undead vampire part but also the moving to Cartville, (out of nowhere) Louisiana part since the vampire authorities forged their death. A necessary precaution yet Mina insists to be unnecessary. There is also the part that her boyfriend George decided to go to Brazil to look for his undead parents which means not only did Mina is far away from her best friend Serena, George might be prancing around Brazil not to just look for his parents but might also meet some Brazilian hottie.

    Mina isn't depressed as what she believe she would since stuff at Cartville keeps her pretty occupied. The next door neighbor's son who seems to have a mean girl on his tail, a vampire hottie that is a member of some controversial vampire clan (that screams suspicious), parental comedies, teenage worries, powers that came along with being a vampire, etc. Mina found out that vampires like her and her mom who feed on animal blood has a very lovely nickname called the Pig Swigger or the Cullenist depending on who is saying it. And these stuff would be just boring without a mystery so of course our witty heroine is sitting on one. An unexpected visit from her best friend and a reappearance of her psycho enemy named raven from Book 1 and some very questionable stuff about Cameron and his clan. A quick read full of laugh out loud moments, sarcasm, wit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kimberly Pauley's Still Sucks To Be Me: More All-True Confessions of Mina Smith, Teen Vampire

    Mina and her family are forced to move to a small town in Louisiana. Mina has to leave her best friend Serena behind and her boyfriend, George goes off to Brazil to reconnect with his parents. While adjusting to the small town, Mina has Grady, a Human jock, fall head over heels for her and Cameron, another teen vampire who's hot and likes her too, teaches her cool mind control tricks. But when Serena's parents start having problems, Serena goes to Mina and asks to become a vampire too. Raven, a Goth-girl who hates Mina, follows Serena there and plans to kill her to join the vampire group Black Talons. Great book, can't wait for the next one!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4