Customer Reviews for

Still the Best Hope: Why the World Needs American Values to Triumph

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

In spite of the review by the Publishers Weekly, people with an

In spite of the review by the Publishers Weekly, people with an open mind who may feel that they are middle of the road pollitically should read this book. It has helped me, as an independant, understand some of the sweeping generalities I had felt that were fair but ac...
In spite of the review by the Publishers Weekly, people with an open mind who may feel that they are middle of the road pollitically should read this book. It has helped me, as an independant, understand some of the sweeping generalities I had felt that were fair but actually only enhance the slide to socialism in the US. Worth your time to read and think about. The review by the Libary Journal may not have read the book base on the alternatives they list in the review. Hopefully others who read the book, from either side of the issues will take the time and effort to objectively review the arguments put forward.

posted by Pyrite on May 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

The sooner we stop deluding ourselves that eg. America is a shin

The sooner we stop deluding ourselves that eg. America is a shining city on a hill, God's anointed people, and other fantasies, the better off we'll be. Those needing evidence to do so need only look at our world-leading government and trade deficits, inability to get a...
The sooner we stop deluding ourselves that eg. America is a shining city on a hill, God's anointed people, and other fantasies, the better off we'll be. Those needing evidence to do so need only look at our world-leading government and trade deficits, inability to get along with much of the world's Muslim populations, world's highest (and economy-weakening) health care system, floundering K-12 education system, deteriorating and inadequate infrastructure, enormous funds wasted on military, Homeland Security, and government surveillance of our citizenry, having caused the recent world-wide 'Great Recession,' and our paralyzed, bought-and-paid-for government.

posted by LoydEskildson on May 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    In spite of the review by the Publishers Weekly, people with an

    In spite of the review by the Publishers Weekly, people with an open mind who may feel that they are middle of the road pollitically should read this book. It has helped me, as an independant, understand some of the sweeping generalities I had felt that were fair but actually only enhance the slide to socialism in the US. Worth your time to read and think about. The review by the Libary Journal may not have read the book base on the alternatives they list in the review. Hopefully others who read the book, from either side of the issues will take the time and effort to objectively review the arguments put forward.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    "Clarity over agreement" (Dennis Prager's motto) about

    "Clarity over agreement" (Dennis Prager's motto) about sums this book up. Most people do not know why they believe what they believe and yet, argue, debate and blast those with "opposing" views. Don't be a victim of indoctrination (on the left or the right). Read, research and do some critical thinking on your own. Don't let the media's "spin" be your information. This is one of the wisest, thoughtful, common sense books I have ever read. A MUST READ for anyone who is engaged in our community and future.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Buy it, read it, and buy additional copies and give them to others

    I love Dennis Prager. This book captures exactly what this year's elections will be all about and why they are so important. We are deciding if the USA will become like Left wing Europe or if we will go back to the very principles that made this (flawed) country the best the world has ever seen. Dennis explains Leftism and Americanism (aka conservatism) very clearly and backs everything up with great examples.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    I have been a big fan of Prager for 16-17 years, and I still fin

    I have been a big fan of Prager for 16-17 years, and I still find more to think about after reading this. I hope the people who need to read this the most will overcome their prejudice against Jews and American patriots long enough to be enlightened by the wisdom contained in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    I wonder if the people who gave this book low ratings even read

    I wonder if the people who gave this book low ratings even read the book or just have a knee-jerk reaction to anyone who is politically conservative. If they actually read the book they would know that it is a clear and thoughtful explanation of the important differences between Leftism and Americanism. He asserts that by holding dear the notions of Liberty, In God We Trust, and E Pluribus Unum we can still thrive as a nation. Those on the left who have an open mind will find it thought provoking and those on the right will find it reaffirming.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    Dennis Prager's clarity of thought is amazing.

    Dennis Prager's clarity of thought is amazing.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    The sooner we stop deluding ourselves that eg. America is a shin

    The sooner we stop deluding ourselves that eg. America is a shining city on a hill, God's anointed people, and other fantasies, the better off we'll be. Those needing evidence to do so need only look at our world-leading government and trade deficits, inability to get along with much of the world's Muslim populations, world's highest (and economy-weakening) health care system, floundering K-12 education system, deteriorating and inadequate infrastructure, enormous funds wasted on military, Homeland Security, and government surveillance of our citizenry, having caused the recent world-wide 'Great Recession,' and our paralyzed, bought-and-paid-for government.

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Ken to Below

    Kicks you in the balls and stuffs you in the trash and closes it

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Anyone who cares about America and its future must read this book! Dennis Prager is one of the clearest thinkers and writers of our time. He has a gift of making complicated issues simple. Reading this book is better than getting a B.A. in Political Science from an Ivy League university.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Well reasoned

    Well reasoned and written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I think Dennis needs to devote an entire book to understanding

    I think Dennis needs to devote an entire book to understanding the Left. His clarity on the issue is much needed. I bought the audiobook version of the book and I thought it was OKAY... I truly think that if Dennis took the time out to read his own book and charged 40 bucks for it, there would still be a long line of us willing to cough up the extra change for it. Only the voice of Dennis will suffice, because no one paints as clarifying a picture as Dennis. I intend to get this for my Kindle as well. I put him up there alongside the likes of David Berlinski(Science), Robert Kagan(ForeignPolicy), Thomas Sowell(Academics), Andrew Roberts(Historian), and he truly is one of the few clarifying voices of our day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    5 Stars if you agree with Mr. Prager. 4 stars if you wanted know

    5 Stars if you agree with Mr. Prager. 4 stars if you wanted know how the right thinks. Give it 3 stars for
    covering every topic you can imagine.. 2 stars for rediculous comparisons; and give 1 star if you are an
    "evil" Democrat or a "Leftist".

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    great book!

    great book!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Review 1335358763796

    This is a really nice book! 1335358763796

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2