Customer Reviews for

Stiltsville

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Suprising Read

I thought this book was very good. I took it on vacation to the Keys and enjoyed reading it. Growing up in Florida, there were events that I remembered, which is always fun for a reader. I don't know if it's because I read it on my Nook, but there was a series plot p...
I thought this book was very good. I took it on vacation to the Keys and enjoyed reading it. Growing up in Florida, there were events that I remembered, which is always fun for a reader. I don't know if it's because I read it on my Nook, but there was a series plot point I never expected. The author painted these fallable characters that in the end you really come to love. I would recommend this book!

posted by Tdgutman on August 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Stilted (pardon the pun)

Did not enjoy this authors writing style. This was less a story with emotion than a catalouging of events in awomans life. Read it to the end but it was tedious going.

posted by 6211458 on August 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    Brought me home to Florida

    A great new book, from a great new author. I try to read things that can transport me back to South Florida and this book did just that. I have to sdmit, this is the first time I read a novel from a woman's point of view. As a 35 year old, beer drinking, pickup truck driving, "regular guy", I guess I finally found my "sesitive side". This book helped me appreciate some of the struggles my wife may go through someday. Also as a bonus, it put me right back in south Florida. The heat, the storms, the ocean, man I miss that place.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    Suprising Read

    I thought this book was very good. I took it on vacation to the Keys and enjoyed reading it. Growing up in Florida, there were events that I remembered, which is always fun for a reader. I don't know if it's because I read it on my Nook, but there was a series plot point I never expected. The author painted these fallable characters that in the end you really come to love. I would recommend this book!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Quiet Storm of a Novel

    Stiltsville, Susanna Daniel's debut novel, is a quiet storm of a novel about a man and woman and their life in Miami over a 30-year period. This is a look at life. Not in an edge-of-your-seat type way, but in a lyrical, tender, these-are-the-moments-of-a-marriage way. Each character is well fleshed out as is each scene.
    Dennis and Francis met in their late twenties at Stiltsville, a part of Miami you have to see to believe. Daniels brings the setting to life for those who have not encountered Stiltsville. They fall in love, raise a family and endure the ups and downs of marriage together.
    You can not help but fall in love with the characters and Daniels Miami. She has written one of the most authentic and genuine stories of a life lived that I have read. I want to live and experience Miami as she and her characters have.
    This story moved me -- which makes it a treasure in my world.

    Victoria Allman
    author of: SEAsoned: A Chef's Journey with Her Captain

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    A Good Story that Unfolds Slowly

    If you are looking for a story that builds to a monumental climax, you may wish to select another book. This is the story of a woman's life from her first meeting with the man she would eventually marry and through the entire life of their marriage--with all the ups and downs, all the uncertainties and "could haves" that aflict most marriages. It unfolds slowly, builds up, drops off, builds up again. And like any life well-lived, it is worth the adventure.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Stilted (pardon the pun)

    Did not enjoy this authors writing style. This was less a story with emotion than a catalouging of events in awomans life. Read it to the end but it was tedious going.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Unusual for a debut novel

    Until the very last few chapters, I stayed right with the story and really liked how every detail of the ordinary lives of the characters did not have to be revealed. It would have taken many many more pages because this book covered 30+ years. However, near the end of the book, there were flashforwards and then backs that I thought were disjointed and unnecessary, although it may have made the story more ordinary in that way. Some things went unexplained in a seemingly mysterious way but I did enjoy the book and would recommmend it to my friends because they may feel differently and everyone has opinions.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Free sample?

    Seven pages that only took you to the table of contents?

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Too many jumps in narration

    Though it's a nice story, there are multiple times where her narrations between the present year and future made it confusing. It's fine if it happens once in a while, but for every chapter?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Slow

    Very slow to develop. Not worth the time.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Sad

    This book is sad for more than one reason...the story itself brings tears to my eyes and the writing style of the author brings tears to my eyes. A wonderful story that is too difficult to follow. I won't be looking for other books by this author. Sad

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    I loved this book. Growing up in south Florida, I loved the sett

    I loved this book. Growing up in south Florida, I loved the setting of the book, but I also thought the writing was excellent and the story was sweet and interesting. It made me laugh and cry. The characters felt like family by the end.  At $1.99 iits a great buy!!! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    This was one of the best books I've read. It is so well written, so true to life and a beautiful story of love and friendship. The author provides you with a rich insight into the history of the Miami the way it was. As a South Floridian I enjoyed the Miami setting, however the story itself really left a lasting impression. I cannot wait for another novel by this author. Though it is a book geared to women, the Miami history would make it interesting to all readers. I would recommend it for book club discussions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Pleasantly surprised by how good this novel was. Read it just a

    Pleasantly surprised by how good this novel was. Read it just after a vacation to the Miami area so I was easily able to visualize the different places mentioned. Hard to put down because I wanted to find out what was going to happen next to the main characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Stiltsville

    This book should have been named Dullsville. It was very boring and the writing focused on too many meaningless details.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Good book

    Really enjoyed this book. Didn't want it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Had to finish reading once I started it, but, couldn't wait for

    Had to finish reading once I started it, but, couldn't wait for it to end.  Story lines sometimes not completed, leaving you wondering what happened.  Dwelled too much on this women's feelings abut other men.  Not a happy story and not enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    So good

    Maybe this book starts off a bit slow, but as you continue reading it becomes so real and true. I couldn't put the book down. I love stories like this that span the characters lifetime - the best of life and the worst, but most importantly the simple day to day that we often take for granted and overlook as the best days. I'm always sad to have the story end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    Drivel!

    This is one of the worst book I have started to read. I quit after the first 50 pages. I tried it because I grew up in South Florida but very quickly the author made a major mistake: electric eels do not live in So. Florida waters (they live in the Amazon which is fresh water) . I kept reading thinking the electric eel was just a detail but things kept going down hill. What trite crap. Save your money and your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Very good

    This is a good book, but the author's other book is much, much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Ok for beach reading

    Had hard time wanting to continue reading. It was ok but not my favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3