Customer Reviews for

Stillness Speaks

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    So handy!

    What a great read this perceivably powerless short read is. Not only impacting on the mind, body and spirit, but an easy read for all. With that said, it might be recommended to read one of Tolle's other works before reading this, as possibly the meaning will be glossed over to those unfamiliar with spirituality.

    Thank you Eckhart Tolle!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    My Favorite Thing!

    After slowly, considerately reading The Power Of Now, I picked up Stillness Speaks expecting to read it the same way gleaning wisdom and knowledge. I soon put it down somewhat disappointed. A year or so later, my friend gave it to me on CD. Suddenly, I understood the simplicity of this book's transformative properties. This is not a book to glean knowledge. It is a window to finding essence, peace and the center of being. I hope the reader that rates this one star picks up the CD. Although, if he or she lives in my area, he or she will have to special order it, as I purchase every available copy I find to give away to friends.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    Profound and Amazing. Small but Big.

    In this very small book are a variety of short phrases, grouped according to various categories. You read the phrases and just let them sink in, see how they feel, listen for what they say. I loved reading this book more than a couple of times and got a lot out of it on every occasion. I noticed that on some days, certain sections were more inviting and more informative than on other days. Quite an interesting and impressive book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    There is only reason to not like Eckhart Tolle...

    ...and that's if you never heard of him. I love Eckhart because of books like this that bring you one step closer to who you are truly meant to be. I'd also like to thank whoever recommended "When God Stopped Keeping Score," another great book, which takes an eye opening look at forgiveness. Given the chance, it will change your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    I learned of Eckhart Tolle through my Pastor. He was reading and teaching from The Power of Now. It was different and one must have an Open mind to grasp what is being said. One must chew, swallow, digest and ponder on the words. Put the book down and come back later. I have been more interested in Who I Am for years, so Tolle's books has been a great resource for me. I could not find the answers in others, but some people were great sign post for me.

    Excellent read and I highly recommend this book to those in search of "self-realization." Also, that there is no other existence but THE NOW!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    An Absolute Treasure!

    True to his word, Eckhart Tolle doesn't give us much 'mind stuff' in his follow-up to The Power of Now. This book will be disappointing to people who want the entertainment of reading about enlightenment, but aren't ready to experience it. If you've embraced The Power of Now, however, this book will awaken you gently and surely to Being...which will just as gently and surely enlighten your life. A wonderful and beautiful treasure of a book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    SUCH A GREAT READ.....

    This book completely changed my life around...Thank you for your wisdom Eckhart...This book saved my life seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Haley

    Wait! Why r u giving this to me? Why me?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Frumentarii

    No, you dont know me. Caesar sends a gift. *hands her a small pouch* this poultice will stop any infection from setting in if you are wounded. True to Caesar. *walks away*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    Stillness speaks

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Listen

    Eckhart Tolle has uncanny knack for exposing the very things that should be common sense, but at the same time shedding new light on the same subject. This book is a must read for anyone looking to find their purpose in life. I'd recommend this book to anyone.

    For anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. I was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong. Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Eckhart Tolle is a Spiritual Guru

    I loved this book. In a strange string of coincidence, I read A New Earth, The Power of Now, and then Stillness Speaks in backward order from when they were published. I have to say they are all Great. Eckhart truly knows of what he speaks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Interesting

    With Tolle's teachings, I have found bits and pieces of many beliefs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    Spiritually nourishing and peacefully delightful!

    Another beautiful book that could only come from a practitioner of spirituality. This gentle work definitely touches the depths of one's being...if only we let it. I bow. Peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    A Refreshing Delight!

    Although I expected this book to be like 'The Power of Now', it takes a different approach. I do like 'The Power of Now' better but Eckhart Tolle uses some very interesting 'first & second person' ways to communicate some important messages to the reader in this book. It is refreshing in that way. I recently felt a little saturated with books regarding mindful living and the present moment and have began to search beyond that (though I may have lost the present moment by doing so). To my surprise, I found an excellent book called 'The Ever-Transceinding Spirit' by Toru Sato. It is a tremendously enlightening book for those of us who are not completely in the present moment all of the time but are on our way to learning how to get to a stage of life where we are able to stay close to this state for extended periods of time. I would recommend it to everyone seeking further development in this area of life. Good luck in your quest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2004

    A wonderful book that everyone needs to read.

    I really loved this book, it thought me about how much importants it is not to always listen to your mind and how to release yourself from it. I really recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    Just plain Dumb

    What a disappointment to the Power of Now. I wanted so much more, but got so little in return.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3